We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food at the Old Colonail”
Review of The Old Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Colonial
weston super mare
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food at the Old Colonail”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

i have used the restaurant on many different occasions and have found the food and service to be of a great standard ,consistently good, the 2-4-1 offers are great value and portion size will suit most appetites, next to a car park ,so no issues there, and great views across the bay,,

Room Tip: sign up to the news letter and get some great offers,, i have had vouchers for free drinks and desse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furbyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    92
    60
    15
    39
See reviews for
61
143
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Extremely poor attitude of staff, incorrect food ordered even when ask to verify we had 6 but changed for 7! Then when ordering desserts same staff member said that this dessert was only available hot??? I will be contacting Trading Standards as on menu states hot or cold chocolate fudge cake. Ordered cold but staff member said it was only available hot stated menu hot and cold option still stone walled saying that it its microwaved and only available hot! the whole food order was incorrect I was charged extra £2.00 on meals when double up option on menu for burgers but only wanted 1 as double.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwpick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited restaurant at 8.45
2 for 1 menus on tables and specials board prominently displayed
Tried to order food and told that kitchen had closed early ( should be 10pm) because pub was not busy enough
Dont rely on service being available
Avoid this pub

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacklockjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Whent there off the cuff and ive got to say one of best night ive had the staff was lovely and the room thay gave us was fantastic the breakfast was fit for a king plus you get free parking theres plenty of entertainment on a Saturday night in the bars that are near I will definitely go back !!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maffosweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just thought I'd write a review about the food.
I visited the restaurant with 3 friends. It was buy 1 get 1 free on meals.
We wernt expecting anything really great but as most of the meals are over £10 we thought they might be tasty.
All our meals were blatently microwaved. I had a pie...its pastry was chewy and soggy...4 small new potatoes and a tiny bowl of side salad...that hardly filled the plate. My friend had a microwaved pie too.
A pasta dish...no spaghetti but fusilli pasta and the sauce plonked on top and soggy fish batter for another meal.
Never going back,,,,service was rubbish and it was dead as a dodo in there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dryingoutdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

In my experience, most lower priced hotels can be pretty dodgy unless you opt for one of the big chains (Ibis, Premier etc) but this hotel, a Marstons, offers very good quality at a very good price. Friendly staff, very clean room, reasonable quality furnishings - not a bad package. Only complaint is the rather small size of the double bed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wonderful views over QWeston Bay and an excellent stay despite the snow! Rooms nice and warm and staff anxious to make stay enjoyable. Marstons "Two for one" meals are really great value for money and four real ales, including Pedigree and Hobgoblin. Assistant manager Ana (fron BelaRus) is a real treasure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
798 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston super Mare
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston super Mare
585 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston super Mare
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Property: The Old Colonial
Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing