We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beryl and Rodney”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dauncey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dauncey's Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beryl and Rodney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a 2 night stay in April and had a lovely time weather was superb and the staff and food were terrific. Live entertainment was good and the restaurant had superb views over the bay as also did our bedroom. Hotel is a little bit tired in places and the shower a little bit cramped but the manager was very helpful and the staff very friendly so overall a good visit to Weston.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beryleileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    110
    86
    50
    68
See reviews for
63
157
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Dauncey's occupies a fine position in a Victorian (?) terrace at the quieter northern end of Weston. There is limited parking on the street outside the hotel but there is a car park (£6 per day) only a hundred yards away. The general décor of both the bedrooms and public rooms are somewhat dated but they do have plenty of character. The views from the seaward-side bedrooms are expansive; at high tide the sea is literally within a stone's throw. Meals are generally good and the restaurant staff are prompt and efficient. The beds are comfortable and the whole ambience of the hotel is refreshingly relaxed.

Room Tip: Sea view if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

As you say, Daunceys is full of character and we know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Unfortunately, without our own car park it can be difficult around the town as spaces are limited.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in Weston Super Mare for a ladies 80th birthday.
The exterior is very dated however this is to be expected in a seaside town.
On arrival the man on reception was very helpful gave us our key and directions to the room and also a taxi number. All of the staff members we encountered were very friendly and very helpful.

There were lots of stairs to the room however the hotel does have an old fashioned lift if needed. The rooms are dated and could do with some touch ups. The room we were in had a great dam stain by the window and was very drafty in the evenings which wasnt very plesant. Other than these problems however the room was very spacious with amazing views across the sea.

Breakfast was nice with the lovely view. there was a selection of cereals and to option of egg on toast or a full english.

the Hotel is around a 15/20 minute walk to the Grand Pier.

In all we enjoyed our stay at Dauncey's Hotel and for the price we paid cannot complain.

Room Tip: A seaview Room was definatly a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Old hotel, right by the sea. Great service, great room. Quiet. generally a fabulous getaway.
Parking a bit of an issue.

If anyone brings you a ticket from the NCP car park consider knocking it off the bill.

Overall, will use the Dauncey again, Simons wife runs the restaurant very well. Food excellent.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAW273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

Unfortunately, without our own car park it can be difficult around the town as spaces are limited.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

great value hotel does look a bit dated from outside and a few squeaky floor boards we had a sea view room with small balcony great for a smoke all staff are great and lovely breakfast,just great value

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this. We aim to provide value for money with our product which we are pleased to see you would agree with.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

A superb two night short stay in a nice ensuite room with all the usual facilities and unrivalled sea views over Weston-Super-Mare Bay. Simon, the Hotel's Manager and the Staff were welcoming helpful and friendly - no effort being too much for them. The breakfasts were plentiful and tasty, served with timely speed & enjoyed from the seaview restaurant. The standard of housekeeping was high, the Bar well stocked and entertainment great. Dauncey's has a unique character all of it's own, made up of five former terraced Victorian mansions connected together, with street parking. It's an old lady, no-ways perfect and a quirky labyrinth - not your normal seaside Hotel but that's one of it's attractions for me, hence my repeat visits. Location wise, all that Weston has to offer, is a short, bracing but stunning seafront walk away. The Town itself has undergone an amazing transformation, with massive inward investment, with more happening and to come.

Room Tip: Simply phone ahead to Dauncey's Reception and discuss your requirements, availability and room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 182PeterH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

As you say Daunceys is full of character and we know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited Daunceys Hotel, Weston-super-mare in March 2013. The Manager and serving staff in the restaurant at Breakfast were all courteous and professional, which made for a pleasant stay. Position was a fair way from the town centre but there was a nice walk round the the other pier area which is all closed down. On the road parking, so might have to go up some of the hilly streets to park or there is a 24hr car park just down the road, but this does cost, think it might be £6 from Easter?
The room was adequate and had a "sea view". The ensuite was small and the extractor fan not quite man enough to cope after the shower had been used, so remained a little damp in there. The shower cubicle with curtain served a purpose and the water was always hot.
What we paid for our stay with breakfast included was I think Good Value. We made the booking via Booking.com and it was just before the start of the season. All prices in all hotels will have gone up now. The drawback to the pre-season booking this year was the bitter-cold weather. We walked into Weston and back several times and it takes between 15 and twenty minutes, maybe less if you have long legs?
The breakfast was good, with orange/apple juice, cereals, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast and toast with tea/coffee. The waitresses were very attentive and all the food came out from the kitchen quite quickly. We weren't there in the busy period.
Wi-fi in the bar/ communal area lounges was adequate, but non in our bedroom on the 3rd floor. We were told that it may not reach as far as our bedroom!
After a particularly cold night, the next day when the room had been made up, an additional electic fire had been added, which was most welcome over the next few days and evenings.
The TV was a bit antiquated, after a couple of nights we could only get ITV, Channel 4 & 5, and Sky News. also, it wasn't a flat screen tv, a little square box. Still, it was dry and warm. Bed was comfortable. There is a lift, an old double door one that was probably installed a good few years ago, which added to the charm of this hotel. We would go there again, at the right price.
If its a modern renovated hotel you want - this is not for you. It has WiFi - and the bar does evening meals, but not too late. Decor is a bit dated and there are areas on the ground floor that are not used and a bit of a mess. But to be fair this might all change in the height of the season. Overall, a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Third floor, 300's is a long way up if you don't use the lift. If you want WIFI in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#16 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#1 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauncey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauncey's Hotel

Property: Dauncey's Hotel
Address: Claremont Cresent, Weston super Mare BS23 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dauncey's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Dauncey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing