We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal country retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
The Pine Cone in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marie C
1 review
“Ideal country retreat”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Perfectly set up with everything you need for a peaceful stay. Special mention for all the extras provided from all the essentials in the kitchen to toilettries in the bathroom and even dog biscuits. Matti couldn't have been more helpful and we are most grateful for all you did for Fergus when he was so poorly. Would definitely recommend and hopefully in the near future we shall return for another visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Marie - many thanks for your encouraging review. Hope you return at some future date .regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Pine Cone is a cosy, relaxing place to stay. Just a 15 minute walk from the centre of Banchory which has lots of nice places to eat or have coffee and lovely shops. You are spoilt for choice with plenty walks in the area and castles or gardens to visit. The Pine Cone itself is a little peaceful retreat. Comfortable and cosy inside. Lots of beautiful outdoor space too. You can relax in the garden, which had plenty of seats and a lovely summerhouse, or go exploring in the woods with its tree-house. Matti and Bill are superb hosts, very generous with their time and lots of foodie treats and drinks. We especially enjoyed the home made jams and the muesli. It's not the biggest place we have stayed in but it had everything we needed for a most relaxing enjoyable holiday. We came home feeling very refreshed and would recommend it to family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2017
Janice -many thanks for your encouraging feedback.Great to learn that you both returned home relaxed after a week in Royal Deeside. Hope you will come again. Best regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin j
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay. Sitting in the garden of an evening was lovely. It is very comfortable and we reccommend staying.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Martin - many thanks for your encouraging feedback.it was lovely having you both staying with us. Regards Bill and Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“little Eden on earth”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fabulous little gem, hope too many people do not find out about this haven, so I can book again soon. Re charged my batteries in this calm relaxing atmosphere. watched the robins, heard the woodpecker and bunnies on the lawn at breakfast time. The owner thought of every thing from groceries, flowers,lovely and warm for our arrival, dog treats and so welcoming without being intrusive .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2017
Jill - it was good to have you stay with us and many thanks for your encouraging review.Come back when all the trees are in leaf and the garden in bloom and enjoy the summer house and the tree house and the hens laying! Good wishes Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LS05LES
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful, Peaceful, relaxing”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely people made us so welcome, really had a lovely couple of days, sad couldn't stay longer but hope to get back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, the birds in the garden, the whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 24, 2016
Sorry for late reply- it was a pleasure to have you stay at the PineCone- hope to see you again.regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachel h
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing! ”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Booked this with the excellent reviews in mind and this just completely blew our expectations! The garden overlooks a private forest with the treehouse, fire pit, and even a zip wire! Matti and bill were fantastic hosts and so absolutely compassionate. Even giving Craig a birthday card with a photo of the treehouse which made our day. Thank you both so much! We're even hoping to ditch our summer holiday to come back next year... For longer! Xxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Rachel and Craig - we were so delighted you chose us to celebrate Craig's birthday and really appreciate your encouraging comments. It would be great to see you next year regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette e
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Setting”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the most wonderfully relaxing 2 weeks here in late August/ early September, from the cosy accommodation, beautiful garden/woodland to the plentiful walks at the end of the road, Brodie and Millie were in doggie heaven, trees galore and lots of off lead walking, the path to Crathes is a must.
With plenty of shops, cafes and gorgeous restaurants close by too, the Pine Cone really is in the perfect spot and I will be recommending (raving about) ' the perfect retreat' to all looking for single or couple accommodation, especially if you are holidaying with your dog.
Thank you again Mattie and Bill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to walks, town and restaurants
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing