We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coach party Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coach party Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife & i stayed at Smiths Hotel while on a coach tour. This hotel is typical of any seaside hotel, small bedrooms which are close together.
We had an 8 day stay here and I must say we enjoyed everything about it except the bedroom as I pointed out, but we know what to expect regarding that.
The room was clean and that's all we ask. The staff were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The food was of a very good quality and well presented.
We have stayed there before and will hopefully be going back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    130
    73
    25
    34
See reviews for
96
135
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a triple room it was very clean a bit on the small size for three people, decor is a bit dated but we had tv,kettle.hairdrier.Beds were very comfy,a queen size and a single .The bathroon was very clean but again small.The hotel is right on the front five mins walk and you are at the pier which please as daughter .We ate at the hotel and the food was just good ,staff were friendly and helpful .The only problem we had was the room above us had his tv on ALL night and this kept me and our daughter awake most of the night .I didnt ring to reception to get this sorted as the walls are very thin in the rooms and you can hear all that goes on outside your room and on the landing as well , Note off my daugher the wi-fi didnt work even in the public areas .

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor then you will not have noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I'm not reviewing the hotel here as I have not stayed here and have read the reviews rating the hotel rather badly, but we had fish and chips at the hotel, sat outside and they were delicious! Great pieces of cod, covered in golden crispy batter and the chips were 'proper' chips; big chunky things with a crispy outside and a fluffy inside. They came with peas and a salad garnish and were very good value - less than a £1 more than we pay at our local chippy which aren't as good!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandJay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

When I booked this holiday they promised me there was a walk in shower for my ninety year old mother and it was also disability freindly there was no walk in shower no raised toilet seat and no hand rails.When i spoke to them about it they said there was only one room that had all these facilities and it would be available on Wednesday as we arrived on Saturday and was leaving on Saturday we did not want to be bothered to uproot all our belongings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

when we arrived the receptionist wasnt polite at all,seemed a bit rude cause we popped in on the off chance that there was a room. we were given a room and as soon as i saw the state of the bedroom door i knew inside was not good.the room is in bad need of redecoration, the bathroom desperately needs updating,mold around the shower i couldnt even use it.the bed was comfortable and it was dust free,the balcony was ok but you had to be careful as there were uneven slabs and even the railings moved when you lent on it.
its an ok place for one night ,all the place has to do is update it and it would be ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnitedKingdomSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I decided to take my mom away for a night and as our first choice hotel - The Grosvenor - was fully booked we decided to stay at Smiths.

It was bucketing down with rain so driving past the hotel it was apparent that there was no space to park the car so we had to park in the council car park round the corner. Mom was sure that we would be given a pass for parking if there was no space on their drive but this is not the case.

Upon arrival we walked past the check in booth, we were ushered back by a young lady who gave us a booking form. I started filling this out and an older lady took over and started to deal with checking us in. She was rude, abrupt and not welcoming at all. If the card details had not of been given on the provisional booking I would of walked straight back out. We paid although this was confusing as it felt like we had paid at the time of booking as it wasn't made clear this was just to guarantee the room, only then to be told that we hadn't booked for breakfast and if we wanted this it would be an extra £7.50 each!!! Needless to say I did not want this ridiculous extra cost which I'm glad about after reading some of the reviews on here.

If I wasn't annoyed enough I walk in the room which is clean but can only be described as a coop. A room you can barely move in, the view out of the window is of the carpark I couldn't park in, a big grey van and a speck of sea. The tea and coffee making facilities are kept in the wardrobe as the room is that small, the shelf is slanted and there are no grips on the bottom of the kettle and it slid off the shelf which thankfully my mom caught it before it spilt boiling water on my legs as i lay on the bed as the shelf is more or less over the bed. Complete joke. £80 for a less than average room. Appalling. I would advise you strongly not to waste your money here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grubsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelawhiting, Front Office Manager at Smiths Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
The car park at Smiths Hotel only has spaces for 8-10 cars which we advertise on all our booking sites. Unfortunately, when the car park is full, we can only suggest alternative car parking, the nearest being the municipal car park approx 50 metres from Hotel. This is short stay and charges are approx £9.50 per day, but we do not have permits for this car park. Obviously, with it being raining when these guests arrived, and not having any car parking spaces, they were not very happy!! Our charges with Booking.com do not include breakfast, and we do not take payments until the guests check in, which is stated on their paperwork, although credit/debit card details are taken to 'secure' the booking. Our breakfasts are very good value for money, as there is a choice of fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, voghurts, compotes, porridge for starters and a full English Breakfast or continental for main, along with freshly ground coffee, and various teas, and of course brown or white toast - all this for £7.50 per person.
Some of our rooms are small, but there is ample room to move around, The Hotel is a Victorian building, so all the rooms are different sizes, as it was not purpose built, like some new Hotels.
The tea trays are no longer in the wardrobes. For anyone wanting some positive feedbacks for Smiths Hotel, please visit Bookings.com, Late Rooms and Eviivo, as most visiting Trip Advisor like to provide negative reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lovely day after a bleak summer. Went to walk along seafront and stop for a drink and/or have something to eat.
Decided on the outside area and sat at an available table. Completely ignored appeared to be only one waitress on a very busy afternoon. Patio area lots of litter and appeared to have not been brushed all season. This area is one of three patio areas I believe to be owned by the same company so you don't have a lot of choice along this particular area of seafront.
Table and area looked old,dirty and in need of a complete clean up.
Finally caught waitress who said," No food order no table service!". We replied that until we have a drink and see what is on offer is whether we wish to continue with a food order we just want a drink." The reply was as before and she left.

The whole of the seafront has had huge revamp. The promenade in particular is beautiful and the owner of this and many within this row of hotels must raise the standard as these hotels let Weston s Mare down and they are in a prime position.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rojawsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelawhiting, Front Office Manager at Smiths Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
At weekends there are approx. 8-10 waiting staff on duty during the busy periods, and 3 on duty at start of shift. We pride ourselves on the service we provide to our dining customers, and staff always clear tables and attend to new customers as their priority. The patio is always cleaned at end of shift and again in the morning by our night porter - I can only assume this must have been a very busy trading day, and obviously priority is given to serving customers and keeping them happy. Our Restaurant is one of the busiest on the seafront and we very rarely receive complaints. The patio has been upgraded and the signage renewed on a regular basis, We have also been praised by council officials for keeping our hotel in good order. If this person was just having a drink, then it is up to them to get their drinks from the bar, if they were having food, then drinks are served by the waiting staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Property: Smiths Hotel
Address: 20-24 Knightstone Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths Hotel Weston-super-Mare features a range of 48 comfortable, stylish and spacious en-suite bedrooms and 8 luxury suites, many with spectacular sea views. Make Smiths Hotel your first choice when choosing a holiday hotel in Weston super Mare or Somerset. The hotel is Situated in a prime location on the beautiful seafront of Weston-super-Mare in Somerset. Smiths Hotel is a family run hotel that affords spectacular views across Weston bay from the Victorian theme terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing