We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tinsel and Turkey Weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weston super Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Ocean Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tinsel and Turkey Weekend”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My first experience of this type of break but for the price paid it was a great weekend. Clean comfortable room, view did not matter for the short time there, good food with adequate choices.
The entertainment for this type of break in my opinion was excellent, much better than any I have previously experienced on 5 day breaks. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Well done
"The New Ocean Hotel"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Manager at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you found entertainment to be excellent, our entertainers do work hard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    90
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
91
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great Hotel, Staff very friendly and helpful,very good selection of food nothing too much trouble,
we paid to upgrade to a sea view room that was well worth it,this hotel has everything you need for a relaxing holiday.Entertainment in the evening was very enjoyable,it was a turkey / tinnsal so the hotel was all decorated christmas tree and all.we enjoyed Christmas eve, christmas day, boxing day, and new years eve.Sorry we had to leave but all good things come to an end.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1949AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed our Tinsel & Turkey break. I do agree that upgrading your room to a sea view is worth it for the view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, rooms were spotless. The buffet breakfast was just what you need after the night before. Add to that the tasty evening meal and it all adds up to a great stay. The only negative was the entertainment were forced to squeeze in a session of bingo due to the insistance of one of the coaches...not everyones cup of tea.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShaneE1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am please that you enjoyed both breakfast and our four course evening meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

nice comfortable hotel, some rooms a little small but adequate, food very good selection, staff very helpful, great prices and good entertainment in the evenings, our club members all enjoyed the weekend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I go along with previous reviews spotlessly clean staff very friendly and helpful. Could have done with more staff on for evening meal and they did learn that a pot of tea for three did need more than one teabag!! Entertainment was excellent. How do they do free drinks all evening? unfortunately this was abused by some who were legless and language was awful, Spoilt it for others.

Room Tip: all varied sea views were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear that you thought our entertainment was excellent, this is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Have just returned from weekend break at this Hotel.My room was one of the best I have had, clean fresh, and plenty of tea etc. The staff were fantastic and entertainment very good, food was good and plenty of it. BUT why do they give free drinks from 6 - 10pm. I dont know how they can afford it? and surely people dont go for the free drinks do they? the hotel was very good without the free drink, and before anyone thinks I dont drink- I do. Unfortunatly for us there was another coach load there who abused the free drink and spoilt our weekend somewhat.I had no sleep at all thanks to the other coach load of drunks. I have given five stars in spite of this as I do think the hotel and staff were that good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that other guests spoilt your weekend with us and I do appreciate your kind comments about the rooms, staff and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic value for money,100%+ for this hotel.Rooms ,Food,Entertainment ,could not find any faults here. If you want Value, spend your holiday time here,you will not be disappointed The only bad thing for us was the bad weather we had ,that s pot luck.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 240Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, Owner at The New Ocean Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for another kind review. I am happy that you have returned and once again you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weston super Mare hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston super Mare
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston super Mare
796 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston super Mare
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston super Mare
168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston super Mare
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston super Mare
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Ocean Hotel

Property: The New Ocean Hotel
Address: 26 Birnbeck Road | Madeira Cove, Weston super Mare BS23 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing