We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of The Sunfold

The Sunfold
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunfold
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Unfortunately, I was not happy to stay at this hotel .. I can say that the size of the rooms is satisfactory, but the bathrooms are so small that there is no space to turn around. I wonder also why the rooms have double doors. Breakfast times are very short. Free wi-fi actually works.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojtas71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
22
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
holyhead
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

we had such a lovely time at the sunfold, nice clean room and a great breakfast. i would reccomend this guest house, we come a couple of times a year and love it. it is right by the sea front just a short stroll and your on the beach , it is run by a lovely couple and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: we had one on the front it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Me & my boyfriend stayed in Weston for the weekend and decided to stay an extra night as the weather was wonderful, we had previously stayed at another hotel in the area which couldn't offer us a room for the following night, so we took a walk across the beach and found the sunfold. On first arrival we were greeted at the door by a very welcoming lady, she was very friendly, we filled in a form to confirm our booking for the next night and came back for check in the next day. On our day of check in we were welcomed by John, he showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome. Our first impressions of the hotel were great, the room looked fab; tv, sofa and very light. The bed was comfy too! The en suite was lovely, other reviews mentioned about a smelly toilet which we never noticed! One negative about the en suite was the shower, it seemed to go hot and cold, but that's no biggy. We had a good supply of clean towels, loo roll, mini toiletries and tea making facilities. The hotel offers breakfast with the price of the room, & it was great! They offer a variety of food, when we went down to the dinning room we were greeted with a good morning and smiley faces, which is always nice! the lady told us to help our selves to cereals and orange juice ect... We then looked at the menu available on the table, there was a lot on offer, full English, veggie breakfast, toast ect... & the breakfast was great, set us up for the 2 hour drive home. Parking is slightly limited, but we were able to park on site, however there is space around the area on side roads. Overall, very happy... we will be visiting you again on our next trip! Jodie & Kevin

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
thankyou for your kind response , i am happy that you had a nice time. And that you found the time to give me a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a lovely surprise to find the Sunfold Hotel in good old Weston-Super-Mare. First of all, it is a family run hotel that features a full English breakfast served fresh from the kitchen every morning. John and Jackie run the Sunfold and have a bar as part of the hotel. Our room was freshly decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The owners were friendly and helpful and we could have an evening meal with advance notice. Overall it was a very pleasant experience and we would recommend it and will return for another visit there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing toward the beach have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expat1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The room was awful needing paint and decoration, you got into the place at night down a dodgy back passage through a rotten old door. The room was cold, the bed was freezing more than normal. The carpet looked like it had come from the set of 'The Sweeney' and early in the morning we knew the radiator had come on by the click click noise. Weston Super Mare is a terrible place anyway full of pensioners, mad people and hen parties. The place is a dive. Do yourself a favour, avoid. Go to Bristol.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlady_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
the fact that you think weston super mare is so awful, that is why everything i else is no good.
that room is fine it has a plain carpet and it has only been down a matter of months, it has a nice big bathroom with extended shower, it has a flat screen tv, what more is their to say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a shocking experience! I have never ever been to anything like it, it had no style at all, the staff were rude and didn't listen to our requests, our personal belongings got put on the floor just so they could make the bed when we asked them not to, bathroom was far too small and just plasterboard walls so you could hear everything, and yes it smelt like cigarettes when you walked in. The bed was so uncomfortable i had no sleep whilst i was there, Also when we was leaving they just shut the door on us just as we was loading the car so we wasn't able to go back in as if they didn't care about use. To be honest I don't know how you haven't been shut down

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billybob98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
i am absolutely astonished, that they could be so derogatory, the room they had is beautiful , it has a beautiful balcony you can see pictures on the internet, it has lovely views, i am sorry that you feel this way but i would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

we didn't even get to stay at the hotel as it was horrible smelt of damp. poor condition and wouldn't stay there again stains on mattress, loo roll in balcony door wall paper coming off me and my partner couldn't wait to get out the owners didn't want to give us a refund but we didnt give up we got it back i hope.

Room Tip: dont use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
the room they are talking about is the one on the internet with a balcony, it is a lovely room with no sign of damp it has decking outside and has great views , these peole went down the road and found something cheaper and grotty,, because when they came in i showed them the room, they never said anything ,and before they went out they never said anything. and came back and then said that they were not satisfied , , but when i went up to the room they had messed up the room had tea and coffee used the shower so they had a good time at my expense. so i know that it was because they had seen something probably more their own standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.8 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 28 in Weston super Mare
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
628 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston super Mare
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#7 of 63 in Weston super Mare
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#20 of 63 in Weston super Mare
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunfold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunfold

Property: The Sunfold
Address: 39 Beach Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunfold 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sunfold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing