We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality food”
Review of Woolpack Inn

Woolpack Inn
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Large character filled pub situated between the M5 and Weston-Super-Mare (come off at Junction 21), in the St Georges district of Worle. An extremely well known Inn, with an extensive menu, The Woolpack prides itself on its excellent service.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor quality food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Overpriced food. The staff are attentive and friendly but the food is very overpriced for what you get and the quality was naff. Watch out for the prices of the soft drinks too; fresh orange and soda just under £3!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    51
    31
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wouldn't bother again...”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have always gone for the carvery and this time was no exception, however each time we have been the food has got progressively poorer. This last time was the last time. I realise that prices go up and that cost cutting has to happen somewhere but I feel that to call it a carvery when almost nothing was carved was misleading! There was so little meat I might as well have gone for the vegetarian option and just eaten vegetables. However, it was well cooked and the deserts looked scrummy, however as one with a dairy intolerance I couldn't eat any of them. Oh well, there are planty of other places to eat in Weston!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kythe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carvery Special”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

WE generally go for the Carvery. Well priced and very good food. Always busy. We went to a private party late last year, which was excellent. The staff are always obliging

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good beer, dreadful food”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The selection of beer was really good so it was a good start. Nice sitting in the conservatory although there's no view. When the food arrived it looked OK. I ordered steak & kidney pie which was actually rather good as it was with suet pastry. However it was covered in gravy obviously made from gravy granules. I was pleased to be offered veg as well as chips but when they arrived it was peas & sweet corn & carrots. All obviously frozen veg - unforgiveable. Don't come for food!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tngm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Pub food.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Enjoyed a nice Sunday lunch. Didn`t go for carvery option, glad we didn`t as it was already packed at 12.30. That has got to be a good sign. Chose to eat in the conservatory, a nice light area. The staff friendly and service good. Two slight negatives, tried to book a table and was told they don`t accept bookings on a Sunday, only to find a table with reserved in the conservatory so assume the person I spoke though I was asking about the carvey. As it happens it was a problem. Other negative, think chef could do with reducing salt in his gravy, it was tasty and we got used to the taste, but for some one needing to watch their salt in take it would have been salt overload. As I say, only slight negatives but would have no hesitation in reccommending the Woolpack as a good place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ifwoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolpack Inn also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing