We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service, but lousy acoustics!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zeera

Zeera
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service, but lousy acoustics!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We always enjoy Cheddar Cottage (one of our favourites) and this restaurant is in the same group. We thought we'd try this for a change, as we were going out with friends who live near Weston-Super-Mare. We were not disappointed. The menu is the same as Cheddar, but with additional items which are really interesting and different. Excellent pickles with the poppadoms. The main course king prawns looked enormous and were apparently fantastic. One of our party had a rabbit dish - very unusual. My husband enjoyed a fish dish and I had a chicken dish. All were beautifully prepared and presented and were enjoyed by the whole party.

Russ and his staff looked after us really well and remembered us from Cheddar (yes, including our names!), which was lovely.

Our only criticism is the acoustics in the restaurant are absolutely terrible. We had trouble hearing each other and all woke up with hoarse throats the following morning! It seems to be quite a problem in 'modern' restaurants, as they don't have any soft furnishings to soak up the sound.

Enjoyable, but I wouldn't be in a hurry to go back on a Saturday night - too noisy! I would definitely choose a weekday night next time, to see if it's any different.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallybear61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    43
    9
    4
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab restaurant, fab food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Dined at this restaurant last night for the first time. Have eaten in many Indian restaurants in Weston and this is most definitely the best. The service was courteous, efficient without being rushed. The menu is extensive, offering all the standard curry choices together with a host of other unusual and most interesting dishes. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, the tables and chairs comfortable (which cannot always be said about other restaurants). Our meal was beautifully presented and tasted absolutely gorgeous. We chose Chicken Momo to start which was delicately spiced. The food was fresh, and the sauce on one of our dishes was not running in fat as they often are elsewhere. The only slight negative was that when the restaurant was full, the noise from other large parties carried around the room. I would however highly recommend this restaurant. We will be returning and I think I will try one of the fish dishes next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cranglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dined here on 18 October.

Having read the tripadvisor reviews our expectations were high and we were not disappointed!

There is such an extensive range of unique dishes that the choices are difficult. Particular highlights of the mealincluded Chittagong Chilli and Lamb Sikander, which were rich and intense in flavour.

The service was attentive without being overbearing.

This restaurant is a real hidden gem. We will return many times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DidsburyDave1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening at Zeera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited Zeera based on Tripadvisor reviews.

Stayed in Weston Super Mare as travelled there for holidays from Southampton as a kid to visit family. What a great restaurant, great food, good ambience and friendly staff, that actually take an interest in you enjoying the food ! One comment from the waiter/partner was that there are a lot of restaurants along the way to this one, forget them and go here. Thanks for a great meal. (By the way, I chose Tiger by the River, if you love king prawns, this is the one !)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Service amazing, food excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Good value for money and will definitely go when next in Weston Super Mare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Montylola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeera also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Zeera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing