We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but Goodie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a coach party.
Yes the hotel is old (particularly noticeable in the single ancient manual-door lift) and the deco is a bit dated but our room was spotless. Nice view of the pier, which the hotel is virtually across the road from, right on the seafront. Bed was excellent and a good sized flat screen telly.It might get a bit hot in the summer though as there's no air con.
Food is waitress service, good quality and choice and plenty of it. Jade our waitress was very friendly and helpful, as were all the staff we encountered.
For the price and location you can't go wrong, in some ways it's put some of the major chains we've stayed in recently to shame.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grees00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your room, and appreciated the hard work of our cleaning staff. Most of our guests are pleased with the quality and finish of our rooms and facilities, and I’m glad to see you were no exception.

We regularly are complimented on our food and service: guests enjoy being waited on instead of the apathetic buffet-style offerings of our chain competitors. We also pride ourselves on a high standard of customer service and professionalism, and we’re glad you’ve experienced that during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for The Sandringham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 591 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

positives:
the staff were very friendly towards me and my young daughter. the location was right on the sea front. gorgeous view from the dinning room.

Negatives:
the hotel looked very old inside. the stairs are very narrow and unsteady. the room itself was dirty. something was all up the walls. again a very old looking room. the bed was very uncomfortable and there wasn't a duvet just a blanket. we had a toddler cot (from the hotel) which looked 15 years old and no duvet provided for that. the bathroom was small and the bath itself had no caps on the taps so we couldn't run a bath for my daughter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicoleross28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, your feedback is very important to us. We’re pleased to hear that you found our staff professional and courteous, our approach to customer service is rigorous and we do our best to ensure every guest has a pleasant stay. I’m sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the quality of your room, we are currently renovating our hotel to add capacity and improve the quality of facilities. As a result we are using some baths as showers.

I’m you enjoyed the view from the hotel, and the Hotel’s excellent location is one of our greatest assets. We look forward to welcoming you back to Weston soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

what a dump this hotel is , no taps on the bath , light pull in bathroom hanging off , shower had very low pressure and water went cold after a minute , dated furniture in bedroom , stains on bed clothes , chewing gum stuck on bedside cabinet , view out window was a large amount of scaffolding no parking spaces for large hotel

Room Tip: dont book here drive on
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richardcarol1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us, we take all feedback on board. I can assure you our approach to cleanliness is thorough and our cleaning staff make sure the highest levels of hygiene and finish are maintained, as you can see from our other reviews.

Naturally, if you were unsatisfied and had made this known at reception, we could have accommodated you elsewhere in the hotel, and investigated these claims. Unfortunately, as you did not see us regarding this, we are unable to comment on their severity or indeed validity. Whilst the hotel is undergoing refurbishment work, all of our rooms have a high standard which we adhere to, and I’m sure customers would not be disappointed by the quality of our accommodation.
We’re sorry you had problems parking, and next time recommend you make use of our discounted ticket. We operate a heavily discounted tariff with a nearby multi-storey car park, so guests are advised to check-in before making parking arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 4nights as part of coach party

Had a fantastic time - room clean and comfortable
Good choices for evening meals and breakfast good too
Our waitress Karen was a real treasure and an asset to the hotel
Dont be put off by the negative comments - I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam12311_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I’m glad to hear you had a fantastic stay with us, and am delighted you were pleased with the quality and comfort of your room. Our dining room and reception staff to everything they can to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and pleasant stay, and our quality of customer service is second-to-none.

We agree with your advice – guests are often pleasantly surprised with the quality of service and accommodation they receive after reading some of our less favourable reviews: our extensive renovation project is developing at an impressive rate. We look forward to welcoming you back to Weston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

£95 for 3 days in a hotel... bargain i thought...didn't expect high standards at that price, with great facilities...but i at least expected a clean room with basic requirements. i certainly didn't expect what i got. single room was pretty small (fair enough, as its only a single), wall paper was old woodchip, cracked walls,peeling off paint. carpet was worn and black in places. it was all very dated and in desperate need of a refurb and a good clean. behind the radiator was caked in dust, and i had one of those silver fish bugs crawling along my towel on the 2nd day) the bathroom was tiny and the shower above a bath tub, with an old curtain running round.(no taps on bath, so no choice of bath/shower, even tho there was an old bathplug on the side) soap in the bathroom was an old bar which had clearly been used previously. the wood on the side of the bath was also falling off. there was no sink in the bathroom either... only 1 sink in the room used for everything. and when i did have a shower, hot water didnt last long... it soon went cold i had to jump out. there was no heating in the room so it was freezing cold, and didnt help that part of the seal along the window had come away, and so cold air was also coming through the window. the tv in the room didnt work, and there was also some other thing which looked like an old radio above the bed... again... it was broken (whatever it was). walls were incredibly thin so you could hear absolutely everything going on in the corridors, in the dining room downstairs and in the bar 2 floors down, and hear every conversation. tea/coffee facilities were topped up after my first night, but not again after that for the remainder of my time there. they provided one hand towel and one slightly bigger towel (not bath towel size)... during the 3 days these were not changed/renewed at all. there was only one plug socket in the whole room (used for tv/kettle) not useful if you are young and want to plug things in like phone charger etc. i was very glad to leave and go home to a warm house. on the plus side.... the bar was pretty cheap, and there was entertainment and bingo in the bar most nights (entertainment being a man with a keyboard singing old songs such as elvis, tom jones and the mavericks...same stuff every night, with bad jokes in between).... but if you can cope with that then there is no prob, and the lady behind the bar was very friendly. it was definitely a hotel aimed at an older generation. i'd say if all you are looking for is a bed for the night at a cheap price, then its perfect... just make sure you bring your own toiletries, tea/coffee/ towels and extra clothing for the cold nights... however if you have standards... go somewhere else..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

For the benefit of customers attempting to garner an overview of your opinion of our Hotel, I will attempt to decode your review, inserting grammar and punctuation as necessary.

All of our hotel rooms meet size requirements set out by the EU, and it certainly follows that the size of a single room should be smaller than that of a double room. The cleanliness and standard of hygiene in all of our rooms is the highest, and I doubt the carpet in your room was anything short of spotless. Our refurbishment programme is well underway, with whole sections of the hotel being renovated at the moment. In some of our rooms, the bath in the bathroom is being used as a shower also – this is similar to many hotel bathrooms.

We do not provide a full-range of in-room toiletries, but the soap and handwash we provide are renewed at the start of every stay, and was definitely unused when you checked in. All of our rooms have integrated central heating, and the heating system was in use during your stay. A simple adjustment of the in-room thermostat would have ensured you had plentiful heat. Likewise, all of our in-room televisions are centrally linked to one TV distribution system, which was working throughout the duration of your stay. If you had contacted us on reception, we would have been more than happy to help. Unfortunately, you did not inform us that you were unhappy when you checked in, and thus we were unable to advise you on how to activate your room heating, or to move you to a room you would have found more comfortable.

The hotel is a well-built Victorian building, and many of the walls surrounding your room are structural, making it highly unlikely you were able to hear conversations from elsewhere in the building. Bath towels and in-room tea and coffee making facilities are automatically topped up by our cleaning staff each day, fresh towels are provided on request, but will have been replaced twice during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

hotel is undergoing refurbishment, but this is no excuss for the poor rooms that many of our coach party had. our room was shabby, very cold, we had no taps on the bath, no heating the first night, no drinking water for a day and a half, eventually we had a new tap fitted, there was no handles on the bedside cabinets..windows were rotten.. and much more, if you are going to the sandringham avoid room 109.....
from a buisiness angle surely the hotel should have refurbished the entire lot of the rooms they had first before building new ones,!!!!!!!

Room Tip: low rooms if you have trouble with stairs, there is a lot of them everywhere.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I’m sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the quality of your room, we are currently renovating our hotel to add capacity and improve the quality of facilities. As a result we are using some baths as showers.

If you had contacted our customer service team on reception, I’m sure we wouldhave been able to relocate you to a more suitable room. Our extensive renovation plans involve the construction of new rooms to satisfy the existing demand as we renovate older ones. This is a common model in hospitality, as decommissioning many rooms at once leads to lost revenue, but it is far more cost effective to renovate a whole floor at once. Building new rooms allows us to decommission whole floors in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for a night this week April 10th to be precise and were a little disappointed as the rating was 7.7.They are doing some development work but instead of refurbishing the rooms they are building some more.Not sure about the sense in that.
Still it was cheap and cheerful the staff were very nice and breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Don't have any sorry!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr Badguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at our Hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed our breakfast; we regularly receive compliments on the quality of our food. We attempt to provide the best value for money in Weston-super-Mare, so we’re pleased to hear you thought our tariffs were competitive.

Our extensive renovation plans involve the construction of new rooms to satisfy the existing demand as we renovate older ones. This is a common model in hospitality, as decommissioning many rooms at once leads to lost revenue, but it is far more cost effective to renovate a whole floor at once. Building new rooms allows us to decommission whole floors in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston super Mare
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston super Mare
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandringham Hotel

Address: 1-9 Victoria Square, Weston super Mare BS23 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range: $78 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sandringham Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing