We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old lady!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Reviewed May 15, 2014

An elegance from another age, even its name conjures up opulent Victorian tea parties held in the lofty suites at this seafront hotel, before the ladies took a stroll along the front in their long dresses and feathered hats. OK, in 2014 we arrived in the mother of all storms, with a massive puddle in the midAdle of the car park and the wind literally whipping us into the hotel lobby! We were greeted by perhaps the most friendly and genuine reception staff I have ever come across! They were great! Our room wasn't quite so brilliant - tucked through a side corridor off the main corridor, and next to a room which must have been a private flat - as it had a proper front door lock on it. Our room was quite small and dark, with a view over a flat roof with the (rather rusty) air con machines dotted over the dipping tarmac. There was also a fire exit through the bathroom window on to the roof. But the room was very warm, and very quiet, which was a bonus. The public areas of the hotel are in good repair, if a little clinical and without much decor of interest. But the imposing gothic building itself with its high windows and ornate ceilings more than made up for it. Breakfast was good, although prepared plates en masse and so fresher if you get down there early (and not be lazybones like us!). I think the hotel specialises in coach breaks for older people, as we felt very young even though we are in our late 40s! Not a bad feeling!! There was live entertainment a la 1970s one evening, which attracted a large crowd! But it was nice to sit in the warm behind one of the huge windows and watch the stormy weather while enjoying a glass of wine and some cheese and biscuits (ordered at the bar).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allliemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hi Allliemk,

Thank you for leaving us a review following your recent stay with us and great to read your positive comments regarding your stay, I will pass your review onto Dee, Vanessa and Wendy (the reception girls) and thank you for a great review, hopefully we will see you again soon in WSM

regards

Wayne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Atlantic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 622 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

8 of us stayed for two nights (10,11 May).Room excellent (obviously refurbished), Stayed half board and all meals were excellent. All the staff (without exception) were excellent very friendly and efficient. Entertainment good. Good location near to the pier and shops etc. Good parking facility. The hotel obviously caters for a lot of coach trips as I believe it is owned by Shearings so the clientele were of a senior generation (I am 65 and felt quite young! Maybe it is different in the high season.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues a lower room is favourable as there is only one small lift
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kemarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hi Kemarg,

It is much appriciated that you have taken the time to leave us a great review which again praises our rooms, food quality, service, entertainment, location and our team of great staff.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Grand Atlantic

Kind Regards

Wayne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just a quick get a way. But found a true sea side gem . For sure to return soon. Every one with out exception exceeded expectation the place was spotless and service excellent .No need to improve on a thing just keep doing what you do best . Well done guys see you soon.

Room Tip: Sea view is a little extra but worth it
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jossSurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Hi JossSurry,

Thank you for such an honest and lovely review following your stay with us, we aim to please all our guests, and it's great to read reviews like yours which confirm our friendly team service standards and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards
Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A four-night break, booking a sea view. Receptionist very welcoming, and obviously interested in her job. Room - wow! top floor, right on the corner, with a 290 degree view. Sand sculpture exhibition just below, sand, donkeys, all right in front of us. And the size, too - a proper "sitting-room" area, huge and comfy bed, walk-in wardrobe - most impressed.
We booked parking, but there would have been space in the "unpaid-for" parking area in the week after Easter.
Allocated to a particular table, so the waiting staff got to know us a little, even checking if we had any special dietary needs when my wife asked for "no sauce" on her meal.
Part of Shearings Holidays, so there were two parties in, although you'd never have known.
Decor in the fourth-floor corridor a bit tired, less so in the room, but it looked as though there's a room-by-room refurb going on.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are best, but 210, 310 and 410 are better than 201, 301 and 401.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David-the-Baptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hi David-the-baptist,

Thank you for leaving us a review of your 4 night break, it was great to read your positive comments regarding service, rooms with great views and friendly staff, the team really appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards

Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fantastic Hotel for the price, great staff well run hotel. Yes its old and might need a bit of updating here and there but for what you pay I think it is excellent value for money :) I Think trip advisor is unfair, there is a lot of hard working people out there trying to run businesses' some times on a shoe string, yet to many people with to much time on there hands are just to willing to knock them down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vosully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Good evening Vosully,

Many thanks for leaving myself and the team a great review following your recent stay with us, we really appreciate your praise comments regarding our team at the hotel, many thanks and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Wayne and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Just returned from the Grand Atlantic Hotel (Shearings)

Pro's:
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Hotel in good sea front location.
Good food (with fast efficient service).
Luggage handling was fantastic.
Peaceful.

Cons:
Our bedroom (4th floor) was in dire need of a total re-furb. Extensive black mould in the bathroom as well as tiles hanging off the wall. Dust everywhere. Wallpaper hanging off. The cleaner was fighting a losing battle so probably didn't really bother too much.

If a bit of cash was spent on the bedrooms this would be a lovely old hotel (and I would have given it 4 stars)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello Mamabowly,

Tank you for leaving us a review following your recent coach holiday with us, I'm sorry that the room allocated to you was not to your expectations, however if you could message me the room number I can look into this, All the 4th floor rooms have been decorated about 3yrs ago and have all new furniture last year so possible you are referring to the bathroom and not the bedroom but it was great to read your positive comments regarding the friendliness of the staff, the location of the hotel and the food and dining room service.

kind regards
wayne & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Called in to the Grand Atlantic Hotel with my parents on Monday lunchtime for a bite to eat on our way home to Wales after a fine holiday in North Devon. We were exceptionally pleased with our meals and thought they were great value for money. They were freshly prepared and were very tasty. The burger with onion rings on top, chips and salad I had was a big meal to say the least!! The great food combined with friendly service and the pleasant and relaxed surroundings of the bar lounge, we just couldn't have asked for more!
After this brief and excellent experience, we agreed that we would like to return to this hotel for a holiday the next time rather than just lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coachholidayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Hi coachholidayfan,

Thanks for the review following your pit stop at the hotel for lunch, great to read our food, service, lounge bar and staff met your expectations, our aim is to offer great food, value for money, served by friendly staff at it looks like we have achieved this once again, we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel on holiday

Regards

Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston super Mare
828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston super Mare
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range: $101 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing