We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alluring since my teens”

Old Thatched Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alluring since my teens”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have always wanted to see inside the place but when I finally did decades later it hadn't the allure I once thought it had until I started eating the food. It was amazing but the downside was that it was too expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josephine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    161
    67
    29
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staffs UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not bad for lunch, but not high on our list.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went for our lunch while visiting, and while the service was good, we weren't impressed with the fish and chips. Not sure what fish it was, but it seemed 'economy' to us. May have been something expensive of course, but would have preferred good old cod or haddock and we were pretty sure it wasn't either of those.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely a diamond in Weston...this place has lovely staff, perfect service and beautiful food...my first time here and for my birthday this was perfect...definetly go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the.....”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We escaped in to escape the rain and have a light snack. The place had a great visual appearance, but despite being almost empty, we had to wait for almost 15 mins to be given a menu. When it arrivevd our "afternoon tea" was surprisingly large and varied. Most enjoyable however the service needs immediate attention.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Spa-Collection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I cannot fault this place at all. Drinks reasonably priced food was absolutely exceptional. Service was quick and all done with a smile. I must admit it was not busy but I would most certainly go there again. The Kleftico and Salmon was what we had and was all to die for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seph_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Thatched Cottage also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Old Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing