We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”
Review of Sarnia Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarnia Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have just come back from a short break at Sarnia Guest House, booked very much at the last minute. On arrival we were greeted by the Owner Nicky who offered us a choice of an bedroom upgrade this was on the second floor, access up to room good stairs with two hands rails for extra support. Nicky offered a tray of tea to help us to settle in after our journey which was very welcoming.
All aspects of customer service was excellent and could not do enough to settle us in for the weekend.
The room was very large and it was immaculate, access to seafront about a 5 mins walk and there was lots of local information available to us on the hall table to view.
Breakfast was excellent with alot of choices and plenty to eat the service was not hurried at all. Other family members were at hand to help out (son) James was very helpful when serving us offering extra toast and tea / coffee.
We will be returning again for another short break, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 1 located on second floor at the building you can see the sea and it overlooks the car park it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    36
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
23
129
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the one night and we're given the choice of an upgrade immediately. The staff were excellent offering advice about weston and couldn't do enough for you. The room was very spacious and immaculate. The town was a 5 minute walk from the sarnia so park your car and walk to the restaurants and bars. Breakfast was amazing hot fresh and plenty. Would highly recommend and will stay again. Nick and Alan Smith.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pogandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the Sarnia Guest house for one night with a group of friends. We booked the rooms quite last minute so were very pleased when we were able to find somewhere. On arrival we were all very pleased with the initial look of the guest house. We recieved a warm welcome, though the owners did repeatedly inform us they had young families in and remind us to be quiet at all times which we all found quite condescending but said nothing and went along with things. The rooms were really nice, very clean and with modern decor. The only negative to mention was that they were a little cold. We were staying in the "premium" room and soon found an oil filled radiator in the room which we put on and the room soon warmed up. On leaving our room to go out for the evening we left one of the bedside lamps on and left the radiator on low, in view of the room being so cold and not wanting to come back to the room in complete darkness after our night out. We returned back to the guest house at around 1.30am and unfortunately one of our party had taken a nasty fall outside the guest house, although we had all been drinking that night we most certainly were not "falling down drunk or enebriated"- the fall was a result of a pothole in the pavement outside. My friend had sustained a nasty laceration to her knee which needed attention. Unfortunately the owners of this guest house were more concerned with their carpet and noise disturbance other than the safety of a young girl who was bleeding quite heavily from her injury. No offer of assistance or first aid was offered at all !! When getting to our rooms we found them in complete darkness-all the lights had been turned off, and once again the room very cold. On entering the room my friend then tripped over the power lead from the oil filled radiator which had mysteriously unplugged itself! The owner of the guest house then burst into the room with not so much as a knock before entering and was very rude and dismissive of our concerns for our friend. The next day the female owner came to the room to express her disappointment in our group. She openly said that she had no concern for my injured friend and was very concerned with the "blood on the carpet" and was "worried it was all over bedding" i had inspected the hall and stair carpet the night before and there was no evidence of blood anywhere as we had done our best to stem the blood flow whilst getting to our rooms. My friend had then spent the rest of the night with tissue on her leg and kept her leg outside the covers whilst sleeping. I asked the owner about anybody being in our rooms to which she first denied this and stated that there were "no other keys"........she later retracted this statement and said that her husband had been in the room to "turn out all the light". I have stayed and worked in several hotels and guest houses and have never heard of this before. We all had personal belongings in the rooms and feel it is very inaproppriate for them to be in your rooms without reasonable cause or concern for their property- none of which they had on entering our rooms!! I never normally write reviews at all but feel i need to bring this to others attention when thinking of booking to stay here. We were all treated like children in a convent and shown complete disregard for our safety. The guest house itself is in a lovely location with very nice rooms-the only downside are the owners!! The other reviews all talk of the breakfast being nice but unfortunately we did not get to sample this so cannot comment......the Weatherspoons breakfast in town centre was lovely however!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisah1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was very dissapointed with thelma and her husband. Before we even spoke to them they told us to be quiet. They entered our rooms while we were out and turned our lights off and hid a bottle of wine. I cut my leg on the massive pot hole outside the premisis and wasnt even offered first aid. in the morning thelma came to our room to say how dissapointed she was in us and blamed us for the lights being off and the missing wine bottle then said there was blood all over the carpet which wasnt the case. We basically got told to leave before having breakfast we should rembersed as we ended up having room only. the rooms were lovely a little crapmed but nice the only thing good about our stay was the great taxi service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leahk_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We went to the sarnia with our dad. The lady was very nice when we arrived but said they like to see children but no running and no screaming. We stopped in number one room. It had three beds. It was pretty big. There was no bath but we like having a shower. The view was amazing we could see the pier. The beds were very comfy. It was very quiet when we went to sleep after saturday night take away it was like we were the only people there. In the morning it was amazing. We had some really nice breakfast. We had beans, bacon, sausage and eggs. The people were really nice and asked if we had a nice time. We would stay there again because it was really really nice. Daddy liked it a lot too. (Direct transcript of the views of two very happy little boys)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarniah, Owner at Sarnia Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Fred and Charlie,
Thank you for such a lovely review of your stay at the Sarnia Guest House. You had a lovely view of the pier from your room and i am glad that you both enjoyed your stay. Your are very welcome and so polite and well behaved.
Best Wishes
Nicky x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Sarnia Guest House on a cold February weekend and received a very warm welcome! Nicky & Simon are a friendly couple. The rooms are very clean and cosy and well equiped with extra bedding if required, a snug radiator and tea, coffee etc. Comfy bed and a good TV. Also very reasonable rates. The breakfast was excellent, home cooked, included in the cost, and really you could have just about whatever you fancied! I would have liked a slightly later check out time, 10am. was a bit early for me on a Sunday but not the end of the world!! We both recommend the Sarnia and would definitely stay there again when in Weston Super Mare.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep and two flights between each floor so a ground floor room if stairs are a problem f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarniah, Owner at Sarnia Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you had such a great time, and see you again soon. All the best
Nicky :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely time and a friendly welcome. Room was lovely, modern, very clean and well presented. The breakfast was fabulous and made even better by the fact you could choose the items you wanted for the full english. Probably the best cooked breakfast I've had!

Could come and go as you please, and as booked on late rooms, was great value for money. Close to the seafront and town centre.

Would definately stay again! :)

Room Tip: Choose the ensuite room as some rooms are a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston super Mare
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston super Mare
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston super Mare
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rosita
The Rosita
#1 of 63 in Weston super Mare
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarnia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarnia Guest House

Property: Sarnia Guest House
Address: 28 Upper Church Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarnia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sarnia Guest House is a short walk from the beach in Weston Super Mare. Located near to the seafront and local facilities. The Sarnia is a Victorian building with modern rooms and bathrooms.We are a 10 minute walk to the pier and high street shops, walking distance to the pubs and restaurants. We are open all year round except Christmas time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sarnia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarnia Guest House Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing