We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Pine Cone in summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Pine Cone in summer
Outside seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banchory, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rachel h
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing! ”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Booked this with the excellent reviews in mind and this just completely blew our expectations! The garden overlooks a private forest with the treehouse, fire pit, and even a zip wire! Matti and bill were fantastic hosts and so absolutely compassionate. Even giving Craig a birthday card with a photo of the treehouse which made our day. Thank you both so much! We're even hoping to ditch our summer holiday to come back next year... For longer! Xxxxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Rachel and Craig - we were so delighted you chose us to celebrate Craig's birthday and really appreciate your encouraging comments. It would be great to see you next year regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette e
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Setting”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the most wonderfully relaxing 2 weeks here in late August/ early September, from the cosy accommodation, beautiful garden/woodland to the plentiful walks at the end of the road, Brodie and Millie were in doggie heaven, trees galore and lots of off lead walking, the path to Crathes is a must.
With plenty of shops, cafes and gorgeous restaurants close by too, the Pine Cone really is in the perfect spot and I will be recommending (raving about) ' the perfect retreat' to all looking for single or couple accommodation, especially if you are holidaying with your dog.
Thank you again Mattie and Bill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to walks, town and restaurants
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura J
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Mattie and Bill were wonderful hosts and made us very welcome.

We chose the Pine Come as it's on the Geocaching Tour for Deeside. Excellent place as a base to do loads of the caches and more!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Laura - we enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again.thank you for your encouraging review. Regards Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4rhona
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The welcome, the interior design, the lighting, the heating, The Wi-Fi, The comfort and the provisions supplied could not be better.
Highly recommended for a stylish home from home in the middle of outstanding countryside

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Rhona -thanks you for your very kind words and for the lpovely entry in our visitors book. it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we were so pleased that you stayed with us during Scotlands hottest summer day! Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Scotland and as they say in these parts HASTE YE BACK! Regards Bill and Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyPig
Ilkley, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Little Place - Fantastic Hosts!”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at the Pine Cone whilst on a short motorcycling break in the Cairngorms. The accommodation was very comfortable and warm - however, the sense of welcome provided by Mati and Bill was even warmer still! I arrived on my first day absolutely soaking wet, and Mati could not have offered more help to get me dry and settled - Bill even drove me to Tescos and back to avoid me having to put all my wet things on again!
The Pine Cone overlooks a well-kept garden and the woodland space below is quite enchanting, making me want to have a wood of my own! Banchory is a great little town with plenty of interesting shops and cafes.
My only small gripe would be about the doors on the kitchenette, which do make a good job of screening the sink, hob and fridge off. However, when using the kitchen, one seemed to be always moving the folded doors around to get to the fridge and then the sink. Maybe a blind would be more practical.
I would recommend the Pine Cone to any solo traveller or couple who want a quiet place to stay with lots to do nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: Thee kitchen doors
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Simon - thank you for your encouraging feedback and suggestions which we will consider. Hope that you may be able to stay with us again . Regards Bill and Matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris359
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect countryside retreat”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed a recent wonderful stay at the Pine Cone - a perfect, tranquil retreat with its own woodland at the end of the garden. The accommodation was very attractive, comfortable and cosy. Matti and Bill, our hosts, were so welcoming, friendly and helpful and extremely hospitable, providing plentiful provisions for breakfast, as well as tea and coffee etc. for their guests. We cannot recommend the cottage highly enough and hope very much to return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you so much for your encouraging feedback. We would be delighted to welcome back any time in the future. Kind regards Bill and matti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrot...
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay!! ”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently stayed for 3 nights at The Pine Cone and we found this to be a great little place for stay. Bill and matti were very welcoming and accommodating. Self contained kitchen, good size bedroom and living area. Great location too, including your own little parking space! Definitley recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2016
Andy - many thanks for your kind remarks. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and delighted that you were here on what was the warmest day in 2016. Kindest regards Matti The Pine Cone at Pine Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing