We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“anniversary party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tor-na-Coille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tor-na-Coille
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“anniversary party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just had our 30th wedding anniversary party at the hotel. Was really good . Lovely surroundings . Nice food (well done kitchen team). Events manager Craig Walker was excellent and nothing was to much trouble for him . The waiting staff were friendly and attentive and our guests all enjoyed the event. would recommend to friends planning similar events!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMV5279HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor-Na-Coille1, General Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Bev F.

Firstly, thank you for your comments and review. We are disappointed to learn of your experience. Firstly may we apologise that your visit to our establishment did not meet your expectation. We pride ourselves in the care, attention and welfare of all our guests.

Our record on TA speaks for itself. We have also been recognised nationally for customer service and training. However, on some occassions we may get it wrong. There is always room for further improvement, training and development.

We have a wide selection of hot & cold sandwiches with Soup for our light lunch provision and would of quite happily changed your selection to another, if it were not your taste. We also provide an extensive all day Bar menu which provides a wide selection of dishes.

Again, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectation on this occassion but hope you will give us the chance again on a future visit.

Thank you once more for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    90
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
83
144
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in Room 10 on the top floor and it was a lovely room- just what we were looking for.
We ate in the bar area and the food was excellent. The service was also very good; the waiting staff being very attentive.
Breakfast was very good too.
We highly recommend this lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Room 10 on the top floor was large but quaint! A lovely atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandT432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor-Na-Coille1, General Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MandT432,

Thank you so much for your review and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased to have completed all of our refurbishment now and that our deluxe accommodation can be enjoyed by all our guests.

It is great to receive such positive feedback upon our standards and service and I shall pass your comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tor-Na-Coille.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had lunch at this hotel today which consisted of soup and sandwich combo which was nothing to write home about despite the fact it cost £25 for two including drinks. However, this is not the reason I feel I must comment on this establishment. I was totally unimpressed with the waiting staff. Not once did they ask if everything was to our satisfaction whilst having our meal. I got the impression that they were not exactly enthusiastic about their job and they did not have a friendly manner. We swiftly paid the bill and left. Will not be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We got married at this hotel on the 13th of July and it couldn't have been more perfect!
Everything went as planned thanks to Craig Walker (events manager) and his staff.

We booked exclusive use of the hotel for our 50 guests and they were all made to feel special from the time they arrived to the time they left on the Sunday, nothing was too much trouble.
All the guests commented on how lovely the hotel was from the comfort and décor of their rooms the delicious wedding breakfast and the polite, helpful and friendly staff and we couldn't agree more! It was amazing!

Thanks so much for giving us the most perfect day and lots of wonderful memories.

Room Tip: The suites are massive. All the rooms we saw were beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night and had a lovely stay. We booked the suite which had a beautiful view of the gardens that was a joy to wake up to. The check in was fast howver we were given the wrong room key but it was no big problem and sorted out quickly. We had drinks in the bar and it was lovely and cosy as it was a winters night. Was dissapointed that we did not have a bath in the room however, the room was very big and was a delight to be in. The breakfast was okay however, felt the staff were not very friendly in the morning. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We celebrated our sister and rother-in-laws Ruby Wedding Anniversary Àat this Hotel .
From the moment we arrived we felt that this was to be a special evening.
The manager (Colin?) and his staff could not have done more to make this occasion memorable.
We were warmly welcomed and hey ho our evening just got better and better.
Scrumptious food , beautifully presented in an intimate 'Country House' restaurant with superb views.
We had a wonderful evening reminiscing about the Wedding back in 1973
the staff seemed to share our delight and were pleased that we were having such a good evening.
Perhaps we should make a plan to celebrate every anniversary at The Tor Na Coille !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had another great meal in the hotel restaurant, our fourth visit this year and they have never let us down. A warm sunny summer day and a car run up Deeside with a stop in Banchory for Sunday lunch on our way to Ballater. I couldn't think of anything better. The hotel served up as always another great meal, the chicken was moist and one of the nicest dishes Of this type that i have had, a tribute to the chef. The service is always good, the young staff are well trained. It is no wonder that the restaurant was busy, even on such a glorious day. I look forward to our next visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.5 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
2.2 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#4 of 4 in Banchory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
14.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor-na-Coille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Property: Tor-na-Coille
Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor-na-Coille 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing