We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, relaxed with fantastic choice and delicious food”
Review of Oxford Corner

Oxford Corner
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Post code: BS23 1AY
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Homely, relaxed with fantastic choice and delicious food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I echo everyone's reviews about it being old fashioned. It is.
The decor may not be to most people's taste, but then are we not told to "Never judge a book by its cover"?
Service is exceptional: polite, interested, happy to help at all times.
Food is fantastic (the roast was HUGE!) and really tasty. You can see into part of the kitchen/work area and it is spotless.
It was priced according to the average in the area, and definitely worth the money.
Children's portions are not skimpy either.
The only down side is just one toilet (per gender)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank not2_4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    17
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food !!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were staying in Weston super mare and came across this while walking around the town. The staff were very friendly. The food was excellent and the chips were so wonderful just like my mums. One word describes the food " Superb "

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil2924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chips like mom use to make”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Friendly , clean, cooked fresh chips , you have to wait that little bit longer but well worth it. Fantastic food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The BEST Fish 'n' Chips!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by Spencer Guest House, where we were staying for our short break in Weston.... and what a recommendation it was! My girlfriend and I both agreed that it was the best fish and chips we had ever tasted. The crisp, golden batter surrounding the freshly fried piece of haddock along with the delightfully tasty chips, and the overall substantial portion size made this the most delicious fish and chips by the sea. Perfect before crossing the road for a snooze on the beach in the warm summer sun.

It is a small, family run restaurant and the staff were all very friendly- Kerry and the team deliver a fantastic offering.

The restaurant may not look too much from the outside, but do not be put off by appearances. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old fashioned style cafe”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First visit by my wife & I, it's on the corner of Oxford Str & Beach Rd. A family ( Greek?) run business giving personal & friendly service. Modestly priced (£7/8 for mains & £4 for deserts), licenced but a small range. Food was very satisfactory & good size portions. NOTE : debit & credit cards are not accepted !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Portishead018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Corner also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Oxford Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing