We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Celebratory Break!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Brythonfa

Brythonfa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brythonfa
Living Room Garden overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Brythonfa
Living Room
Garden overlooking river
Main bedroom
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Upstairs wc
Garden views. Cows in the river
Local walks
Pandy Tudur. Bridge and chapel.
Pandy Tudur is very rural
We are dog friendly.
Snowdonia is an easy drive
Scenic route to LLanrwst  - medieval market town.
Elwy Valley view
National Park 10 minutes away
Next door neighbours
Tour of Britain 2015
Garden
Garden views. Housemartins getting nest material.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llanrwst, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tour67370...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Celebratory Break!”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Quaint cottage, peaceful village location. Very well equipped, clean and full of local information. Loved the little library in the porch too! Visited Llandudno, Llanwrst, Betws-y-Coed & Conwy! We relaxed in both seating areas outside and made good use of the recycling facilities (wine bottles!!). We would return one day.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
Hi Deb. Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. There are still lots of hidden gems in the area should you choose to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thanks for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janine256...
redditch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect peaceful getaway”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, spotlessly clean too. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here with our daughter and dogs. Groceries delivered by Tesco online which was brilliant as saved us the 10 minute drive to the nearest main shops.
Loved the fire, used it loads and what a great idea to enable you to buy extra items and leave the money in the tin.
We stayed for 3 nights and were very lucky with the sun shining through on cold winter days. Visited Conwy, Colwyn Bay and Betws-y-Coed.
Owners communication etc great, would definitely stay here again. Some people may not like the fact there is no shop or pub etc but for us this was part of the experience.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2017
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you visiting us again. Yours, Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and rural setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thanks for your review. We always fee a warm glow when people enjoy our little cottage. Yours Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jane H
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage!”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay! Lovely and clean throughout and a very well equipped kitchen. Lovely to have the stream at the end of the garden too. Would highly recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
So glad you had a good time and thanks for the review. Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kandplond...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Holiday to Wales”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A great week away. Brythonfa is a beautiful little cottage in a stunning location. Clearly lots of love has gone into this home and clear instructions and thoughtful little touches really enhanced our stay. Scrupulously clean and well equipped.
Really enjoyed listening to the sounds of the river and watch the sheepdog herd the sheep. Locals friendly and welcoming , amazing scenery for miles and lots of local charm.
I would recommend this place to anybody wanting a break from the madness of modern day life.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the place.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Thanks for your great review. We're always happy when people have enjoyed their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart L
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Bad - Stayed at Better”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It is hard to put my finger on what was actually wrong with this let. Wrong is probably not the right word, though. The house is fully kitted out with everything you need, right down to corkscrews. The lounge is roomy and comfortable for two. Lack of wifi was a problem, and Vodafone lived up to its normal no coverage service, so getting work emails or any other type of info was impossible. This had another effect as well, as we couldn't research where to go during our 3 day stay. We had to drive almost 8 miles to get a reasonable signal. This may not affect everyone, but for us it was an issue.

The shower - well, this is just a non-starter. Very weak and not at all good to use. This needs attention.

Heating - this will not affect summer visitors (hopefully), but the wood/coal fire in the lounge is an absolute pain! The room was freezing every morning. Add to this windows that would not seal properly, and it was not pleasant. In the evenings, we had to pull one of the sofas away from under the window, as the was a huge draft coming in. In fact, most of the windows were inoperable. This really does need attention.

The little garden at the back overlooks the stream and the fields, which was very pleasant. We didn't spend an awful lot of time out there due to the shocking weather, but it will be nice in summer. However, again, it needs attention - I found it to be full of bits an pieces that really didn't add to the country atmosphere.

I think overall, the place is not "wrong". It is just run down and in need of some serious TLC. We had a great, relaxing time there, with everything you need being available. If we could have opened some windows, had a bit more central heating and had a decent shower, I would have rated it higher. The village itself is purely residential, and doesn't even have a village shop, let alone a pub. But we did find a very friendly pub a couple of miles away (The Old Stag) which served great food and had wifi (this became our go-to place after our daily trips, just to catch up with emails, etc). And they welcome dogs, too!

It's just that for £80/night, I expected something more, especially from a home maintenance standpoint. I wouldn't want to put anyone off of booking this place - after all, you're getting a fully-kitted 2 bedroom house - but really think that the owners should spend a bit of time and money doing the place up.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The quietness, and well-equpped kitchen
Liked least: Heating, shower.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
I was surprised to read this review after getting so many positive ones from other guests. We don't advertise that we have wifi and we do have to tether to our phones to get online. My wife gets a Vodafone signal inside the house. The shower works perfectly well and has recently been fitted. In fact I have had a nice warm shower this morning. I suspect Stewart may have misunderstood the controls. The multi fuel stove works like every other stove and is a feature most of our guests enjoy.
We found that Stewart had left the front window ajar accounting for the draught. It just needed opening and closed with a little slam. To back up the fire we have a 4kw electric panel heater. Perhaps Stewart hadn't noticed it. Even in winter we often don't use this because of the heat from the stove. All the windows are a little stiff to use. It's an old cottage. Admittedly, I had tighten the screws in the bathroom.
Our garden overlooks the river with sheep and wildlife. All the bits and pieces were found in the Welsh countryside.
The village is out of the way and very rural (it's in Wales,) and we do say in our listings that the nearest pub and shop is three miles away, and Llanrwst's facilities four miles. Many of our guest mention it's an ideal touring centre for all of North Wales.
We did explain to our guests that the unusually severe weather in winter mean we had to scrape the paint off one section of wall due to damp and it took a while for the stonework to dry. The cottage is undergoing a constant renewal and improvement but has been there for over a hundred years and has a few blemishes. It is an old country cottage and many of our guests find it "charming", "cosy" and even "beautiful". These are quotes from our guest book. We have been spending a lot of money and time recently on decorating, installing hand made doors, installing a pizza oven, gardening etc. Perhaps the bad weather clouded Stewart's view of the place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing