We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riverside treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tu Hwnt I'r Bont

Tu Hwnt I'r Bont
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Riverside treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped for afternoon tea on the way home from North Wales and what a treat it was.
It was full - which is always a good sign and when our tea came I could see why. We sat next to a couple who travel regularly just to have tea there. It was not fussy or pretentious, but what we had was flavoursome and fresh and plenty of it. An unexpected treat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank misty96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    53
    25
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winkleigh, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab-u-lus!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been going here for as long as I can remember firstly as a child in the 70s and 80s with my parents and brother and then for the past 22 years with my husband and now our 16 year old son.

This is the best teashop in the UK and coming from an adopted Devon maid that's saying something!!!!

We have never had a bad meal there, the staff are always friendly and if you go on a regular basis they almost become friends as they recognise you.

The scones are the best we have ever had and wish we could get the recipe. All the other items on the menu are lovely too and we think it is very good value for money as it is all homemade.

Wish we lived a bit closer, a 6 hour drive for a cream tea - hhmmm

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Scones in the World . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

. . .unfortunately they won't share the secret recipe, and we have been eating there for 30 years!. Honestly they are delicious - only improvement in cream tea would be to use clotted cream - but I would say that as I am a DEvonian.
Also soup, rarebit, sandwiches, cakes and ploughmans are excellent. as is the service and the location.
Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A wonderful cream tea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

You should make time if you're in this area to go for a cream tea, or some Welsh cakes or a couple of slices of Bara Brith. They are all baked here and are unbelievably good. Add to that the wonderful setting and history of the place and you definitely have a winning combination!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
370 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“£2.30 for one tea bag! You're having a laugh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great setting by side of river and visited on a sunny day so sat outside. Service was efficient but food was average and over priced. Wife asked what was soup of day and was told it was pea and mint. Good job she's not a vegetarian as it had a lot of ham in it! It didn't taste bad though. I had their 'famous' Welsh rarebit which cost over £8 and consisted of one slice of bread covered with rarebit, some lettuce and tomato, and a slice of toast for some reason. Accompanied by a one tea bag green tea for £2.30 and a small pot of black leaf tea for £2.20. Place looks nice and in nice setting and that is probably what you pay for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 165854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tu Hwnt I'r Bont also viewed

Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 
Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 

Been to Tu Hwnt I'r Bont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing