We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people but a bit of a burger” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolpack Inn

Woolpack Inn
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice people but a bit of a burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Called in for lunch and found a pleasant place, friendly staff and good surroundings. A reasonable menu choice for a pub and when our meals arrived , they did so fairly quickly and were all well presented. I had chosen the burger with cheese and chips, a treat for me. The meal presented on a wooden chopping board looked great The chips presented in a wire basket were crispy and hot, plenty as a portion. The burger looked good in a bap with toasted cheese and onion rings . sadly the burger itself was a bit of a let down. I ha expected a home made burger , with rough cut meat but it seemed to be made come very fine ground beef, similar to that which you get in those burger and a gap packs from the supermarket. I had toyed with the idea of sea bass , wish I had stuck with that idea. All in all a nice place let down by a burger.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemary c, Manager at Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
hi thanks for the review, all our burgers are locally made by a prize winning butcher in Weston super mare, we do use 100% beef in our burgers and sell about 200 per week. Next time you visit try our special burger which is a chicken breast chargrilled and topped with bbq shredded pork and onion rings. that's a very popular one!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    50
    31
    32
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our lunchtime visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stopped on our way out of Weston for a lunchtime carvery and it was as good as it always is. The staff are always friendly and we make a point of trying to visit whenever we are in the area at lunchtime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swimmertwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemary c, Manager at Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
thanks for the great review, looking forward to seeing you the next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

So nice to go to a pub with such a good atmosphere and such nice staff, came down for a meal and drinks to follow and was a brilliant night. Will definately return and recommend to anyone

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joeyouhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemary c, Manager at Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
glad you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

On friends recommendations we visited the Woolpack last weekend when down visiting relatives. The meal and service was fab and more like a good restaurant rather than a pub. Portions were generous. Choice was good and some lovely specials. I had fish - not a bone in sight and delicious. The staff were helpful re the wine choice and it was all very reasonably priced. And the ladies loo is a delight (I have a thing about loos in pubs and restaurants). Will definitely be back when we are next down.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemary c, Manager at Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
thanks for the review, we try our best to offer good food at pub prices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

What has happened to the Woolpack? Go back a year and the food was amazing. Went back again with the family I was visiting this Christmas, was expecting a great meal and was horribly disappointed. It was like eating in a different restaurant. The service was good. And that was it.
The food was terrible. Honestly. Were there chefs in the kitchen? I only ask because the food that was placed in front of the group was vile. No taste, lukewarm, steak was overcooked, chicken was overcooked, fish in batter was soggy, I could go on...Took ages to come, why I am not sure. Perhaps there was a microwave backlog. Anyway, I would not recommend eating here now, something has obviously gone wrong as last year I was telling everyone what a fabulous meal we had. This year, all I can say now is avoid, avoid, avoid!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Miranda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemary c, Manager at Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
we are so sorry that you did not enjoy your meals, at least you thought that the service was good, perhaps if you had spoken to the staff on the day, we could have amended the mistakes, let us know when you are back this year and we will endeavour to make amends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolpack Inn also viewed

Congresbury, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing