We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, good room”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holly Lodge Guest House
Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice people, good room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Holly Lodge is on a main road but we were in a back room so no noise. Only a 10 minute easy walk from the front and the town centre. Room was very clean, a bit cramped but nothing to worry about. Hosts are flexible about breakfast times and the food is good. Parking on private land in front of the house.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Back rooms are away from the road, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_and_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two days as a short break.

It's a lovely home away from home, nothing fancy but just right. We had an en suite room which was simple but exactly what we wanted with lovely en suite, tv & tea & coffee facilities. Bed was ever so squeaky but no major concern.

Breakfast was lovely choice with nice full English.

Best thing....hospitality! The gent who welcomed us and looked after our stay couldn't of done much more & check that we were always ok, fair play to him he made the stay well worth while.

5 minute walk to the sea front and great on site parking.

I'll happily go back!

P.S. Thank you for returning my phone charger that I'd forgotten much appreciated!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricksta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just arrived home after a 2 night stay, booked on day of arrival, very helpful, very welcoming, cheap accommodation, very clean and tidy, had the smaller of the two double en suite rooms but was very comfortable, as well as the window at the back there is also a skylight window which is very refreshing when hot. Breakfast was lovely. Very nice guy and I would highly recommend this guest house. Will definitely stay again. Well done and thank you for getting us in at such short notice, especially this time of year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoles65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

not keen on having the owner answer the door with bare top half, even if it was hot! friendly people though.
cheap accommodation only 10 mins walk from the town.
tiny single room and sink with adjacent shower and toilet, luckily no-one in the room opposite so o.k. oddly a tiny bit of used soap in each sink, not a good way to keep costs down i think.
tip - don't stand on the little rickety wooden folding chair to hang onto the very rickety little wooden wardrobe to reach the tv plug to switch on, as its a foot above the top of the wardrobe...and you may kill yourself. i risked it as it was 9 at night and i didnt want to disturb anyone. if you stay in that room, i suggest asking the owner to switch on before he leaves you...
breakfast could do with a little more care when serving up.
very noisy road with the window open, i was ok, you may not like that.

Room Tip: dont choose one facing front, and take single occupancy of a double room if you can, even though bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Location is just right, 5 mins walk from the town centre and sea front. Room was quite small but perfect for a short stay,with everything needed, spotlessly clean and the beautiful fresh smell as you open your door is perfect ( and I'm fussy).
breakfast was delicious with friendly service.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Blakeney Guest House
Blakeney Guest House
#37 of 63 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orchard
The Orchard
#39 of 63 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spreyton Guest House
Spreyton Guest House
#22 of 63 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Florence Guest House
Florence Guest House
#8 of 63 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarnia Guest House
Sarnia Guest House
#11 of 63 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#7 of 63 in Weston super Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge Guest House

Property: Holly Lodge Guest House
Address: 54 Locking Road, Weston super Mare BS23 3DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holly Lodge Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holly Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing