We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banchory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perkhill Holiday Cottages
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in Lady MacBeth's retreat at the start of April 2013. We were looking for a lovely modern bolt-hole where we could get away from everything and just relax. This was absolutely perfect. The cottage is beautiful inside, it was spotlessly clean and the log fire in the middle of the living room was wonderful especially with the late season snow covering the hills outside. We also got to see round the farm which our two girls really enjoyed. It is in a fairly remote (but very beautiful) location but that is what we wanted and the towns of Aboyne and Banchory are not far away if you want to go for a walk or just chill and have a coffee and cake. The cottage has all the mod cons you would expect including excellent wifi and free view TV. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday, our children (6 & 3) had a great time and we would thoroughly recommend the cottages to any other family looking for a week away from it all in Aberdeenshire.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodsyhez1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Richard and family, thank you for your lovely review. We work hard to keep the cottages clean and comfortable - just how we would like them! Alex enjoyed showing the girls around the cows and calves too in spite of all the 'sticky' mud!
Hope to see you here again - maybe when the swimming pool is open?
Pippa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband, brother-in-law, myself and our two small dogs stayed in Macbeth's Retreat for a week in February. We had a wonderful time and would recommend a stay here to anyone. The cottage is lovely with all the mod cons you could possibly need and the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept in! There is plenty to do in the surrounding area within easy driving distance whether it's nice walks, scenery, pretty villages or tea rooms that's preferred.
The owner's are extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely make a return visit.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Cheryl
Thank you for your review - especially your comment about the beds! It was lovely to meet you all plus 2 gorgeous doggies. Hope you can come back soon!
Pippa x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Have just returned from a lovely week with our two wee boys in King Duncan's View. Well presented, spacious and well equipped cottage with stunning views and very friendly hosts. We enjoyed beautiful walks in Glen Tanar, Crathes, Scolay Woods and Muir of Dinnet and our toddler had great fun hiding in dens and hunting the gruffalo. Lots of good tea and scone spots nearby including Finzean farm. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for writing the review. We are so pleased you had a lovely time and loved meeting your two boys. Hope to see you all again at Perkhill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a wonderful family stay in King Duncan's View in February. The cottage was beautiful and well equipped for a comfortable stay; we were all absolutely thrilled! Pippa was so helpful and made us feel very welcome. We thouroghly enjoyed the beautiful views and the peace and quiet. Both adults and children look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne_rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

It was lovely to meet you all and we hope you can come back to stay again. Pippa and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here with a collegue for nearly 8 Weeks from October until December.
Philippa and Alex made us a perfect home during our long stay in their cottage.
Thank you for everything! I hope to get the opportunity to come back one day.
I wish you a wonderful Christmas time and all the best for the Jear 2013!
Christian from Germany

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovakDimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Kai and Christian. Thank you for your kind review! Since you left we have had snow on and off - maybe not as much as Germany? We have had more German visitors last week and they were interested in our biomass boiler and wind turbines. We hope to see you both next time you are in bonny Aberdeenshire. Wiedersehen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I and our two westie dogs returned today after a blissful week at this perfect cozy holiday cottage.

Fixtures and fittings are of a very high standard. The wood-burner was superb! The bed super-comfortable.

Owners Pippa and Alex are very friendly, informative & helpful.

The location is rural and perfect (the night sky is stunning!) but with Banchory, Torphins, Aboyne and Aberdeen and fabulous beaches all within an easy 50mins drive.

We would love to return if we are lucky enough to have the opportunity.

Staying here was a pleasure and a privilege :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you all back here again in the spring. What beautiful doggies you have!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really nice cottage. Very high standard of finish, comfortable and a great place to stay.

The photo's do not do it justice.

Owners are very good and helpfull without being intrusive.

All high spec appliances including a dish washer.

The cottage was very warm and cosy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa D, Owner at Perkhill Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your review! You have the honour of being our first gliding party and I so pleased you managed to get in some good flights at Dinnet. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
10.6 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
621 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
390 reviews
5.5 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cairnton Farm Cottages
Cairnton Farm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Lumphanan
43 reviews
9.7 mi away
Feughside Inn
Feughside Inn
#1 of 2 in Strachan
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perkhill Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perkhill Holiday Cottages

Address: Perkhill, Lumphanan | Lumphanan, Banchory AB31 4RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Banchory
Price Range: $53 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perkhill Holiday Cottages are located on a working farm 2 miles outside the historic village of Lumphanan in Royal Deeside. All 3 properties were recently renovated and furnished to a high standard (Grade 4 awarded) and have all the comforts of home.Macbeths Retreat and Lady Macbeths Rest both have 2 rooms and King Duncans View has 3 with disabled access. A perfect location to explore our beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Perkhill Holiday Cottages Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing