We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better late than never..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banchory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perkhill Holiday Cottages
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better late than never..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here in March when the freak snow landed out of the blue.

It was one of the most fantastic stays we've had anywhere and we've both travelled the world!

The owners are helpful and they have everything worked out perfectly.

We were mostly snowed in but if I can say if theres one place to be snowed in its here.

Sitting snugly by the log burning fire reading books. Baking in the beautiful kitchen.

As it happened we didn't want to leave when it was time to drive back to the Lakes and due to the snow we couldn't actually leave. So we got to stay another night. How lucky. : )

We were in Macbeths Retreat and it was ideal. Its somewhere we have fantastic memories of our holiday there, and cant recommend this cottage enough to anyone who wants to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lu11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you so much. I agree that Macbeths Retreat is the ideal place to hibernate during the snowy days! Pippa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brinkworth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We've stayed in many holiday cottages, but Macbeth's Retreat is by far the best yet! It is a credit to Pippa and Alex, who were so welcoming and friendly. We're looking forward to returning later this year and next Spring. The only problem we had with the cottage was we didn't want to leave it!
Robin and Sandra, Wiltshire

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Robin and Sandra
It was lovely to meet you both plus the gorgeous Penny! Thank you for the photo of Sandra catching a salmon on the river Dee. We welcome fishermen and women at our cottages.
Look forward to seeing you again in August.
Pippa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

What can I say MacBeths Retreat is a fabulous holiday cottage. The building is really beautiful and it has all the mod cons you need and even more. We went with our 2 boys aged 3 & 5 in the 1st week of the Easter hols, my eldest didn't want to go back home at the end of our stay. The welcome we received from Pippa was very warm and the welcoming pack of eggs, milk etc was very much appreciated. The wood burner is lovely and my husband became very addicted to it lol. I would definitely recommend the cottage to my friends and we are hoping to visit again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielathekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Dyce family
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you all. I am so pleased you liked the welcome pack - we are lucky to have such good food sourced locally. Hope to see you next year.
Pippa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just home from spending a lovely relaxing Easter at King Duncans View. We picked perkhill for its proximity to family and were pleasantly surprised to find some where so spacious, luxurious and reasonably priced. The website photos do not do It justice. The Views are incredible and the house Is not only finished to a high standard but equipped with everything you could possibly need. (even a flask to take a warm drink out on one of the many nearby walks) We will be back, and hope next time it might be cold enough to light the lovely log burner, despite all the snow surrounding us and low temperatures we were so cosy our marshmallows surrvived untoasted.

Room Tip: great disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynsey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Lynsey and family, it was lovely to meet you all and watch the children whizzing around on their trikes! Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and we would love to see you all back again soon!
Best wishes Pippa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in Lady MacBeth's retreat at the start of April 2013. We were looking for a lovely modern bolt-hole where we could get away from everything and just relax. This was absolutely perfect. The cottage is beautiful inside, it was spotlessly clean and the log fire in the middle of the living room was wonderful especially with the late season snow covering the hills outside. We also got to see round the farm which our two girls really enjoyed. It is in a fairly remote (but very beautiful) location but that is what we wanted and the towns of Aboyne and Banchory are not far away if you want to go for a walk or just chill and have a coffee and cake. The cottage has all the mod cons you would expect including excellent wifi and free view TV. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday, our children (6 & 3) had a great time and we would thoroughly recommend the cottages to any other family looking for a week away from it all in Aberdeenshire.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsyhez1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Richard and family, thank you for your lovely review. We work hard to keep the cottages clean and comfortable - just how we would like them! Alex enjoyed showing the girls around the cows and calves too in spite of all the 'sticky' mud!
Hope to see you here again - maybe when the swimming pool is open?
Pippa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband, brother-in-law, myself and our two small dogs stayed in Macbeth's Retreat for a week in February. We had a wonderful time and would recommend a stay here to anyone. The cottage is lovely with all the mod cons you could possibly need and the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in! There is plenty to do in the surrounding area within easy driving distance whether it's nice walks, scenery, pretty villages or tea rooms that's preferred.
The owner's are extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely make a return visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Cheryl
Thank you for your review - especially your comment about the beds! It was lovely to meet you all plus 2 gorgeous doggies. Hope you can come back soon!
Pippa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely week with our two wee boys in King Duncan's View. Well presented, spacious and well equipped cottage with stunning views and very friendly hosts. We enjoyed beautiful walks in Glen Tanar, Crathes, Scolay Woods and Muir of Dinnet and our toddler had great fun hiding in dens and hunting the gruffalo. Lots of good tea and scone spots nearby including Finzean farm. Hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for writing the review. We are so pleased you had a lovely time and loved meeting your two boys. Hope to see you all again at Perkhill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
9.6 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
10.6 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.5 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
8.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perkhill Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perkhill Holiday Cottages

Property: Perkhill Holiday Cottages
Address: Perkhill, Lumphanan | Lumphanan, Banchory AB31 4RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perkhill Holiday Cottages are located on a working farm 2 miles outside the historic village of Lumphanan in Royal Deeside. All 3 properties were recently renovated and furnished to a high standard (Grade 4 awarded) and have all the comforts of home.Macbeths Retreat and Lady Macbeths Rest both have 2 rooms and King Duncans View has 3 with disabled access. A perfect location to explore our beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Perkhill Holiday Cottages Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing