We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, fantastic people, beutiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fantastic people, beutiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Meadowsweet is a great place to base yourself if passing through or spending holidays there, the decor is boutique style and the owners are very accommodating with a great bar and menu to boot. The food and ambiance is class leading, and of course the geographical setting makes it the perfect place for almost any get away. I have stayed many times and always enjoyed the experience. I travel extensively with my work and this has a real homely feel, where everything is just right from breakfast through to dinner, and trust me that is something you don’t find in many places.

Room Tip: Great views from the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowsweet4, Owner at The Meadowsweet Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. It's truly appreciated especially coming from someone who travels extensively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    70
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
62
166
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

A warm welcome as storms descended on the beautiful Conwy valley. Drinks around a roaring fire followed by a lovely pork and black pudding set me up for a chat with Nelson and a few locals. The room was spacious and welcoming with all the comforts needed. A Harry breakfast completed a lovely stay. Then off to brave the storms.

Room Tip: Only I used one room on second floor, no lift so stairs are an issue if you have a dodgy knee
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowsweet4, Owner at The Meadowsweet Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to record your thoughts. The evenings conversation was as enjoyable as your review warm and appreciated. We thank you very much and look forward to your return should work/travels bring you back to North Wales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

One word sums up our stay at this hotel, and that is excellent. Both my sister and I had a two night stay here in October in the twin room, which was quite spacious and clean, with a good sized en suite too. On both nights we dined in the restaurant and we were well impressed with the choice of dishes on their menu. All the food was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious, and the ice cream (made locally) was to die for. It was a shame that we were unable to stay for any longer so that we could sample more of their dishes. If there is a down side, it would be the size of the car park, although we had no problem in getting a spot on the car park, I would imagine it could get very busy in the height of the season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights on 15th & 16th October for a mid week getaway, and cannot fault the hotel or location. We upgraded to a Deluxe double which was on the top floor overlooking the meadows, the room was clean, tidy, well equipped and lovely and comfortable.

We ate at the hotel restaurant on the first night, and the food was delicious. The complimentary Welsh breakfast in the morning was also great! Nelson the owner is a brilliant host, with excellent local knowledge.

Definitely recommend the Meadowsweet hotel if your looking to enjoy. Snowdonia & North Wales.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the Meadowsweet from the 26th to 29th September. Have to say my wife and I really enjoyed this small but more than adequate hotel. Food was good, bar and restaurant were lovely, the bedroom we had was nice and cosy and to cap it off the staff were excellent as well. If I could find a fault - not that I was looking for or wanted faults - it would be that the en-suite in our bedroom was very dated and in need of modernisation. A yellow 1970's suite with dated tiling that need re-grouting and sealing left a tad to be desired - but overall this in no way spoiled our experience of this hotel and I would fully recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.
The town itself is close enough to attractions - obviously you would need a car - and makes a great base for exploring north Wales.
Big thank you to the owners and staff of the Meadowsweet for a lovely weekend - will without doubt return if we are ever back in North Wales.

Room Tip: Book one of the four poster rooms and if possible to the front of the building - but nothing wrong w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Absolutely super place to stay with great staff, lovely rooms (we stayed in a deluxe double with a four poster bed overlooking the meadows with the ponies and cattle) and just the I have stayed all over the world and some of the best Welsh lamb and sirloin steak I have eaten was here. Goodness knows who the chef is but they deserve more praise and credit. Proper dauphinoise potatoes, hand cut chips, vegetables cooked properly and the meat is amazing. Even if you don't stay, go and eat there. A real place with real people and real food. Plus Nelson is a bona fide unique host - don't take my word for it, go and see how great he and his staff really are. And try the pancakes for breakfast, I didn't but my husband did and its about the only time I've seen him be quiet in a while....!

Room Tip: I'd go for a room with a view of the horses but then I'm a horsey gal! Great view of the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience at The Meadowsweet Hotel this past July! Our room was very clean and we were provided many of the essentials- robe, slippers, hair dryer, tea and biscuits. The staff was very accommodating and polite. The food in their adjoining restaurant and bar was delicious. We will definitely return to stay at The Meadowsweet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
3.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.4 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Property: The Meadowsweet Hotel
Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Wales/Llanrwst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing