We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Eight of us stopped here last Friday afternoon for lunch & sat outside as we had two dogs with us. We all ordered food & drinks from the lady that came out to serve us, who was very pleasant! It then started to rain, & it got harder & harder and we even though were under an umbrella we started getting soggy. The duty manager then came out & offered us to go into a far area inside so that we could eat in comfort even though we had the dogs. The food came quickly, was a very good portion size & was fantastic! We could not thank the staff enough! They were all friendly & could not have been more helpful or assisting!! We would certainly visit again if we were ever in the area!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    141
    79
    29
    35
See reviews for
106
147
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
641 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Smiths Hotel is one in a terrace on the 'promenade' with a large ground floor restaurant with seating outside.We were attracted by the extensive menu on boards at the front and decided to 'give it a try' that evening, even though it entailed a lengthy walk.
That evening the weather had turned so we chose a nice table by the window and made our selections. On ordering, 9 items, including the choices which enticed us there in the first place, were struck off the menu. Having no other restaurant readily in mind, we reluctantly made other selections rather than search elsewhere at that time.
Our meals arrived quite soon and admittedly were very good,although the visit for us was marred with disappointment.
We felt sorry for the waitress who was very apologetic, explaining that new menus were due. However when writing this review I note a similar review from 6 months ago! I view this as deliberately misleading by Smiths in order to entice custom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here. Had one of the premier rooms at the front of the hotel with a balcony. Great views and we found the staff friendly and the service good. Would stay again. Very close to all the attractions and within walking distance so didn't need to use the car.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanicitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What can I say but rude, rude rude.

We arrived a little early but just wanted to check our booking, and was told that we were far too early and to come back later. We then asked about the parking and was told it was on a first come first served basis, and we would have to go into the pay and display. Fair enough, I understand but the manner in which this was relayed to us was totally unnecessary.

You are able to check in from 2pm so we arrived to book in at 2:30pm and completed the paperwork and was given a key. The place is like a dingy rabbit warren with no signage for door numbers or exits in the corridor. The corridors are narrow and dirty.

On arrival at the room the cleaner was stripping the bed and the room have not been cleaned. We therefore trekked back through the rabbit warren, getting lost and at one point I walked into a cupboard looking for the exit. O and surprise, surprise it wasn't locked so that guests are safe.

Back at reception we were then told that there were no other rooms available and that we would have to wait! REALLY. We then asked to see a manager and was told that the lady on reception was the only person in the building - not really true I am sure. This was all relayed with a very nonchalant attitude and a sigh that told us that she didn't give a stuff and had better things to be getting on with.

The only plus point was that when asking for our money back she was very efficient and did it straight away. My partner then apologised and she said no worries. He had to point out to her that she should have been saying that to us.

Overall really, really poor and I would advise you to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Sleep in another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ejw142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelawhiting, Front Office Manager at Smiths Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The bedrooms are ready FROM 2pm, unfortunately this room was the last to be serviced and not quite ready. I immediately went to check the room and it had been finished, which meant this guest would have had to wait at most 5 minutes. He was very rude and slammed his key on the desk demanding another room and wanting to see the manager. I said the manager was not here, but on holiday. He then asked for a refund, which I processed immediately, and he left making a sarcastic comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very attentive and helpfull. The car park was small and to get in I blocked about 5 cars in and left the key with reception. The night porter is insured to drive and it was re- parked for me by morning. Room very small down to my employer booking me a single. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F13LEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

After having a lovely day at Weston, looking for a place to eat we came across the smiths hotel right on the front it wasn't very busy but we thought we would give it a try. Quite a few things had been crossed off the menu with black pen (not very proffesional) I had the home made cottage pie which came within minutes only to discover it was ice cold in the middle after sending it back the waitress returned seconds later with the same cottage pie still cold with everything else on the plate EXTRA hot I didn't eat any of it we just went to the bar and payed with not so much of an a apology and nothing taken off the bill. Will not be returning and would not reccomend this place to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here but ate here several times. Really enjoyed the food and the wifi was very useful and fast. (Although on our last visit the wifi was down :-(
One waitress was not aware of the laws around Guide dogs in restaurants and seemed a bit annoyed we brought my sons guide dog in. Otherwise everyone was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston super Mare
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 28 in Weston super Mare
391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston super Mare
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Property: Smiths Hotel
Address: 20-24 Knightstone Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths Hotel Weston-super-Mare features a range of 48 comfortable, stylish and spacious en-suite bedrooms and 8 luxury suites, many with spectacular sea views. Make Smiths Hotel your first choice when choosing a holiday hotel in Weston super Mare or Somerset. The hotel is Situated in a prime location on the beautiful seafront of Weston-super-Mare in Somerset. Smiths Hotel is a family run hotel that affords spectacular views across Weston bay from the Victorian theme terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing