We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth another visit”
Review of Lewinsdale Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lewinsdale Lodge
cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth another visit”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night (sadly) for the carnival. Our welcome was very warm everything explained shown to our room family room double bed 1 single nice and spacious and clean, lots of very hot water. Breakfast was lovely served by Madison the grandaughter of the owners, who was very polite and friendly. We had to order our breakfast the evening before which I think is a good idea you can have as much or as little a you like, My daughter who was with me has to have special milk and butter which we brought with us and this was put in the fridge for us and produced at breakfast without having to ask. All round a very pleasant place to stay and I think we shall return next year for 2 nights, Hopefully the weather will be kinder for the carnival but it made up for it on Saturday as it was nice and sunny.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    15
    16
    12
    2
See reviews for
26
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have stayed here for last 17 years twice per year.No complaints have had several rooms.Rooms clean and maintained.Food good breakfasts excellent if you go hungry it is your fault.Good choice for evening meal including vegeterian dish Always found parking.Des and Carol the owners always on hand and attentive to your needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

owners at a wedding when we arrived but still had a warm welcome, was pleased with our night at the lodge very clean and tidy good beds and shower excellent breakfast what else do you need would stay there again owners at a wedding when we arrived but still had a warm welcome

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

we picked the best week as the weather was great.Didnt think much of the greeting not very friendly the wife was very chatty but didnt see her very much husband didnt say a lot breakfast was very good but the plates were plonked down in front of you without a word and whisked away again before you had your toast .The room we had was no 3 and was not very good small and the shower curtain and mat was mouldy but they did change the mat also the guest before had left a charger did tell the owner but it stayed on the floor for all of my stay only one bathtowel which makes me think it was not cleaned from the last person car park not good will not stay again will say as well the evening meal was soup and scampi and chips and a pudding it was very dry and not very big so hope you dont have a big appetite not worth the whopping £16.50 will go to weston again as great but will not stay at the lewinsdale.

Room Tip: only saw my parents room which was a twin not a lot better had a view of the car park .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa23, Owner at Lewinsdale Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for the review, if my memory serves me right the customary two bath towels and two hands towels and a bath mat had not been put in your room, and as soon as you mentioned that you only had one bath towel I immediately fetched the correct amount and apologised as obviously they had been forgotten at the room change.
The dinner menu has a choice of Three starters Four main Courses and Four desserts . I am sorry if you thought the portion size wasn't to your liking. As you know on the breakfast order we encourage guests to request two of everything out of the seven items on selection if they have good appetites (although it hardly fits on the plate) so I don't think we have a problem letting guests have as much as they like.
I can only apologise that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The photo's on their website are not accurate, this Lodge is dated and in need of re-modernisation plus a few simple repairs. We had room 5 and 8 - Room 5 was on the ground floor, the door did not lock, housekeeper tried to help us with it, but could not close it either, after 10 mins we managed to close the door and lock it? On entering the smell of damp hits you first, the paper peeling off the wall behind the door, it needed hoovering in general and behind the beds. Smallest TV I have ever seen. Bathroom smelt of damp too, with black sealant around the shower.
Room 8 was an improvement on room 5, but as mentioned in a previous review, the sink is in the Bedroom, very sixties! All the rooms have wafer thin walls, you can hear all the conversations from neighbours, sorry to say you can also hear the most personal functions in the bathroom too, very embarrassing.
We did have breakfast, this was served by an unfriendly owner, who did not want to engage in conversation - the cooked breakfast was very good, but cool in temperature.
The other public rooms, were not welcoming, dated, cold and unfriendly - the general smell in these areas reminded us of an old peoples home.
We did get to park the car, the location of the Lodge is situated opposite the closed 'Tropicana', there is nothing around the area - a good 10 minute walk to the main part of Weston for Pubs Restaurants etc.
We did not complain, as this was a treat for a family member and we did not want to spoil the occasion, so took the cost on the chin.
With so many Hotels giving reasonable rates half this price, for luxurious surroundings, these owners need to lower their prices or bring the Hotel into the twentieth century.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Planing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Husband and wife run guest house with a few issues, arrived on Saturday failed to get a Fiat panda in the car park as it was full so had to park on the street :( welcome was enthusiastic to say the least but later found out that this was not from the owners as they were at a wedding. We had come as a party of eight so four rooms had been booked the only problem with this was our room was 8 and out two daughters room was 14 which was right over the other side of the lodge not good when your needed. Breakfast on Sunday was excellent a little slow but when serving 8 that's difficult, it was hot and very nice and the service was excellent. The plumbing is noisy as commented in a earlier review and also the sink is not in the bathroom which was tiny anyway. Room was ok but found a tablet and nail clipping on the floor and really could have done with a real good dust. The main disappointment was breakfast Monday morning as the owner was back and appeared not to be in the best of moods which spoiled the end of a good bank holiday weekend in Weston. Will return to Weston but not to the lewinsdale lodge sorry. :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa23, Owner at Lewinsdale Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
I have to apologise for the lack of car parking space but as we do only have a small car park (wish it was three times the size) when its full then the alternative is parking on the road with unrestricted parking. I am presuming that with a party of eight you had more than one car.
I am sorry that we didn't have more chance to meet you but the wedding that we were attending was our sons. It certainly would not have been our choice to be away in August.
Your booking was a request for four twin rooms, these are scattered throughout the house, but two of the rooms were next door to one another.
The cleaning issues have certainly been addressed and thank you for that.
It was nice to hear that the persons that had covered for us had made you feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent two nights here in late August 2012 and paid £150 for B&B and parking (very tight).
The two of us got a friendly, helpful welcome and all the staff we met were very nice.
It's located just off the main prom and about 10 minutes walk to the Pier and the Town Centre.
I'd probably agree with a few other comments that the rooms now look a bit dated and somewhat tired, although the lounges do have a nice period character. Our room on the ground floor rear had a bit of a drain smell from the shower, but the bed was comfortable giving a good sleep.
Breakfast was whatever you wanted, ordered in advance and presented well on a timed arrival.
We day-tripped to Bath (abt 30 miles) which was brilliant, but I'm afraid "Wet Weston" was a bit scummy and bedraggled when you moved away from the front. Overall no return for us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa23, Owner at Lewinsdale Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments will be looked at.
I am sorry that we are all having such a terrible summer, but you certainly chose well on a visit to Bath. It is without doubt a wonderful Heritage city. I'm afraid there is no comparison with Weston.
Yes our car park is small only taking 5 cars, but we are one of very few Guest Houses that has any private parking. If we could increase the size we certainly would. We never use it for ourselves as there is unrestricted parking on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverley Guest House
Beverley Guest House
#12 of 63 in Weston super Mare
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#7 of 63 in Weston super Mare
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parasol Guest House
Parasol Guest House
#47 of 63 in Weston super Mare
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#15 of 17 in Weston super Mare
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Victoria Lodge
Victoria Lodge
#14 of 63 in Weston super Mare
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewinsdale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewinsdale Lodge

Property: Lewinsdale Lodge
Address: 5-7 Clevedon Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lewinsdale Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lewinsdale Lodge is a 12 bedroom guest house situated just two minutes off the sea front. There are 5 ground floor rooms with walk in showers particularly suited to the less able. Evening meals are served in a bright spacious Dining room, each room with their own table.A very small car park is available on a first come first served basis.There is also free parking on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lewinsdale Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing