We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“too many steps,no disabled access to hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The York Hotel
Thorngumbald.Hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“too many steps,no disabled access to hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

luckily members of my coach trip to hotel,helped me with the steps ,also staff were more than obliging.Had I been left to my own devices i could not have managed to climb the stairs and carry my walking frame.There was 1 small lift to floors,but nearly all guests on our trip had some mobility problems.One old lady,who was in a wheelchair,was forced to walk up stairs and consequently fell over a doorstep in the doorway,she broke her shoulder.Despite all of this I thoroughly enjoyed my stay,food was average,rooms could have done witth some attention,but for what I paid I cannot grumble.The friendliness of staff and eagerness to help made up for all of bad points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakieD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    119
    57
    32
    41
See reviews for
63
128
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends (all female) stayed here for two nights after initially only booking for one night - managed to book an extra night at short notice although we had to stay in a family room for one night and then the sea view room which we had originally booked. From the minute we checked in the staff were very friendly and helpful. On our first night, the family room was in the basement, but surprisingly had a lot of window light. Ample space, 1 double and 3 single beds with a large bathroom. It wasn't particularly fancy but comfortable and clean. On our 2nd day we moved to room 103 with a sea view.... absolutely lovely! Fabulous views, very comfortable, spacious boutique-style room with a double and a single bed (all the beds were very comfy too!) and a nice bathroom. The transition between rooms was simple. The restaurant and bar by night is very chic and cosy, price of drinks here were the same as everywhere else in Weston. Breakfast was really nice. The beer garden at front of hotel was great to watch the world go by. Food in day wasn't as nice as breakfast though. Hotel is ideally situated and only two minute stroll to the pubs/clubs and pier - I would definitely stay here again without a doubt :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was sent to the York when Premier Inn let me down despite a confirmed booking for two nights.
The York is obviously a lower standard than Premier Inn, reflected in the price, and I would not ordinarily have booked there myself. However, they did step in to the breach and helped me out in a time of need when I am sure great demands were placed on them.
The room was dated but comfortable. The smoke alarm cover was open with no battery. The staff were friendly and accommodating, despite putting me in the wrong room on arrival I only experienced breakfast but this was plentiful.
The public areas were perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Room 304 has a good view over the Winter Gardens and the old town - as well as the sea front towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desres83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you want a good night sleep & nice food then DON'T book at the York hotel!
Room was out-dated, scruffy & discusting (toothpaste splats on wall, mould etc). Loose toilet, mouldy grout, ripped quilt cover... Yes quilt in summer, no sheets!
Food- overpriced slop, had to gulp a drink with each mouthful, grease all over the plate.
Sleep??? Erm no! Fans humming ALL night like a jet plane and too hot to have windows closed! My daughter was crying at 5:30am cos she STILL couldnt sleep.
We got up and left but no one was around to complain to so ditched the keys in reception and went hunting for breakfast. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luize1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We take your complaints very seriously.
Did you come to reception to report the state of the room.?
We have fans in the office to help with the heat did you ask a member of staff if we had any fans.?
The night-porter was on duty & his number is in every room.
Did you complain about your meal to a member of staff.
If you have spoken to myself or a member of staff about any of the issues raised in your review we would of been able to rectify them.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I must admit reading some of the reviews after i had booked 3 nights left me a little worried,but once my wife and i got to the hotel my fears soon dissolved as we were greeted by friendly staff..We arrived between 4pm and 5 settled into the room which was decorated to a good standard and was clean and tidy.. granted the view from the room wasn't great but that really did not bother us.. we went to the bar to get a couple drinks and were served by the manager who was both friendly and welcoming then went out to the outdoor seating area which is perfectly positioned to enjoy an ice cold cider while looking out over the water and at the pier.. We went down to the restaurant and had a meal which was served quickly and was delicious, also had a carvery on Sunday which was awesome so no problems with the food whatsoever! All in all we had a great stay in the york hotel and plan on going back there again..Keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank into-ink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked one night away and was impressed at the friendliness of the staff. We had room 308 which unfortunately has a hot water pipe running through it. In the heat wave conditions it was very hot! The staff were apologetic and provided a fan. This was all they could do, but at least it was something. Overall a good stay in a great location, with fabulous weather'n

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gazz1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hot water pipes are a problem in hot weather but we don't usually have such hot weather, we have quite a few fans now to help with this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

booked a overnight stay . when we checked in we was given keys to room 12 . very disappointed with the room . very dated had a mouldy smell . we was right next to the kitchens in the basement and next to the stairs that they had to keep running up , taking food . the best feature was the view a brick wall !!! it was just like being in a cell . there was a wardrobe sought of thing on the wall with no door on . the carpets was dirty . we stayed out all day and only went back when we needed to sleep . wouldn't want to spend no time in there , was gone and checked out by 8oclock the next morning . not worth the money .

Room Tip: don't have room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Room 12 was the one you had booked & is stated on booking confirmation that it is lower ground & this is why it costs less than the upstairs rooms.
Did you ask a member of staff if you could be upgraded if rooms are available this is not a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#1 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#20 of 63 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Hotel

Property: The York Hotel
Address: 1-3 St. Margarets Terrace, Weston super Mare BS23 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay. Featuring a range of newly refurbished, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, chic wine bar, contemporary lounge and stylish restaurant, an unbeatable seafront location in the heart of Weston super Mare makes The York Hotel the place to stay, dine and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing