We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position on seafront but needs updating”
Review of Dauncey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dauncey's Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First the good things about the hotel, right on the seafront with terraces and table and chairs. food lovely in the restaurant, limited choice but plenty of it and hot and a sea view. 2 lounges one with the bar in, there was another area which had tables and chairs in it, rather like a pub and there was a snooker table and table tennis in other rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly. The bedroom is basic but the bedding was clean and the bed comfortable, the curtains were ripped and the room was very small but we did have a sea view. The bathroom was shabby, bits missing off the front of the shower, paint missing off the pipes and the glass shelf looked fine until you put something on it then it swiveled round, where every you walked the floors creaked so during the night people above you moving around you could hear every sound. There was no telephone or information book about times of restaurant opening etc and even thought there was free wifi you could only access it in the main part of the hotel. The main entrance and frontage really needed painting, which let the hotel down. This hotel was not cheap so a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 398 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Myself & my family stayed at Dauceys Hotel for 2 nights, Although the Hotel is a little dated & tired in places we had a great time....Our room was spacious clean & tidy with the added bonus of seaveiws, maid service & clean towels
The breakfast was nice & the waitresses & all staff friendly & accommodating....even moving us next to the window overlooking the sea on the second day.
We had great fun playing table tennis, pool & darts in the games room & enjoyed drinks on the terrace overlooking the sea.
We were lucky enough to find a parking space outside the Hotel as well...!!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Gottalovetravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel freindly staff clean and well presented in walking distance of town and pier very good staff who upgraded us to a family room with sea view at no extra charge will definatly be visiting again next time were in town had a great nights sleep woken by the sea very nice see you again soon

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Davejones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Dauncey'a Hotel on a National Holidays 5 day packagen during the month of June 2013, the hotel is situated on a headland and is about three quarters of a mile from the town centre with beautiful views across the Bristol Channel. The hotel was very nice, clean and like all old large establishments it could do with a little updating but to be fair the staff were very friendly, the meals varied and adequate, for the price we paid it was excellent value. The hotel is situated in a very nice quite part of the town, but even here thieves stole all the diesel from our bus which was parked about 100 yards from the hotel so consequently despite the drivers best efforts we did not get to Cheddar Gorge.This hotel will cater for all age groups but is ideal for older citizens like ourselves.My wife and I certainly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor , it was very clean and light with excellent views across the Bristol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed recently as a part of a group but were extremely disappointed with the standard. Old outdated décor, furniture and fittings. Room was dirty, curtains seen their best a long time ago, bathroom - well you had to see it to believe it. TV was an old analogue set that obviously didn't work, we were promised a new one every day but it never materialised, apparently they were in the Managers office waiting to be put out. Drinks at the bar were very expensive - £8.05 for a bottle of beer and an orange juice. Out side terraces were equally in need of refurbishment and in parts could have been dangerous. Would never recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yxv1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here 1 night, last minute booking due to the lovely weather! We booked 2 rooms, upon arrival there were 3 people in front of us checking in. We had been standing there 25 minutes before we eventually got to the desk, upon hearing several times throughout our wait "the boss has messed everything up and left to go to the pub, but will be back at 5" (very professional)drinking while at work??!!! We gave our name, we had booked 2 rooms, but he could only find the one booking on a very unorganised pile of check-ins on the desk, in no order what so ever! We advised the guy maybe the 2 rooms are on the one piece of paper because we made the 2 bookings together (he continued to look through the pile) I pointed out the other booking was on the same sheet of paper! Ahhh...but only 1 room has been assigned to us (again this blame was put on the manager who was at the pub) so, we get given 2 keys about 15 minutes later, my parents go to their room, we go to ours. Upon walking to our room we got the feeling it wasn't the best at all, different carpets throughout the hotel, dull, and a little smelly. However, we open the door...... The room was very very dated, yellow curtains which should have been cream I presume. A very old portable tv, a large damp patch on the ceiling, bathroom shower which has seen better days, the outside of it cracked and broken. Not mentioned the lock on the door, which didn't even have a cover on the lock - but a screw to keep the catch behind, so it shut!!!!! I had a missed call from my parents, they had been given a room with 1 single bed, they might have shared a single bed in the past but this was past a joke! They contacted reception and were given another room with a 'double' bed, which was ok. But again, stained, tv only worked if you retuned it, then the channels were constantly breaking up. I'm sure you can imagine this had finalised our view of the hotel and definitely made our decision of never ever returning there. I have taken plenty of photos and shall be sending them with my view of the hotel to the head office!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

just stayed 2 nights on a last minute break.we had a mix-up with the booking as we used the price promise but the hotel knew nothing about it,however the manager gave us 2 days breakfasts on the house. he also came to the room to fix the shower but the tv was never going to work. the hotel was once a victorian terrace but now has seen better days. very creaky floorboards which didnt trouble us but probably annoyed people below. god position for sea views alas not in our room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davehawyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston super Mare
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston super Mare
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#25 of 28 in Weston super Mare
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauncey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauncey's Hotel

Address: Claremont Cresent, Weston super Mare BS23 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range: $87 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dauncey's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Dauncey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing