We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thank you to the manager and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anchor Head Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“thank you to the manager and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June and had a really good holiday, Rooms were clean and food decent, The staff are really nice helpful and friendly and a credit to themselves and the hotel. We just stayed one night on weds 10/10/12 and found again the service and friendly staff were just as good, A really big thanks to the guy on reception who mostly looked after us you were a credit to leisureplex, In comparison I gave the leisureplex hotel in Torquay the worst rating i could give, as our stay in August was so dreadful (the regina) The difference in these two hotels owned by the the same company could not be wider And full credit to the Manager of the Anchor Head you really know how to manage a hotel. I would suggest Alfa or Leisureplex send you to train the manager and staff at your Regina hotel in Torquay and show them exactly how it should be done. Again a big thank you

Room Tip: is a bit far from main town, sea veiw rooms have a really excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank graeme m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited as part of an Alfa coach holiday.

The hotel was a little further out of town than we had been advised but it was easy enough to get a bus into town.

The food was excellent but the bar prices were quite high - if you visit, look out for Katie in the restaurant - she is a real asset to this hotel and was so helpful and friendly - a breath of fresh air in this day and age. The other staff were very obliging and pleasant also.

The only thing I would say is that the hotel decor is in need of updating and that is the only thing that lets it down. I would agree with another reviewer, Janet F, in respect of the tv. My parents had a very old tv with 5 channels whereas mine was newer with only ITV3 in addition to the usual 5.

I would return but only if it was given a bit of a revamp, they seem to have the staff spot on but it would be so much better if the hotel was given a good dose of TLC!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

hotel very nice .clean and food was varied lots of choice.the location was a bit dissapointing quite a way from main town. overall enjoyed the holiday. we traveled with alfa travel. it was not the best journey we have had but we coped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester united kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We travelled on this holiday on a coach tour. We had a lovely driver Terry, he was very helpful and a careful driver, with little extras. The hotel did need some updating regarding windows etc.
but was very clean and the staff very pleasant, the entertainment was very good. Bar prices a bit expensive, but then again this seems to happen in all seaside hotels. Food was good, perhaps a little variation on sweets. On the whole value for money. We would go again.

Room Tip: Sea view worth paying for, but as stated our room needs double glazing, and perhaps new beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

our holiday was with Alfa Travel, The driver Ian was ok.
On arrival at the hotel we were quickly given our room keys and instructions on how to get to it. Our room we felt was small for a double and was best as a single. The hotel looked in need of an update as far as decor . Did leasureplex do a deal on decorating with a company to get it cheaper?. The tv wes the old fashioned type of portable, A new on the wall ? LED would take up less space .We were cramped as for space. We only hed the 5 chanels , maybe freeview would be better?
The staff were pleasent but there were not enough of them , Only 3 waiters were serving in a busy two part dining room. The menu was the same as the other hotel we stayed in last year.
Do the owners think by being big brother with the food and ordering it at a corporate level you are keeping the costs down?Frozen food is not the way to go.
We loved Weston but will not be staying again at the Anchor head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just had 5 days at the Anchor Head with Alfa..Had a seaview wich was decent but on the small side to other Alfas weve been to.Management and staff very good, and meals reasonable and prepared to our satifaction. Entertainment average, but acts dont come cheap, so can understand that you get what you pay for.The lift is a nightmare though, only holds 3 and has a mind of its own.As for the resort, not as good as i thought it would be, and a good walk from the hotel, even though the half hourly bus helped, but not all want to use buses. The trip to Chedder Gorge is not for the seniors though, maybe just riding through and visiting somewhere flatter would be better like Bristol maybe or another seaside town nearby. just a thought Alfa.. Would i return, well i would to the hotel but not to the resort, so it would have to be a no.

Frank..St Helens

Room Tip: seaview better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 491Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The coach driver Nigel was first class as was our waiter Harrison, and Margaret our waitress.In the evening Luke looked after our drink needs and was a real bundle of fun.The rooms were spotless and we had a great view of the coast and surrounding islands.Meals were good but breakfast servings were only small.The waiter/waitress will provide extra if asked.Entertainment was good overall.Would rather have a duvet than blankets though.Very choosy where i sleep and always strip the bed and check the mattress and bedding,this was all first class.Wish the London hotels could match this.

Room Tip: seaview rooms on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norwayManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston super Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Head Hotel

Property: Anchor Head Hotel
Address: 16-19 Claremont Crescent, Weston super Mare BS23 2ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Head Hotel - Weston-Super-Mare [3 Alpha & AA Two Star Symbols]Splendidly situated between Weston's two piers and close to the boating slipway and a small beach; the promenade walk begins right next to the hotel. 52 bedrooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. Attractive TV lounge and delightful bar with dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There are magnificent views of the bay from the TV lounge, restaurants and many of the bedrooms. Small lift serves all floors (few stairs from lift to restaurant).A Leisureplex Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchor Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing