We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice afternoon tea.”
Review of Oak and Glass Restaurant - CLOSED

Oak and Glass Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $54
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Owned and run by our head Chef Amy Hunt the Oak and Glass restaurant is set in the stunning oak panelled room with its 2 open fires and the spacious surroundings of the newly rebuilt conservatory. Amy has worked with some of the countries finest chefs, from Raymond Blanc at Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons to John Campbell at The Vineyard to name only a few, her menu's are modern British, and make the most of fresh local ingredients all year round. Amy and her team not only create fine food but also create a complete and personal experience. Your time with us should be relaxed and memorable from the moment you arrive, with every detail tailored to your needs.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked afternoon tea for mother in laws 50th birthday. Lovely buffet followed by scones, brownies and Eton mess. Service was good and we had the freedom of the house. Thank you very much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hoops84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Oak and Glass Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have been to the oak and glass for afternoon tea today and like every other time I have eaten there it was truly stunning.

I have eaten in lots of places round the world but nowhere even comes close as far as I am concerned. The attention to detail, exceptional food and outstanding service really set the oak and glass apart from the rest. The little extras are thoughtful and make for a dinning experience rather than just eating.

If you get the opportunity you must try their lemon and poppyseed jar cake, it'll blow you away!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vicki_louise78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked dinner, bed and breakfast to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. I asked for flowers in the room (£25 extra) and found a gorgeous arrangement of white roses and blue delphiniums. We had been upgraded to the Putting room as we had agreed to come a day earlier than we asked for due to a wedding on the actual day having booked the whole restaurant.
The room was spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and furnished and comfortable. The three course dinner was superb. Choice was small but there were fish, meat and vegetarian options for the first two courses. Desserts were sublime. House champagne and wines were reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly.
Breakfast the following morning was superb with perfect fresh fruit or cereal to start and full English (or full vegetarian English - something I haven't seen before) with tea or coffee ad lib and toast with superb home-made marmalade or strawberrry jam.
The whole package made for a memorable anniversary

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lvdah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked lunch on Friday and had a most amazing set meal. Exceptional value - fresh ingredients - beautifully presented. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area. You will not be disappointed.

Thank Exchangers1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good food but low on atmosphere. it doesn't seem to attract many people, but it was a lunch time visit

2  Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHunt, Owner at Oak and Glass Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Pete K,

Glad to hear you enjoyed the food, but it's a shame you haven't visited a few times to see the full picture on how busy we really are.

Your right, lunchtimes can be a bit quiet sometimes, but they do vary day to day, and no more then any other small restaurant/cafe that's not in the centre of town.

However, our evenings are really very busy currently, and we'd always suggest booked ahead for Friday and Saturday evenings and Sunday lunches as those are often full a week or more in advance.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Amy and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak and Glass Restaurant also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing