We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak and Glass Restaurant - CLOSED

Oak and Glass Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Owned and run by our head Chef Amy Hunt the Oak and Glass restaurant is set in the stunning oak panelled room with its 2 open fires and the spacious surroundings of the newly rebuilt conservatory. Amy has worked with some of the countries finest chefs, from Raymond Blanc at Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons to John Campbell at The Vineyard to name only a few, her menu's are modern British, and make the most of fresh local ingredients all year round. Amy and her team not only create fine food but also create a complete and personal experience. Your time with us should be relaxed and memorable from the moment you arrive, with every detail tailored to your needs.
Level Contributor
266 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Light pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A colleague wanted to buy me lunch which was nice. Chose Oak and Glass because it was convenient. Have eaten there on a number of occasions always liked the food but found the service a little haphazard. We both had a salad starter in my case salmon and a salad main course, palma ham and melon. Boring I know but light refreshing well dressed and perfect for a warmish summers day.
We sat in the garden and the young man who waited on us was attentive and efficient and looked after us well. My friend was so impressed he intends bringing his wife down at the weekend for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dr John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    28
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food day and night, let down by poor service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have eaten here a number of times now and can't fault the food, it really is great food, lunch time and evening, but this has been let down on our last 3 visits by the poor service, the service is not up to the standard of the food. It's slow, un organised and very un attentive. I hope this can improve.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Upmarket in Weston Super Mare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This restaurant is a treat to find in the town of Weston, not exactly known for its quality. I often visit a friend who lives nearby and have previously it hard to find somewhere special to eat in the evening. This restaurant certainly solves this problem, interesting menu, well presented, lovely fresh food, all in a delightful setting, we were particularly lucky as it was a pleasant balmy evening and dining in the conservatory with the doors and windows open was a delight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ageena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The ambiance was relaxed, the decor is modern and the conservatory is bright and airy. We enjoyed our meal which was beautifully presented and the service was pleasant and friendly. Some of the ingredients were wonderful (we have never eaten tomberries before and will seek them out from now on), some combinations of ingredients were original. We had a good wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MivUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth Searching Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to the oak and glass for lunch to celebrate a family birthday.

The staff have the right balance of attention towards clients appearing well trained in customer service.

We sat in the conservatory area which some might consider to be a little souless but for a lunch it was fine.

Our table having some more fussy eaters consisted of a bit of a mish-mash from all their menu's None of which phased them one bit.

The food and drinks were served well and tasted very nice indeed.Price wise as well, it seems very reasonable given the quality of the food.

The advantage of where we sat was being able to witness the stunning afternoon teas being readied for diners, and I have to say I was a little envious as they look great. Well we will certainly be giving them a try next time we are in the area.

The only issue you might have here is the car parking with there being very little on site and the surrounding areas think with the dreaded double yellow lines.

On the whole the Oak & Glass is well worth searching out in its position at the far end of the beach lawns in Weston.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy-Buddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak and Glass Restaurant also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Milton, Weston super Mare
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing