We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly and shabby”
Review of Lewinsdale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lewinsdale Lodge
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Costly and shabby”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had one night, passing through. Weston was very pleasant but this hotel was not. Shabby rooms and tatty furniture; seemed like everything and the decorations was from the 1970s and worn out. A good breakfast, however.
Expensive for the offering.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 283Coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    17
    12
    2
See reviews for
29
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night as we wanted a night out in Weston for first time. The hotel looked lovely outside was close to the beach and not far from town. We had bottom floor room as we entered the rooms very old and basic. The toilet smelt like poo as we entered which was off putting. When we use the shower it had weird smell
To it. I must say tho bed sheets were very clean and fresh. Another couple we went with had top floor there room seem bit more updated than ours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathybambeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my partner had never been to Western-Super-Mare, so we decided to give it a go on the 24/08, arrived at the Lodge, looked wonderfully maintained from the out-side, got a parking spot straight away, we was greeted by a lovely couple who then showed us where everything was and our room. The room was perfect, clean and the bathroom was spacious, just what we wanted. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and would recommend to any-one to have it, especially the poached eggs. All in all a great place to stay, great location near to the beach and resort. Would definitely go again to the Lodge and W S M had a great time thanks ever so much

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Overall a lovely guest house. We had a very warm friendly welcome from the owners and found the place to be clean and tidy and only a few minutes walk away from the main front at Weston.
The guest house had a wonderful homely, slightly quaint feel to it, but still had the convenience of a flat screen tv with freeview in the room.
There was a slight problem on the second day as they had suffered a flood in the basement so the hot water was off for a few hours, but this was quickly sorted and we were kept informed.
We didnt eat at this establishment as we were close enough to walk into the main town for food, but we could come and go as we pleased.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I wanted a little break away with my husband, & found this little lodge just across the road from the beach (sea life centre end) only mins walk onto the main front, very friendly landlady who waited for us as we were running late, room was a little small & warm, but you are only sleeping there & after all it is summer.
As I opened the room door I was greeted by a lovely fresh smelling room.
Lovely place would stay again.
Limited parking

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs they have rooms downstairs with ramps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Took both mothers away for a one night stay (both in their 80s) to be greeted from the car and helped to our rooms. Both rooms clean to a high standared. Both owners was very polite and could not do enough to make us feel welcome as for the last review to say you travel back into time this property is a victorian house and a modern decor would not do it any justice. Both owners worked hard from the time we arrived and is one of the best we have stayed in weston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa23, Owner at Lewinsdale Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for the review.
We are glad you had a good time and were amazed at both your mum's zest for life. It was a pleasure and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Carol Chalmers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The best and only good point about this place was the location with the street leading to the beachfront. Walking through the front door was like traveling back in time to the 1950s with all the associated bad taste decorations of a seaside boardinghouse. Whilst the room was clean it was very small and had a few curious extras like a plastic stool in the strange shower cubicle and a very bad smell from the drains. It was at the back of the building and was quiet but there was only the view of the back fence. It was a very depressing place and we couldn't wait to leave. The price is way too expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else from the many places in the same street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston super Mare
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#8 of 63 in Weston super Mare
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roedean Guest House
Roedean Guest House
#5 of 63 in Weston super Mare
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parasol Guest House
Parasol Guest House
#46 of 63 in Weston super Mare
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#14 of 18 in Weston super Mare
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Weston Super Mare Guest House
The Weston Super Mare Guest Hous...
#35 of 63 in Weston super Mare
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewinsdale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewinsdale Lodge

Property: Lewinsdale Lodge
Address: 5-7 Clevedon Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lewinsdale Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lewinsdale Lodge is a 12 bedroom guest house situated just two minutes off the sea front. There are 5 ground floor rooms with walk in showers particularly suited to the less able. Evening meals are served in a bright spacious Dining room, each room with their own table.A very small car park is available on a first come first served basis.There is also free parking on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lewinsdale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing