We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Friendly, Welcoming.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meadowsweet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, Friendly, Welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at here for the second year in a row and as before, excellent service, excellent food, excellent staff. We were celebrating our Ruby Wedding and chose to spend it here because of the wonderful stay the previous year and we were not disappointed. Nelson and Mary presented us with flowers for our aniversary what a lovely gesture from them. We would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks for a wonderful week. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    70
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
166
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, Staffs England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed with our best friends for a weekend break. Initial thoughts of being on the main road did not cause a problem. From the moment we arrived Mary and the staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. A wonderful place to use as a base to see North Wales, Conway and Llandudno are a must. We booked an evening meal for the first evening, taking drinks in the Victorian styled bar with Nelson, Mary's husband as our host. He is a quiet American, a perfect foil to his charming, bubbly, witty wife. Their passion for making this hotel work is wonderful. The evening meal was excellent, but the large portions beat us so we booked the second evening meal just to try the sweet course. We could not make up our minds so Mary arranged a portion of each to be brought to the table, I was in food heaven. the breakfasts are good, the full Welsh need time to appreciate, and the American pancakes make a surprising change. The young waiting staff are a credit to the youth of today for their manners and conversation. Yes they talk, they have a good knowledge of the food and the local area. Book your evening meal as the locals all seem to use the restaurant, they know how good it is.
Thank you Mary ,Nelson and the staff for making a very enjoyable weekend, we will return.
PS buy some mints for the horses at the farm over the road, they will love you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

My husband and I chose Meadowsweet hotel because of its location to several attractions in the Snowdonia region. We were pleasantly surpised with the location of the hotel and the room. We stayed in room #3, which has a king sized poster bed and an en-suite bathroom. The view did have a nice background of Snowdonia, but we were also highly amused by the small farm with the sheep, geese and cows right closer in.

The service was excellent, we both enjoyed the breakfast (get the omelette!), and the dinner was excellent both night we stayed. I enjoyed the St. David chicken.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redsilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool,england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

I just agree with all the other good reviews. Pleasant bedroom, good food and excellent service-the bar was a relaxing place to sit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights over Easter weekend staying at the Meadowsweet Hotel, and we can certainly agree with all the positive reviews that the hotel has received here.
We had booked a double room, but received a double room with an extra bed so we had plenty of space for ourselves and everything. From the room we could look out (to the left) over the meadow opposite and across the Vale of Conwy to Trefriw and the hills behind.
We ate one very good evening meal in the restaurant, and really enjoyed it. The breakfasts were fantastic, both in size and in quality!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

We have just returned from a 6 night break at this hotel and cannot speak enough of the hotel or it's staff.
Our room was a good size and included an en-suite shower and toilet with the wash basin situated in the room. We were also able to use the bathroom on our floor which my husband used to ease his aching joints.
The room in general was clean, comfortable and included a small TV along with a DVD player. DVD's were available to borrow from reception.
The restuarant attached to the hotel isn't cheap but the food was lush and served local real ales. It is also very popular with the locals. We ate there every night and 3 courses for 2 people including drinks was approx £50.
Llanrwst is a good central base for those who wish to visit the National Park and outlying areas but you won't be able to leave your car in the car park as the town doesn't have a huge amount to offer re:- shops, cafes, walks, attractions and restuarant
Mary and Nelson (the owners) organised a birthday cake in less than 24 hours notice, champagne and generally made a very nice fuss of my husband who was celebrating a special birthday.
I had researched the area via travel advisor and local websites and found that the hotel was very good value for money considering how close you are to the National Park and the other attractions.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissBossy2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

My wife booked this as a little two day break on our way to ireland and i have to admit to being a bit sceptical but in the end it was the nest decision ever! the hotel was in a great little town. easy to get to loads of interesteing days out and then after a nice day out you came back to the meadowsweet.
The staff, from the receptionist to the owners who were a lovely couple with really cute kids, were all so friendly charming and genuine that instantly you felt right at home. Our 7 month old son was made so welcome it was like going to his grandparents for lunch!
We stayed in the big room which was lovely with a great four poster bed and lovely views of the valley, with a horse and some geese wandering in the field.
the food was out of this world in both taste (have the lamb it was so tender!) and size i am a big guy who likes his food and didnt finish a meal as the portions were so generous! the restaurant was rammed with non residents on sat night which tells you all you need to know.
parking, easy.
all in all this place was great and my wife and i will be using it again and again as we break up our trips to family in ireland with a short stop in the meadowsweet.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyelsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
3.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
4.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.6 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Property: The Meadowsweet Hotel
Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Wales/Llanrwst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing