We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Perkhill Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Feughside Inn(Strachan)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tor-na-Coille(Banchory)(Great Value!)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnett Arms Hotel(Banchory)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belskavie Croft(Banchory)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Raemoir House(Raemoir)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banchory Lodge(Banchory)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
83
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderfloor heatingthe cottageswelcome packlovely weekgreat cottagequiet retreatgreat location for exploringcomfortable bedsthe wood burning stovefriendly hostshigh standardfamily holidayliving roomself cateringglen tanara great staypippa
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 86 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Firstly let me say that if you are considering booking this cottage it should be at the top of your list! We stayed for a week in September and really enjoyed it. Altogether the quality cannot be faulted, extremely high spec., very clean, warm, comfy and peaceful. We all LOVED the beds. It may be a while before we can make the journey up again but we would definitely like to stay in King Duncan's View. Thank you Alex and Pippa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Daer Lizzy and Nigel, it was lovely to meet you both plus pooches! Thank you for your review - we have a few compliments about the beds. Nothing can beat a good night sleep after a day of clean Scottish air! Best wishes
Pippa and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Macbeth's Retreat is a fantastic cottage,visited for a week in October! We're looking forward to returning next year.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend a stay here to anyone. The cottage is lovely with all the mod cons you could possibly need and the beds are really comfortable. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area within easy driving distance whether it's nice walks, scenery, castles, pretty villages or tea rooms that's preferred.
Really enjoyed the under floor heating as unfortunately we had they typical scottish weather of rain but it didnt dampen our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgt0744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Shame about the rain! I hope you made good use of the boiler room which dries wet clothes out in no time! Thank you very much for your review. Pippa and Alex Davie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have stayed in many holiday cottages...both here and abroad ..and Macbeth's Retreat is probably the best. It is a lovely cottage....very well converted, with big comfy sofas, and huge comfortable beds. We loved the unusually shaped living room...and I would be very happy to have the kitchen as my own! The views are stunning. Pippa and Alex made us feel very welcome..(thank you for the welcome pack) . It was our first visit to Royal Deeside...excellent walking, a trip to Speyside to check out the distilleries, and visits to Drum Castle for the rose garden and Braemar to see the (community run) castle made for good days out. This cottage is a real find, and should we revisit the area, I would rebook like a shot!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mhrjh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you Maggie fir taking the time to write a review. Your comments make it all worthwhile! Hope to see you again soon. Pippa and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

For those reading this before possibly booking a holiday at Perkhill it may help if I clarify the layout of the cottages. Macbeth's Retreat is by itself near the road (A980), whereas King Duncan's View and Lady Macbeth's Rest are situated some 200+ yards up the rough track to behind the farm buildings.
At one time these two cottages (KDV and LMR) must both have had an interrupted view of the horizon and countryside opposite. Alas, not anymore I'm afraid. The owners, Pippa and Alex, have decided to build their large family home blocking the majority of the view. I was surprised to arrive on holiday with my family and find that we were next to a building site! (See pictures).
King Duncan's View, as the name suggests, has managed to maintain some of the view across the valley. Lady Macbeth's Rest however is totally over shadowed by the new build.
It is a shame that the owners' new property couldn't have been located elsewhere thereby giving all properties the benefit of overlooking this lovely Scottish countryside.

Our cottage, King Duncan's View, was spacious and exceptionally warm. Some of the external doors were a challenge to open and close, the downstairs shower was a disappointing trickle and the kitchen surface space was a tad limited for food preparation… but despite all of this the standard of decor and furnishing was quite high and when the men were not working on the building site nearby the place was a haven of peace and tranquility. The Wi-Fi service is good but mobile phone reception is poor. The cost for one week's stay was very reasonable for a cottage of it's size and standard. If it was situated on the west coast of Scotland you would pay almost twice the amount.
If you are a member of the National Trust these cottages are ideally placed for visiting a selection of the castles in the area, many with woodland walks.

Room Tip: Make sure the main room and bedroom windows and vents are closed by 8am since the smoke from the nearby biomass burner easily enters the premises and lingers.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ExiledYorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

In response to your review, we are very sorry to read your remarks, especially concerning the views from a cottage you did not stay in. It was explained to you that the build was in progress and the location of our new house was in fact dictated by the Planning Authority.
Thank you for informing us about the lack of pressure in one of the 3 showers. We will deal with this as soon as possible.Alex did his best to sort out the one external door that is faulty and this too is being resolved.
The photographs you took are rather misleading and are not a true reflection of the views enjoyed by both cottages. We are proud of our biomass boiler and cannot dictate the direction of the wind. We feel the environmental advantages of heating our cottages this way outweigh the occasional smell of wood smoke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at King Duncans view for a week in August. The accomodation was excellent. Our accommodation is to a very high standard and all the rooms were spotlessly clean and very well decorated. We especially loved the biscuits provided for us on arrival!! We would definately return again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFW-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you both for you review. My parents enjoyed meeting you and we are so pleased you had a 'great time'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews