We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good May Bank holiday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As you turn onto the seafront The Grand Atlantic makes it's presence known, it stands out from the rest of the newer buildings. It has two pointed turrets and would look at home in a magical Harry Potter movie. Built originally as school and then transformed into a hotel, once owned by trust house fourty. As a youngster it was only the wealthy that stayed here, a place that you could not afford, and only dream about. Now due changing times open to everyone to enjoy this unique building.Entering into the reception area which is spacious with an electric piano playing tunes on its own, your greeted by warm friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable though a little to warm, with some even having an exta room for your luggage, there's a tv, and drink facilities. The dinning room is nice and newly decorated, service can be ocassionally a little slow, but the staff are very accommodating, it would be nice for some condiments to be on the table, especially vinegar for the chips. Beef was nice, chicken a bit tough and dry, the rest was very good. The evening entertainment was brilliant a female singer on Friday with a good sense of humour and a great voice. The Saturday entertainer was a singer and great instrumentalist which spellbound the audience, with a salute to the troops that was terrific and a must for all ages. Unfortunately no entertainment on the Sunday which seems strange as during the bank holiday this was the last night and a lost chance to keep guest in the hotel.The bar is nice and the Beer is good, it's nice to be asked if you wanted a last drink before closing the bar and wishing everyone goodnight. Perhaps to some its outdated, but the building is impressive and nostalgic, yes it could do with some improvements, I hope it will be looked after, and yes I would stay again

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Brett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi Brett N,

Many thanks for leaving us a review following your bank holiday stay with us which complemented some of our core values.
Great to read the praise you left us regarding the food, service and friendly staff along with the great position of the hotel and the surrounding areas, also the flexible range of entertainment we offer which is aimed to please most guests.
I will pass on your comments to all the staff concerned.

Regards

Wayne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Atlantic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 622 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Usual Shearings good value. Stayed bed & breakfast - plenty of places to eat out at night - if prepared to walk round the bay try Nicks bar.Plenty of choice for breakfast and even had Rice Krispies ! - a first for Shearings. Only slight criticism on the one morning we were later down for breakfast the service was quite slow.
Whilst there is free parking at the side & rear of the hotel I suspect this could be a problem at times when the hotel is full. You can pay to reserve a space at the front of the hotel - I didn't but managed to park alright during our weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smithy0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hello Smithy0407,

Thanks for the review, its good to hear your positive comments regarding the breakfast selection we offer, and the great location of the hotel with ample car parking. its true the sea does go out a fair distance but the front facing rooms do have some stunning views across the Bristol channel to Cardiff/Penarth.

regards

Wayne & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you are booked into Room 309, go and have a look at it first. The seals in the double-glazing are shot, so you look at the sea view through streaky condensation, and the wall-paper under the lefthand window is all but dropping off. The carpet to the left of it is dirty and there seems to be a white imprint of a paint brush which has been dropped on the floor to the right of it. The heated towel-rail was not working, and there is no other heating in the bathroom

The public rooms are much smarter. The dining room is particularly pleasant and the food was good and served on hot plates. However, the front steps needed regularly brushing, and the revolving door was covered in fingermarks.

Room Tip: Look before you unpack!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Michael H,

Thank you for you mixed review following you break with us, it was pleasing to read about your positive comments about the public areas and service, I will look into the window in that room to see what we can rectify, however thanks for your comments over the keyboard,

Regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for five days on a Shearings self-drive holiday and were overall very pleased with our stay. We could not fault the staff in any way and unlike some other Shearings hotels the restaurant did not look like a canteen. It was spacious, beautifully set out and the food was very nicely presented, delicious and plenty of it served by Eastern Europen staff who were efficient and friendly. Yes, the hotel does live up to its name of being 'grand' but in the areas that matter it is very modern. We paid extra for a seaview and were not disappointed, the room was large and modern but was let down by the rather dowdy bathroom which badly needed some TLC. Nice toiletries are provided and renewed every day. We were there at the end of April and some public rooms appeared to be closed off and the two cabaret acts we had that week took place in a corner of the lounge so those who fancied a dance did fnot are too well on the carpet! The resort of Weston Super Mare itself looks a bit tired, sadly the fate of lots of traditional seaside resorts these days but had a nice prom for walking. During our stay we visited Cheddar Gorge (spectacular), Wookey Hole (creepy) and had a great ride on the steam railway.Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the seaview room - well worth it
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truckersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Truckers girl,,

Many thanks for posting a nice review following your recent stay with us and it was great reading the positive comments you left for us regarding the staff, food and service, the ballroom we have is now used as a private function room and also used when we do themed entertainment weekends thought the year, otherwise the entertainment is of a relaxed style in the bar area.

Regards
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on business, have to say for £50.00 per night bed and breakfast was excellant value for money.

I stayed in room 207 which was a double sea view, room were very clean and tidy a little dated however very comfortable.

Breakfast was excellant

Evening Meal - The food was exceptiional. The service was good however what I found strange was the waitress didnt take the drinks order, there was a dedicated waitress for drinks which delayed me having a drink as she was taking order for the entire resturant.

This hotel seems to mainly cater for coach parties however this added to the atmosphere.

Dont expect the ritz however cant fault the hotel especially for £50.00 per night bed and breakfast

It amazes me about some of the reviews about not value for money - Premier Inn 2 doors away were charging £70.00 ROOM ONLY!!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room the view is stunning
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hello Craig H,

Many thanks for leaving us a great review following you business stay with us last week, its good to read your comments on the breakfast/Dinner options we offer and the room cleanliness, I take on board your comment regarding wine/drinks service and hve passed on to the Bar Manager, overall it is great to read that you and many other travellers see what good value for money breaks we offer.
looking forward to seeing you again soon

regards

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Would have liked to have given 4 stars but the room was not up to standard.
We were given a disabled room (top of the stairs on the 1st floor) we were not told this in advance and as both my husband and myself are quite tall it was a problem for us as everything in the room was designed for wheelchair use and lower than standard. There was also no chair at the dressing table.
The peeling plaster on the bathroom ceiling was disgraceful.
That said everything else was very good. We enjoyed all our meals and the staff were very pleasant.
Lots of things to see and do in the surrounding areas and the hotel is just a short walk into town.
Plenty of on-site parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galapagosbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Hi lindylovesaholiday,

Thanks for the review following your recent stay with us, we do try our very best to fulfil guests requests on all occasions and your 'low floor near lift' room request was no exception, it was also nice to ready your positive comments regarding the food, service and pleasant staff coupled with the great location of the hotel. We do endeavour to ensure all repair works are finished on time but you are correct ........... There is no plasterer in the house!!

Regards

Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

the hotel is in a lovely position and we were lucky to get a room with a corner view,the meals were all very good, and the service in the nice dining room was excellent.The entertainment was not up to much what we saw of it the young girl behind the bar was very pleasant and helpful, its a pity the nice entertainment room we saw photos of isn't used what a waste.The only downside to our stay was the bar closed too early on all 3 nights, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Justan 63,

Thanks for the review following your weekend stay with us and your praise for the hotel, staff, service, location and food. I take on board your comment regarding entertainment however what we offer is a relaxed style of entertainment. Should you want a more fuller programme of entertainment maybe you should try one of our "entertainment weekends"
Hopefully we will see you soon
Regards

Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston super Mare
828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston super Mare
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range: $101 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing