We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They do listen”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston super Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They do listen”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I wrote a comment about poor sausages at breakfast after a visit to the New Ocean. On my next visit the supplier had been changed and a much improved offering was served at breakfast.
Just proves that management read and react, where possible, to these reviews
Already booked for our next visit
Keep up the good work

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, sit and drink a cuppa and watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do try and act on any suggestions guests may have where possible and are glad you enjoyed your sausages this time. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    88
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
92
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

First time visiting this hotel, Winter wine makers break,as a group we had the whole hotel to ourselves.We were well looked after the staff were more than helpful, the food was well presented and hot the breakfast was buffet and no stinting on the portions. The entertainment was excellent each night being different but difficult to choose which was best as every bodies choice will differ, for me the best night was Sunday's all nights were good to dance to or just to sit and listen.for me the only negative was the rooms were too hot, I feel they could save on heating if they could turn the heating down.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the boating lake with a full view of the coastline and pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derwent15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for all your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the food whilst at the hotel and the various entertainers.

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked the whole hotel for a gathering of like minded people, choosing to provide our own specialised entertainment. The hotel were very accommodating to our needs. Having liaised with the hotels staff throughout the year. I found them to be very kind,helpful and happy to oblige. The waiting and bar staff were the friendliest and always ready with a smile.
The rooms are very clean,warm and cosy, if I had to be picky the bedding/curtains could do with an upgrade.
The food - always a choice and served piping hot, for the money I felt it was great value. A vegetarian option might have been useful. It on the whole excellent value.
The group certainly took advantage of the free bar from 6-10.
We had such a brilliant time we have booked all the rooms for next year!!

Room Tip: 208 fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teenie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about all the staff. We do have vegetarian meals available if required, just mention it to reception.

We look forward to welcoming you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

A group of friends hired the whole hotel for the first weekend of the season, we occupied all 53 rooms and took advantage of the 'free bar weekend' thereby testing the staff and resources to the limit. I am pleased to say they passed with flying colours. Every member of staff was friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel had been refurbished and the rooms were clean and fresh with lovely white cotton bedding and well appointed. Food and drink was excellent, compliments to the chef and the waiting staff. Thank you all for a great time! So much so, that we have booked the entire hotel for the same week next year.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are glad everyone enjoyed their weekend here and made full use of the facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just had a brilliant long weekend at The New Ocean Hotel and was pleasantly surprised by both the hotel itself and the staff too.Good large sized room overlooking the sea and was very clean and comfortable. The food was very acceptable too and served by very accommodating staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. I don't think I have ever been anywhere with the same value for money and the location is great. Just a short walk into town but I imagine in the height of season when town is very busy and noisy this location would prove to be nice and quiet. All in all very impressed and it is quite disappointing to see reviews slating this place off when you think what you are getting for your money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpiderRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and hotel.

The sea views are lovely from the bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just had a very enjoyable long weekend in the New Ocean and what a surprise , the staff were all first class and for once all had the right attitude , nothing was too much trouble and any requests were carried out with a genuine smile , they are a breath of fresh are and I was very impressed with each and every meal too , the hotel is very clean and comfortable and guests will not be disappointed when they stay here , top marks and well done to all staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spinnerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us. Our staff all work hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badgworth
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have stayed at the New Ocean Hotel several times but never around Christmas. We tried to stay for New Year but I think the Hotel had been booked for this time for many months and I can understand why. We managed to book a holiday in between Christmas and New Year, we had a room at the front of the Hotel, therefore having a sea view, which was a great advantage.

The staff were delightful and despite having a busy time working over Christmas had all the time in the world to chat to us and give us directions when necessary. The Receptionists and Management were always on hand to help and the atmosphere was one of good cheer and indulgence, in fact we were very disappointed we couldn't stay on to see in the New Year at the New Ocean Hotel.

The variety of choices for supper was outstanding and we were always asked if we had had enough or would we like something else ( which would have been difficult as the portions are very generous)

The Hotel is spotless and the rooms, serviced daily were of such a high standard.
Our room had recently been decorated and obviously had a new carpet and refurbished bathroom. May I say that no-one could ask for anything more when visiting The New Ocean Hotel. I dare say we shall be visiting again shortly but we will certainly be booking early for the festive season of 2014.

Well done to all at the New Ocean Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maxBadgworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments on the hardworking staff.
We are glad you enjoyed your Twixmas break and the festivities. We look forward to seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston super Mare
775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston super Mare
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston super Mare
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#14 of 29 in Weston super Mare
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston super Mare
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Property: The New Ocean Hotel
Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston super Mare BS23 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing