We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay nice staff”
Review of The York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The York Hotel
Reviewed November 18, 2012

lovely hotel we arrived and our room was ready , check in was nice and quick. room was clean and warm we couldn't of asked for anymore. staff was very friendly and chatty to my children, we went on the weekend of weston carnival so was very busy but this was not a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very disappointed.

Room - dark, felt damp, terrible mattress (sink into middle, needs changed), mould on curtains, power supply under shelf was hazardous (pulled off wall), shower didn't work (hot but no pressure and you needed to hold it in place). Door lock sub-standard and needs replaced. Nowhere in bathroom for toiletries apart from down low beside the toilet (not very hygienic).
Room not worth the money.
Service - had to wait 70 minutes for dinner. Breakfast did not arrive both mornings, like many other guests. Asked for coffee both days, it arrived with no cup and no milk (both mornings). Why not have a hot buffet, as this would work better and more efficiently. Staff were very pleasant, but there is something wrong with the system.

Room Tip: Don't go in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we stayed for 2 nights,we had great time the managment and staff were friendly and helpful the food excellent,we decided to stay longer and could not be looked after more, because of bookings we had to change rooms but this was all done by the girls who cleaned the rooms so we could just go out and carry on with our holiday.well done the york your staff are a credit to you,we will be staying again and would recomend this hotel to all. if your dissabled there are steps up to the entrance but once ihside thiers plenty of room for wheelchair movement.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hapiness2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for one night on a golf tour of the area a party of eleven . On arrival staff very friendly and rooms were all quickly allocated and well presented . Hotel was very clean and and staff very friendly and helpfull . We had evening meals and breakfast all food was excellent. We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for one night at The York Hotel. On arrival we was welcomed promptly. We realised that there was no hotel car park after checking out there website. We was directed to The Royal Hotel to park the car. Which was a short walk from the hotel. We paid £8.95 for the parking which allowed us 24hrs. The member of staff kindly gave us an extra 2 hrs on our permit :)
We couldn't check into our room until 3pm. When we arrived back at the hotel to check in we was welcomed by a well mannered gentleman who we think was called Steve he explained that we could book in for breakfast the next morning at a cost of £6.95 but he didn't force it on us. In the end we decided not to bother with breakfast but that was purely because we wanted to lay-in. We said to the member of staff that we had seen that you could get a 3 course meal for £12.50 on their website. This was no trouble for him as he said he would speak to the chef and see what they can come up with. He came back to us with a list of options. We wasn't to keen on the starter options and he asked what we had in mind after expressing what we would like he went and asked the chef and this was no trouble. The meal was really nice and the service we got from Steve was second to none. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend to anyone after a one night stay or a place to stay as a base. Staff were really friendly!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajayne82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Read some of the negative views and have to disagree.
20 Lads stayed here for a 2 night golf holiday and it was perfectly OK for us.
The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable with comfy pillows, the staff are really friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Most of us also had our evening meals here too and that also was excellent. So no complaints and we will go back again. The night life is crazy. A great place to go for a fum weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beware - breakfast not included - add over £6 per day
Beware - no car parking facilities - add over £8 per day to use the car park of a nearby hotel.
Beware the breakfast fried eggs - kept on heat for ages so yolks like golf balls.

Shower had to be fixed first day, television didnt work second day and I found out there was no car park at midnight and I had to walk about a quarter of a mile back to the hotel at 12:30 in the morning. Its a good job I was very tired as there was a loud whirring outside the window all night which I would normally not have been able to sleep through.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sergeinorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us. The shower was fixed as sonn as you informed us there was a problem with it, the same with the TV , These are things that happen & are fixed as soon as reported. The eggs could of been changed if you had let a member of staff know. The rooms have been lowered in price to room only rate then the choice is yours if you would like breakfast or not. The car park is a extra service for guests at a cost of £8.50 for 24 hours as there is no parking at hotel, the hotel makes no money from the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
452 reviews
0 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston super Mare
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston super Mare
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welbeck Hotel
Welbeck Hotel
#33 of 63 in Weston super Mare
56 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Hotel

Address: 1-3 St. Margarets Terrace, Weston super Mare BS23 1AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range: $65 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay. Featuring a range of newly refurbished, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, chic wine bar, contemporary lounge and stylish restaurant, an unbeatable seafront location in the heart of Weston super Mare makes The York Hotel the place to stay, dine and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing