We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great position”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabot Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabot Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Being a Lloyds No. 1 bar you will be expected to accept a certain amount of noise during your stay, especially if you take advantage of any rooms with sea views, directly above the bar. But, as with all Wetherspoons' hotels, the staff are always polite and efficient; the rooms were very clean and spacious; the views were fantastic; and the position of the hotel couldn't be much better.

We had a couple of minor moans: the rooms do not have any cupboard space at all, just one open wardrobe and a small bedside table (not a major gripe though for a 2 day stay); the windows really weren't sealed well at all and both wind and smoke from smokers below was evident.

But, don't be put off our overall view was good and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    239
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
158
426
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Reviewed as a restaurant / bar (have not stayed here). Unlike many JDW pubs the Cabot Court is a very light & bright place with the main bar area on the ground floor and spacious seating areas with high ceilings on the first floor. Lots of big windows with views across the pub garden and along the seafront from the first floor. There are upstairs outside seating areas on the East & West sides of the hotel to take advantage of the sun (really nice for a drink here) and a very large garden with loads of tables. When we visited early on a Wednesday evening we were quickly served and our food arrived in good time. The food itself was, as always with JDW, very good value but somewhat over-cooked and it 'appeared' that all the constituents of the 'sharing platter' had been deep fried together and were rather too crispy for our liking.
Nice location & OK for a quick, cheap meal. Lovely setting for a drink on the balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, S.wales
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location at the nicer end of Weston. Plenty of nearby bars & restaurants. Although its own is great too.Grand dining areas fantastic sea views and open sun terraces too.
Rooms are lavishly decorated with all the facilities and ours had a full size bath and nice view along the prom to pier.
There's a late night club in the basement but we on the second floor barely heard it. Perhaps in high season when busier and with the windows open one might.
We were told it closes at 2am.
The best Wetherlodge yet!
we'll be back !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went for a meal during our stay at Weston which was great we both had the mixed grill which was very good for the money. The layout of the pub was great 3 floors so seating areas for all walks of life. We visited on a Friday evening so was very busy. They had a D J on the 2nd floor and a balcony to get some fresh air. I have been to alot of Weatherspoon's and rate this one the best yet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently and could not have been happier. We booked it last minute and were given a discount on our room rate by the very friendly receptionist on the phone. When we arrived a couple of hours later we were warmly welcomed and given a voucher towards our breakfast the next day.
We have stayed in Wetherspoons lodges before and always been happy but this was by far the best so far. It is located right on the seafront and has spectacular views from the bar and we had a sea view from our room.
Due to their position they do not have parking but we found free on road parking 6 minutes walk away so it wasn't a problem.
The room was tastefully decorated and had a large flat screen TV. The bathroom had a bath and excellent over head shower. Everything was clean and we felt very comfortable.
The connected wetherspoons bar was large and set over many levels but was run like a military operation! Friendly staff, very well organised, tables cleaned in a timely fashion and delicious food...what more could you want?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington spa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went july 18th for a meal, downside bit tight to get a small mobility scooter into, very noisey & very busy but that is not a problem
four of use found a table near rear of bar with room for me to sit on scooter at the table, a waitress gave us a menu each they were not on the table as in other spoons, we ordered at the bar our meal came for 4 within 10 mins pipeing hot, we all had steaks which were suculent & the chips were great, these were followed by waffles & ice cream again very tasty the overall bill including drinks£60 a fair price we thought staff were brilliant will visit again

Room Tip: we did not stay the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived at the Cabot Court late afternoon, after a long drive, first off parking is a big problem in Weston Super Mare, and the hotel is located on a busy corner without a drop off bay, so you have to risk were you park until you are booked in, when booking in the staff gave me directions to a car park(4 minutes walk) that costs £5 for 24 hours, the cheapest parking option by far. The room was the only one available which was the superior room, not over priced but also not that superior but spacious enough, the main problem being it was south west facing(lovely sea and pier views, but the large windows were the tilt opening type that only open a couple of inches, the day had been warm and sunny and the room was like an oven, we were supplied with a small electric fan(that only circulated the very warm air). As always found with Wetherspoons the staff were very pleasant, the room was very clean. We stayed midweek and the noise from the bar(one of the entrances is directly below the room we stayed in) at the weekend I was told the bar is open until 2am. One final point my wife chose a cappuccino and I chose a Mocha with our breakfast, we really could not tell which was which they tasted the same(dishwater) I asked and received replacements I am afraid to say they were not much better, so come on Wetherspoons get your act together.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Dave3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Court Hotel

Property: Cabot Court Hotel
Address: Knightstone Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabot Court Hotel is a newly refurbished GRADE 2 LISTED building. All of our 21 rooms are en-suite and offer tea & coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, and a telephone to receive incoming calls. All of our rooms also house state-of-the-art LCD televisions with most of the rooms enjoying fantastic sea views. We have a great sun deck where you can take in the views of Weston's award-winning beaches and a great views of Steepholm and Cardiff. This is the perfect location for a Great British getaway; enjoy long walks on the beach and everything that Weston-super-Mare has to offer including the world-famous Grand Pier. The hotel is situated behind and above our Wetherspoon & Lloyds No.1 Bar, which has music playing Friday and Saturday nights till 2am; Entry is free. Please note some residents may experience some noise from the Lloyds No.1 Bar. We are all here to help you in any way we can to make your stay better; if you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask any member of our team. Look forward to seeing you here. Unfortunatly we do not have any parking on site. There are 4 car parks in the area that start from £5.50 For 24 hours. There is a pull in point for the hotel entrance where you can drop off your luggage and we will happily give you directions to the best car park for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cabot Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing