We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at the Sunfol”
Review of The Sunfold

The Sunfold
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunfold
2 reviews
“Had a great stay at the Sunfol”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sunfold and found the place to be very warm and welcoming. We had a family room with a sea view, which we found to be really nicely decorated and well furnished. It was wonderful to sit on the sofa and watch the tide and the promenade lights. The sachets of shower gel and shampoo and conditioner were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-Uppal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    13
    14
    16
See reviews for
22
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Sunfold for two nights end of September. We asked for a seaview room which we were given, but it needed updating. The floorboards creaked so badly that we were always thinking of the poor guests below us, hearing us moving about. The towels were clean but a bit grubby and worn. The bed was so uncomfortable that we had to put the spare quilt on top of the mattress to make it a bit better. Breakfast was good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
what a load of rubbish, the room they had is 2 rooms one which is a bed room and the other is a lounge area with tv , what more do people want from a room , it has a lovely view with 2 rooms you have plenty of space , the bed was updated last year so it is not possible to be uncomfortable, i give up on certain people who expect 5 star accommodation when they are only paying £60.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weston super Mare hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Totally adequate room, clean, all facilities provided. Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked to order. Situated on the front and ten minutes walk to town centre. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Upon arrival the entrance smells strongly of cigarettes - our room at the back was very small
carpet grubby wallpaper grubby no teaspoon on tea tray. The shower is very poor. The breakfast however was very good.

I would say perhaps pay a few pounds more and get that bit better qualty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobysgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
IT IS ABSOLUTE RUBBISH.
I do not have a room with a broken shower or dirty carpets or anythingelse , i am 3 star rated by visit england, the people who did this did not stay here and they know it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed the 1st of June to the 3rd June 12. While checking in i was interupted by John the owner to move my car a few inches forward. We checked in and was given the room we booked which was the balcony room. Jackie the female owner was a little concerned because we had a two year old with us and she was worried about the balcony. We found this really sweet and cosiderate. She showed us another family room which she offered us for no further cost but we declined because our plans were to tire our daugheter out and then sit out on the balcony with a drink once she had dropped off. Jackie was really helpful and cheery all weekend. Less can be said for her husband who moaned about children in the bar area even though we were only there for ten minutes. The last day was the lowest we tried asking him a question and he rudely said i do not have time for you I'm busy. We understood he was busy and all we wanted was for him to pop up and see us in the lounge when he had time.

All in all i'd recommend this hotel. I think Jackie worked extremely hard but her husband needs a lesson in customer services. Saying that we would go back because the hotel, location, breakfast and rooms were good.

Room Tip: There are only 3 to 4 parking spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We staid in the double room which was very clean & tidy there was a balcony attached & the views you had off was most of the seafront right down to the pier which was a bonus . Breakfast you have choice of fruit, yogurt, cereal toast & the great British breakfast. John & Jackie the owners are very friendly & we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
thankyou for being honest, and i am delighted that you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

On arrival the gentleman was nice and pleasant. Room was small even thou it has a balcony. Also shower and toilet were small aswell.

Cups near the sink were dirty, kettle and cups also dirty.

Breakfast tasted like rubber.

Bedding not cleaning and also rooms nit cleaned properly.

On leaving the hotel the women was rude and didn't even say bye. This hotel is not worth the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucywestonsupermare, Owner at The Sunfold, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
when they arrived they were quite rude, but you have to ignore that , the room was cleaned everyday even though it was not until 4pm, he was banging on my door at 12-30 am telling me he did not want to leave at 10-15am and he wanted to leave at 12pm , that would have been fine if it wasn,t for the fact that he was drunk. but he did leave anyway at 11-45.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston super Mare
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albany Lodge Guest House
Albany Lodge Guest House
#9 of 63 in Weston super Mare
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lewinsdale Lodge
Lewinsdale Lodge
#38 of 63 in Weston super Mare
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakover Guest House
Oakover Guest House
#4 of 63 in Weston super Mare
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kensington Court Holiday Apartments
Kensington Court Holiday Apartme...
#1 of 17 in Weston super Mare
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunfold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunfold

Property: The Sunfold
Address: 39 Beach Road, Weston super Mare BS23 1BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunfold 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sunfold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing