We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many left”
Review of Grand Pier

Grand Pier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Following the disastrous fire in July 2008 that destroyed the Pavilion at Weston-super-Mare’s top attraction, The new multi-million pound Pavilion, opened its doors in October 2010. The all-weather venue has fantastic views of the shoreline, beach and sea and inside you will discover some of the best coastal entertainment, rides & attractions the South West has to offer.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
South Wales
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not many left”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Worth a visit if just to see for yourself. Pretty much the same as any other pier

Helpful?
Thank Jim10SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donkey20, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor with your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Grand Pier. We are still offering half price rides and two meals for £10 in our Boardwalk Cafe. We are welcoming the Drifters to the Grand Pier on the 24th February in the Great Hall and Jim Davidson our first comedy act on Friday 30th March 2012.

We look forward to welcoming to to the Grand Pier in the near future. In the meantime we thank you again for your valued feedback.

Yours sincerely

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    806
    558
    236
    230
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tacky Nightmare”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Dont go unless you are a teenager that likes arcade games!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donkey20, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Grand Pier.

We are sorry that you felt the Pier was only for teenagers. We have a beautiful tranquil restaurant called Tiffanys at the end of the Pier which has views over the Estuary on three sides and a wonderful cake selection. We are also holding a series of concerts on the Pier the next one being on the 24th February 2012 with the Drifters.

We therefore hope that you will revisit us and visit Tiffanys and enjoy the wonderful surroundings. In the meantime we thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor with your valued feedback.

Yours sincerely


Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tired looking”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Although the pier is tired looking it is still a nice place to sit and have an ice cream or just to have a stroll

Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donkey20, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write in with your feedback.

We are sorry that you felt that the Grand Pier was tired looking. It is the most modern Pier in the UK and has had a £52 million investment made. Weston Super Mare has also had a £31m sea front enhancement scheme and is one of the most modern seafronts that we have in England.

We have 14 state of the art atttractions and over 500 family amusement machines as well as catering and drinks outlets. We also hold large events the next one being the 24th February 2012 with the Drifters performing in our Great Hall.

In the meantime we continue to offer half price rides and two meals for £10 and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Pier in the near future.

In the meantime we thank you for your valued feedback.

Yours sincerely

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Impressive looking. Nice for walking.”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A very impressive structure. Very commercialised, they want your dosh. A nice place to take a stroll on a warm sunny day. There's guys at the entrance that will stop you taking food on there with you, thats really strange.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SeosamhOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donkey20, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Grand Pier.

We have a policy of not allowing food and drink onto the Pier as there are not enough seats for our own partrons who purchase food and drink on site. We are a finite footprint and so can only supply a limited number of seats for our visitors. Those who purchase on site expect to be seated to eat their food and therefore our limited seats are reserved for those people purchasing our products.

We do hope that this will not deter you from re-visiting the Pier. We are still a free admission attraction and we are still offering half pric rides throughout February.

Yours sincerely

Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Like a tardis!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Cant believe how much there was in there!
Definatly bigger on the inside than it looks!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donkey20, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Pier, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Grand Pier. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit.

We are continuing with our half price rides and two meals for £10 throughout February so we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Pier in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write in with your review.

Yours sincerely


Susan Baxter
Customer Feedback Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Pier also viewed

Hewish, Weston super Mare
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Grand Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing