We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn`t do what it says on the tin !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It doesn`t do what it says on the tin !!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed Friday `till Sunday with my wife, my brother and his wife and whilst our rooms were clean, comfortable and hot (despite the cold February weather) there was just something missing !
The Shearings Hotel seems to be VERY geared to Shearings coach parties and us private guests appeared almost to be trespassers ! Having eaten in the Lounge Bar on Friday night we emerged into the foyer where there was a table laid out for teas & coffees with a notice saying "For residents only" we were then informed quite tersely by the duty Manageress that it was only for the coach parties ! (so we weren`t residents then ?)
Breakfast was a good selection, well cooked and served quickly, tho` we did arrive in the dining room well before the coach party guests !!
Our meal in the bar on Friday evening was a different story, my brother and I ordered Prawn Green Thai Curry, our wives, Cheese omelettes, we were told at the Bar that the Curry had been removed from the menu and no longer available (so why was it still printed on the menu?)
The barman, having consulted with his bar manager informed us that it WAS available after all, so that was ok ! Food arrived, our Thai curry a grey "gloop" in a bowl with about 6 prawns, the rice was ok though, and the omlettes very dry and both wives doubted the presence of any cheese !
Saturday afternoon, late, my brother and I watched the 6 nations rugby in the bar along with several others and played a great game called "find the bar staff" !!
We ate out on Saturday night.!!!!!!
Despite all this, overall we enjoyed we enjoyed our stay, the Hotel has character and I like the fact that every room is slightly different, it just needs more attention to detail, just because the majority of guests are probably elderly (we`re not that young either) doesn`t mean they should have to accept second best. ( the disabled lift from outside is still out of order by the way)
So why do I use the above title ??? Well anyone who reads the well produced glossy brochures for "Coast & Country Hotels" which are available in reception, would struggle to match up the Hotel with the description in the brochure I rather think, for none of the standard rooms seem to be shown, only the ones to which you can upgrade.
Perhaps I`m being "picky" we really did enjoy our stay and the majority of the staff were friendy and helpful

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are better than the rear ones which overlook the car park `tho I guess if on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
jonandchris,

thank you for taking the time to leave us a mixed review following your weekend stay, yes we cater for all guests either self drive & coach guests who all have the same holiday options and with only 30 guests on a coach the weekend you stayed and the remaining 88 self drive leisue guests I have trouble seeing how the trend was coach party guests.. I have also not received any other adverse comments regarding the range/standard of bar food we offer however I apologise if this did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
on the plus side it was pleasing to read your comments regarding clean, comfortable rooms which are warm, and our friendly and helpful staff being recognised again

regards
wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    206
    156
    72
    37
See reviews for
75
356
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is difficult to comment on this hotel as it all comes down to personal choice. If you like a hotel that is modern, light with a buffet style breakfast modern furniture and bathroom fittings then perhaps this is not the hotel for you. If on the other hand you like the older more traditional hotel with waitress service then this is more for you. I think this hotel was probably very grand in its day but my impression of the place was that it was dark, dated and very much in need of decorating. The special offers seem good but I think you are probably given a basic room although it has everything you need but charged extra for a sea facing room, which we thought was well worth it. Evening meal consists of a limited choice although you can order from the al la carte menu but of course this would not be part of the offer. Food orders are taken by waitresses for breakfast and dinner and can take quite a time even the tea, coffee and toast. Portions are on the small side but the food was quite enjoyable. In the morning Cereals are served on a buffet style but often you are left waiting for dishes or glasses. You then order your main from a menu.There is no ramp to the door and as the lift outside the front was out of order could have posed a problem for anyone disabled or carrying a heavy case although the hotel staff would have been quite willing to help. The entertainment is usually someone singing but is a very small room so you would probably only hear it and the seating is around a few settees and table and chairs. I would say this hotel appealed to more elderley couples who have been coming here for years unless it was a family celebration This lift is very small only carrying 4-5 people. There is no ramp to the front door and several steps to the entrance. A stannah type lift has been installed but it was out of order. However I am sure the staff would help with any heavy cases or someone in a wheelchair. It really is down to personal choice.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a sea view room as the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunny186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi sunny ######

thanks for your comments, I agree, we are not a un-characteristic "premier inn" however we do offer great value for money breaks in characteristic surroundings with friendly staff offering good service, relaxing entertainment and great views from our sea facing rooms.

Regards

Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here in in July last year and had an enjoyable week despite the weather. On our recent, three night, break the weather was cold and rainy, but the welcome was very warm.

OK there are a couple of negatives such as the lift for wheelchair users being out of order, as it is was when we last stayed, and some paintwork and water damage need attention.

Enough of the negatives as there are many positive about this hotel. We were greeted warmly by the staff, and manager, at the reception desk. We received the best of attention from the ladies on reception throughout our stay and any requests or enquiries were dealt with in an efficient, friendly and helpful way.

Our room was warm, clean and comfortable and was serviced well each day. We had paid extra for a superior room with a sea view and found it to be well worth the money. The views, despite the weather, are excellent. Perhaps Shearings could consider upgrading all of its rooms to the “superior” standard; I feel that the higher price represents value for money.

The food was really very good and with plenty of choice on the table d'hôte menu. We could have paid extra to chose off the a la carte menu, as we did once during our last stay, but found that what was on offer was fine. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful and in particular Tunde and Jamie deserve special mention.

We did overhear some of our fellow guests complaining about the food and the rooms. However the general impression I gained was that, as Terry Wogan said,
“ There are always people waiting to be offended.” From reading other reviews it is clear that this hotel has far more positive reviews than negative ones.

Wayne you and your team are dong a “grand” job (ouch but I couldn't resist!!) keep up the good work.
I would definitely recommend the Grand Atlantic and we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with a sea view are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello Josephblggs,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at the Grand Atlantic Hotel, it was great to read your praise for our clean comfortable bedrooms with great sea facing views and our food and service in the dining room. I have passed on your comments to Tunde and Jamie in the restaurant.

regards
Wayne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We`ve just stayed at this Shearings hotel, in February of this year. It was a self drive weekend. We booked a room with a view,it was worth the extra money. The view out over the beach and looking to the Bristol Channel which is framed by the coast of South Wales curving on the right and the cliff line on North Somerset coast curving on the left was delightful. The sunsets were beautiful.
It can be very "Bracing" here so,check the weather and keep warm.

Apart from being located at the beach, the hotel is only a five to ten minute walk to the town where you will find a very good and busy shopping centre. There is a bus service outside the hotel and across the road.

The hotel is a late Victorian building. Once inside you find the lounge is very comfortable. There are two small side lounges which straddle the main entrance they are cosy to sit in,to read the paper or enjoy afternoon tea and watch the world go by.
There is also a bar off the lounge and this is where the evening entertainment is held.
The dining room, opposite is also off the lounge and is quite a large room well decorated and well served by the staff.

We had a nice large room with twin beds,wardrobe,TV and with a table and arm chairs at the bow window.The bathroom was a good size.
Nice and relaxing to sit there and once again watch the world go bye. In the evening it was also pleasant to sit and see the sun go down and then the lights would come on.

The restaurant menu was the usual Shearings fare which is always quite good as is the selection on the menu. This time as before, we had an "A La Carte Menu" of which we could and did choose from. These choices have to be paid for but it gives you a further choice of food.

Our compliments as always go to the management and staff.They are always helpful and accommodating.

Car parking. There is parking at the front of the hotel, this has to be reserved and paid for at a current rate of £5 a day. Done when booking.There are also five disabled parking bays at the front of hotel ,which,do not have to be paid for but, can`t be reserved, and are on a first come first served basis. There is parking at the side of the hotel which is free.

There are two observations I`d like to make.

1 .It is time Shearings upgraded their beds. If there is one reason that would possibly prevent us going back to a Shearings hotel, it`s the beds,they are very uncomfortable. A good nights sleep is part of a holiday is it not ! The best beds we`ve had at Shearings was when we once upgraded our room. At this hotel we couln`t afford to upgrade.

2. Both the lounge and the restaurant could do with some heating being turned on. At breakfast we were quite uncomfortable. As the weather at this time of year can be quite cold and on the seafront very windy as indeed it was. The lounge was very chilly and I refer to the evenings as I had to go upstairs and get my cardigan.
We know in the present economic climate times are difficult but, a bit of heating in the evening would be a great help.

This is our fourth visit to this hotel and we will be going back again. Despite what I`ve said reference the beds and the heating,we get good value for money. Our thanks to the managemant and staff who helped to make our visit a pleasant one as it always is.

My wife and myself are in no way associated with Shearings except as paying guests.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Bill Q,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, it was good to read your positive comments regarding the bedroom/Bathroom quality during your stay and also the comfortable lounges we have with the great views across the Bristol channel, it was also pleasing to read your great comments regarding our A la Carte options for dinner. hopefully we will see you again soon in Weston super Mare

regards

wayne & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Grand Atlantic hotel is a large Victorian hotel in a central sea-front position facing a large sandy beach. It has been modernised to provide comfort rather than luxury. It is clean and warm throughout, the food (breakfast and dinner) is well-cooked and plentiful. It does not have facilities for young families and is geared to an older clientele, most guests being on coach holidays (Shearings). We had Room 204 which is sea-facing: the best thing about the room was the power shower, which produced copious hot water at a constant temperature; the worst thing about the room was the television, which got all the Freeview channels but had atrocious sound quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi Tony H,

Thanks for posting a review following your recent stay and praising the comfortable decor, well presented food which is served well by our friendly staff. And I agree the views from the sea facing rooms are great and we look forward to seeing you again

regards

Wayne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thanks, knowing your residents makes all the difference. After booking in, every time we came back to the hotel our keys were given to us without even asking for them by our room numbers. We had four rooms in the group, only had need for the overnight bed so did not sample the breakfast. However, we ate in the bar on Friday night and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms were mainly doubles, although singles were booked, thanks. The rooms were clean and well presented with the best power showers in the world. Even had a bath in there. Well done the Grand, and the price was exceptional value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradders1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Bradders 1038

Thank you for your review following your stay with us, it was good to read that the reception staff were attentive with the keys etc and the standard of bar food we serve met with your approval, and the overall value for money we aim to offer is being appreciated

regards

Wayne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Despite some of the reviews I had read I had always wanted to stay at the Grand Atlantic since seeing it as a child.The opportunity arose when we wanted to stay in Weston SM for one night only--we needed to stay on a Sunday night and having seen some other very acceptable hotels and their rates they couldnt compete with the the late deal I got for room and breakfast--incredible value.

The first impression is that it does need some tlc but it was a very efficient check in and the bonus was we were given an upgrade to a sea facing room !--when we saw our room it was perfectly acceptable.The furniture is a bit dated but perfectly ok.I was a bit worried about how warm the room would be given it was a cold winter evening but a newish radiator made it very cosy.The bathroom was clean and had a very powerful shower.The bed was a bit 'creaky' but we didnt have a problem sleeping.

We ate breakfast in the magnificent dining room--a very grand room. A perfectly acceptable range of food was available including porridge.If you want a traditional cooked breakfast or variations of this it is cooked specifically as there is no hot buffet system.As a result it arrived very hot which was a bonus.

All the staff were very friendly and of course it also had the benefit of a large free car park

Room Tip: Any sea facing room is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi John L,

Really pleased you have finally stayed with us at the grand atlantic hotel and especially with such a great rate for a sea view room, the views are stunning. It was also great to read your positive comments regarding the room cleanliness, breakfast fayre and good service by out friendly and helpful staff.
Hopefully you will be back soon

Regards

Wayne & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
619 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston super Mare
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston super Mare
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston super Mare
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing