We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our mid week break”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is situated right in the heart of Western .In front is the grand pier and promenade and located just behind the indoor shopping centre and town.

It is a very old hotel and a little run down in areas ,but is being renovated at present (this did not cause too much noise)and everywhere was clean and warm .

Our room was not the best view from window ,but we did not spend too much time in there anyway.

The food was very good indeed ,with plenty of choice, and was cooked to perfection.
The waitresses' were very friendly (as was all the staff )and efficient ,always prepared to go the extra mile to make sure we were enjoying our meal.

The hotel provided entertainment every night in the charlie Chaplin bar ,which was perfect for the customers it had, everyone seemed to enjoy it and lots of dancing was taking place .

I think we had very good value for money and would stay there again when visiting Western .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the position of our hotel – our guests often enjoy having the best Weston has to offer within walking distance.

Our current renovation work is being managed carefully to ensure minimal disruption to our current guests - the quality of accommodation we offer to our current guests is our first priority.

Unfortunately, most hotels have rooms on both the front and the back, and we’d ask guests to request a sea view room (at no extra cost) if they will be spending large amounts of time in their room. We’re pleased to hear this didn’t impact your stay.

Our food is prepared fresh and using the finest ingredients, and as such we rarely receive anything but praise for our dinner and breakfast menus. I’m pleased to hear your comments echo this!

The staff in our restaurant are committed and work hard to ensure each guest is treated individually and everyone is enjoying their meals. Entertainment in the evening is particularly popular, and quite often creates a friendly and enjoyable mood!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Weston-super-Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    179
    118
    44
    58
See reviews for
98
248
31
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NORTHANTS
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just got back from a bus trip to the sandringham on arrival we found we had no hot water and cold rooms, so went for dinner booked down i was a vegetarian but was told they were to busy to do me anything so i was given a plate with a few carrots and bussels,so saw the waiter who told me they would do me a jkt spud for the next eve. next day still no hot water and at dinner no jkt. they have to sort these problems out. The waitress did try i must say. the view was the only upside of this hotel

Room Tip: we had room 311 and it had a lovely view of the pier and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROCKNROLL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
It’s a shame to hear you were not satisfied with your stay, and I hope this has not tainted your view of our hotel.

We advise guests with specific dietary requirements, allergies or preferences to telephone the hotel ahead of their arrival date so we can ensure the kitchen has sufficient notice, and we can arrange specific dishes to be cooked.

Our hotel’s heating and hot water system has recently been replaced, vastly reducing problems with guests’ hot water. Naturally, if there are complications or issues that we cannot fix, we must contact a plumber and have the necessary inspections made. Unfortunately, due to the short nature of your stay over a bank holiday weekend, we were unable to source a plumber until after your checkout date, but we can confirm the problem has been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A very good welcome, brill staff, nothing too much trouble fore them all. Room clean and warm.. Food varied and a lot of it.
Down points, a lot of stairs, not disable friendly, and the parking was a nightmare, we travelled by car. Even so we had a good holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaRaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay in our accommodation. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the quality of customer service you received – it is something we take pride in. Your comments about the quality of our hotel food have been echoed by many guests over the years – they too are delighted with the wide range of food we offer and the high quality of ingredients, presentation and service.

Being a Victorian building, there are stairs to some rooms – we do have a lift to all floors, however. We always advise customers with specific disabilities to contact us directly before check-in to ensure they receive a suitable room on a low floor.

We’re sorry you had problems parking, and next time recommend you make use of our discounted ticket. We operate a heavily discounted tariff with a nearby multi-storey car park, so guests are advised to check-in before making parking arrangements.

Nevertheless, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Took a group on one of our Holidays did not know what to expect re the reviews but was pleasantly surprised.Warm,Good Food,Good Entertainment and Excellent Staff with an excellent location.All my passengers were happy and all their needs were met and would return.Ongoing refurbishment new rooms are excellent i stayed in an older room but was a typical English Hotel Standard.Look forward to when the Hotel is fully Refurbished but will definitely be returning.Greenline Coaches Stourbridge

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenlineCoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I’m glad to hear your party were pleased by the quality and service in our dining room – almost all the feedback we receive regarding the breakfast and dinner services are positive.

We’re glad to hear your passengers received a high quality of customer service during their stay: all of our front-of-house staff care about the quality of stay that our customers have, and do their best to ensure that each guests’ needs are catered for.

Our refurbishment project is making exciting developments, and modernisation progress is good: for example, the hotel now has free WiFi. We look forward to returning parties from your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We revisited this hotel as a big group of friends and were looked after very well! The staff are so friendly and helpful; they made our stay! Thanks Cameron behind the bar and the receptionist! We had a great sea view and again had a great stay; we'll dfinitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. We pride ourselves on good customer service, and it’s great to hear that you felt welcome! We always encourage our front of house staff to be friendly and approachable, and I’m glad to hear your comments echo this.

Our guests do enjoy the quality of the views from our sea-view rooms. We recommend guests ask for sea-view rooms at the time of booking if they would like one, there is no extra charge.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

stayed here with a group of girls for the weekend. had an extra bed in the spacious room, which was slightly dated but was only a room to sleep in really so decor wasnt an issue. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spotlessly clean. the food was absolutely fantastic for the price we paid we expected a lot less. but most of all the staff went out of their way to help, or advise where to go etc and couldnt have been more friendly, but remained professional.
I would definitley go again, either with my husband, children and as a group of girls as weston has fun for all ages! one other thing i would say is that the hotel is right opposite the grand pier and at the back is the shopping centre so ideal location too.

Room Tip: we stayed in a triple room, which i would actually name as a family room as had double bed and 2 sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mifandmif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I’m pleased to hear you found our rooms spacious and comfortable. Our renovation project is ongoing, but all of our rooms are spotlessly clean and kept to a high standard. We think we offer the best value for money in Weston-super-Mare, and I’m very pleased to hear you thought this was the case.

Our location couldn’t be more central, and we are – as you say – a stone’s throw from many of Weston’s major attractions. Our staff are always more than happy to help if you’re looking for directions or advice.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family or friends back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen Lincolnshire England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have come back tonight from a 4 night stay here and we could not find any faults,even though there is an extensive re-furbishment going on.
From arriving on Monday we had a great time, the staff were tip top, entertainment on three nights, food was very good and plenty of choices for both breakfast & dinner.
Our room (320) was very comfortable and certainly warm, great location, and we will be back,oh and we are not old people one comment I read was it was ok for old folk,by the way its fine for anyone.
keep up the good work you are all doing a great job, Thank you all

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsPerrett, Manager at The Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our Hotel.

We're being very careful not to disrupt our guests as our refurbishment work is occurring, and I'm very pleased to hear our efforts are paying off - I've yet to hear one complaint about noise or untidiness.

You are correct about our clientèle: our Hotel is enjoyed by both young and old alike! I will pass on your comments to our staff, who I'm sure will be pleased to hear you had such a great stay.

Thank you again for reviewing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston super Mare
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
805 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston super Mare
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston super Mare
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandringham Hotel

Property: The Sandringham Hotel
Address: 1-9 Victoria Square, Weston super Mare BS23 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sandringham Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing