We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, lovely B&B,Weston not as appealing”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston super Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtland Guest House
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, lovely B&B,Weston not as appealing”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Courtland, arrived mid afternoon after a not too lengthy trip.
Gill and Mick were extremely helpful, gave very useful information about local amenities and restaurants.
Directions for quickest route to town.
A little too far if you had mobility problems or just did not want to walk back and forth to the house before eating.
Local Indian superb service and food.
Three nights food and drink all 3 restaurants acceptable.
Accomodation light and bright, clean and tidy. Lots of cupboards and drawers for luggage, although maybe a few more hangers could be useful.
Tea and coffee nice addition. As with most B&Bs and indeed hotels not always enough supplied but with a Tesco,Coop nearby a pint of milk was readily available.
Breakfast was freshly made, hot and delicious, cereals available and a never ending supply of orange juice.
Weston is a great beach place, The Pier was horrible, claustrophobic and just did not get it. Not much else to do. Luckily we had the best 2 days weather of the year so far.
All in all we would recommend The Courtland, but check out google live have a walk along the street it isn't the best area but The Courtland is better than that.

Room Tip: The room we had was a prettily decorated lilac one, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwonwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian41WsM, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Sorry, Iwonwinnie, I have just realised that the reply I posted months ago is still floating in cyberspace! (No doubt I pressed the wrong button!)
We like to reply to all reviews, positive and negative, and take on board any constructive criticism.
As soon as we saw your comments we rectified the coathanger situation, and with regards to tea, coffee etc we are always happy to supply more on request, as our room information folder now says!.
I'm pleased that our local Indian Restaurant was up to standard - we always pass feedback on to them.
Your location comments are fully justified - we are a 12 to 15 minute walk into town - however there is a bus which passes our door every 10 minutes, and a taxi from town costs about £4.
We are sorry that the New Grand Pier didn't come up to your expectations - but really happy that our Breakfast did, and we always have a never-ending supply of Orange Juice!!
Hope to see you again if we have some more good 'Beach Weather'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Will try to write a fair and what I feel to be, a true description of our stay at Courtland Guest House.
Owners very friendly and helpful.
The room we had was dingy, dusty and drab, there was grease stains on the padded cloth headboard, plus lots of dust and hair, although this was cleaned after we had moved the pillows away to show the dust and hair, the grease stains still remained.
Stained carpet.
Shower cubicle tray/floor was clean, unfortunately the glass cubicle walls were extremely dirty with stains and grease very apparent, particularly at the bottom half of the glass walls.
The house smelt musty, except at breakfast time when the house just smelled of frying.
Decor is very dated. No communal areas to sit in and socialize so we felt isolated. being confined to our room when we were there.
The area the house is situated in, appears quite run down and although the beach is accessible at the top of the road, it is on the outskirts of town, to get into town without a car means a long walk to and from the guesthouse or a bus journey not ideal if someone has mobility problems.
Dining room was bright and cheerful and clean, the nicest room in the house.
Tea and coffee is available in all the rooms which is a nice touch.
Unfortunately I would not stay here again, in fact we cut our stay there short as the weather changed and we could not face staying there in the grime and dust.
At £330 for a weeks stay.......unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecats026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian W, Owner at Courtland Guest House, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Over the past 13 years we have worked hard to build up a large, regular, client base, with some guests returning several times a year.
We take any comments extremely seriously and always do our utmost to rectify a problem that has been brought to our attention.
If we had been aware of your total dissatisfaction at any time during the 5 days of your stay with us there are several things we could - and would - have done.
At the very least we would have offered you an alternative room
If you had told us you preferred to leave we would not only have given you a refund, but could also have offered some suggestions with regard to alternative accommodation for the rest of your stay, which met with your criteria ie. In the centre of Town and with a Residents Lounge.
Since the reason you gave for cutting your stay short was the change in the weather we felt no obligation to offer any recompense.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and wish that you had given us a chance to address the situation at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights at a cost of £26.00 each per night. The owners were very welcoming and it is in a lovely spot, just a short walk from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston super Mare
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston super Mare
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#9 of 63 in Weston super Mare
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oakover Guest House
Oakover Guest House
#4 of 63 in Weston super Mare
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parasol Guest House
Parasol Guest House
#43 of 63 in Weston super Mare
166 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Engine Shed
The Engine Shed
#1 of 1 in St Georges
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtland Guest House

Property: Courtland Guest House
Address: 41 Severn Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing