We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but away from main attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were 4 people on the trip to snowdonia. Its a good hotel maintained well by a hard working family. They have a horse farm just opposite the hotel. The main problem is the hotel is far from most attractions such as the lake or Betsy-Cowed town centre where you have great walking tours and also far from the railway museum. If you are looking for peace & quiet then i would surely recommend it. Otherwise , with kids maybe you wanna stay someplace closer to attractions.

Room Tip: The family room we good was really nice. But make sure you get out before 1.30 or else the room wont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huks1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 328 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a birthday treat for me and some friends, after seeing the good reports on your website. What a let down, Faulty Towers eat your heat out. Overpriced + shambolic. The Premier room was shaby, the carpet stained, the mattress did not fit the Fourposter bed. Our friends waited 2 days for soap, the room had a hole in the wall.
The very young and untrained staff were very pleasant but this was outweighed by a rather dour and unfriendly boss (Nelson?). He showed zero interest in his guests, never speaking to us.
Food, all meals, was a disgrace, Only go there if you like everthing deepfried and do not mind if they run out of bread. You only get 3 pieces for 4 persons and the soup without a roll.
A very sad and overpriced experience.
Last but not least, do not be fooled by the website, the hotel is not in a meadow but has the main road to Conway in front.

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowsweet4, Owner at The Meadowsweet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Mrs. Jervis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us, and to Trip Advisor, with a critique of our restaurant and hotel. In our short time here we have been rewarded with a variety of warm wishes and compliments. We also value just as highly those opinions and reviews that are less than enthusiastic. We have certainly shared your letter with all of our staff in an ongoing effort to make every stay here a rewarding experience. Additionally, I sincerely apologize if you feel your birthday was not a happy one.

Sincerely,
Nelson Haerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This family run hotel in the Conwy valley provided a most excellent service throughout our wedding, from providing accommodation for our guests, beautiful quality food, perfect location and such friendly, helpful staff. The managers suggested locating our reception in their field opposite the hotel, where they also have a holiday cottage. They provided gazebos' to shelter us any weather, which as it turned out, provided shade from the sun that we were blessed with. The children were able to run around and let off steam safely whilst adults enjoyed the refreshments, which were plentiful. This venue comes highly recommended to both visitors and prospective engagements such as ours. The family facilitate with care to detail and you personally.
Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our son and his new wife stayed in this small hotel and had their small family wedding meal meal there. The staff were professional and friendly. Environment intimate yet with a roomy table setting.. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First stayed in the standard room, which is not really up to scratch. Tired interior, view on the backstreets of Llanrwst. For last two days upgraded to the four poster bedrooms. Much, much nicer! Back garden is a depressing yard, that's all. No garden. Views from front are wonderful.
Hotel is straight on the main road, busy.
Restaurant is very good and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't book the standard room. Location of the hotel matters less outside summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This review restricts itself to Lle Hari (Harry's place) restaurant alone.

We phoned for a table reservation last minute and were given a warm and welcoming reply and shortly afterwards turned up . The bar and restaurant were quiet , as you would accept on a hot Monday evening in Snowdonia. We were immediately attended to and service throughout was attentive without being intrusive , just what we like
My wife and I treated ourselves to a full three course meal which we both thoroughly enjoyed, I devoured my pâté which came with a wonderful relish and also managed to sneak a piece of my wife's delicious chicken tandoori strips.
On to main course and a delightful pork tenderloin stuffed with black pudding and wrapped in bacon was soon demolished, my wife enjoyed her piri piri pork although I personally do not enjoy anything piri piri .
I tend to judge a chef by their ability to turn out a creme brûlée and the sizeable portion afforded was an absolute delight, I was almost jealous of my wife's selection but was too busy relishing my choice of sticky toffee pudding
Overall I found the service was good and the food better than good and I have no hesitation in recommending the meadowsweet as an excellent restaurant if your looking to tingle your taste buds in a welcoming environment .
Doesn't quite get the five stars , this is not a complaint but I do reserve five stars for somewhere I consider as exceptional, this I classed as very very good

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshDragon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel has parking, and is within walking distance to the local shops (and a picturesque stone bridge and tea house). Service is friendly, and the person at the reception was more than happy to recommend some good local eats if the hotel restaurant isn't to our tastes.

Rooms were comfortable, bright, and airy, if a little dated. The shower area was basically a tiled area in the bathroom. Nonetheless, it is a good hotel for a short stay, and the breakfasts are good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the meadow overlook the main road, so may be noisier at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank map_maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.4 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
322 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: $99 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Wales/Llanrwst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing