We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing location”
Review of Tor-na-Coille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tor-na-Coille
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing location”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent 1 night at Tor-na-Coille for a short break, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were welcoming without being overbearing, and the room was a really nice mix of traditional (bedroom) and modern (bathroom) (Room 6). Despite the kitchens undergoing renovation, the evening meal was excellent, as was breakfast. We'd happily use Tor-na-Coille again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandMNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    96
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
155
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had been on the road for 3 weeks, having travelled from New Zealand. After a very disappointing stay at a hotel in Inverary, we wondered what we would experience at Tor-na-Coil. We needn't have worried. It was sheer bliss. This hotel has every comfort. We loved our spacious room and huge bathroom.... the decor fresh and stylish. The meals were delicious and we are still talking about the fabulous Porridge with Cream and Drambuie! The GM Philip was most attentive, taking time to stop and speak, making these guests feel important... a skill often lacking in other establishments we have stayed at.
We were booked for 2 nights but would liked to have extended our stay. We are already planning our next trip back to the UK in 2014 and Tor-na-Coil will be our choice of hotel in Aberdeenshire.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bluesky855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely hotel, fabulous staff and beautiful surroundings. However I have one major gripe - change your menu, it has been the same light lunch menu for at least a couple of years.

This makes me wonder what kind of chef works here - any decent chef changes their meny at least every few months.

I will not be back for lunch until it changes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joanna002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

After a stressful couple of months we decided to take time out for ourselves. We made the right choice of hotel. Great service, good value, nice dinner, friendly, smiling and helpful staff who obviously enjoyed working here. The hotel is currently being renovated, and a good job is done. We had a nice room upstairs with new decor, bathroom, fittings. Nice and warm room, cosy open fire in lounge/bar area. Very quiet room, and great breakfast. Even on a cold, snowy winters day (-4C) the ambiance was warm, relaxing and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor-Na-Coille1, General Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Eric_Aberdeen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TA. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us so much. I shall pass your comments on to the rest of the team.

We are glad you enjoyed the warmth & comfort of the house in such a 'winter wonderland' of cold, snowy weather in 'Royal Deeside'! We hope tho have the opportunity to welcome you back to Tor-na-Coille in the near future. It was a pleasure to look after you. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We married here in 2006 on 23rd December in front of a lovely log fire! We only stay about 8 miles from the hotel but decided for our anniversary we would take our son there for Dinner and a "sleepover". We got a very warm welcome on arrival and were shown to our room which had a wee room adjoining for our son which he loved! The room was very tastefully decorated and the bed was sooo comfortable. Dinner was delicious and our son was treated like a little adult which we very much appreciated. My husband had a bad cold so went off to bed with my son. I asked if I could take a tray to our room with coffee and a wee dram. The waiter appeared with a full tray including a plate with 3 mincemeat pies and chocolate wording on it "Happy Anniversary"! He took the tray up to the room for me too. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Yes, we do love it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drumoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has great potential as an excellent country house hotel also providing superb fine dining evening meals but it let itself down in a quiet period through construction work, lack of attention to our needs and some unenthusiastic staff.
On arrival during on a Saturday afternoon for our 2 night stay we were greeted warmly and shown to our room by a polite young man but he did not seem keen to engage us in conversation to identify our needs or discuss all the hotels facilities. We had to ask quite a few questions about where things were and services available or read about them in the guest brochure.
The electric towel radiator in the bathroom of our impressive looking junior suite was not working meaning a very cold bathroom. This would have been a simple fix (I believe the fuse needed checking and replacing) We were offered some alternative suites but none were as good as our original allocated so we decided to stay. Over a 2 day period no one was sent for to come and fix the problem!
Our waitress at breakfast was unenthusiastic and uncommunicative in a cold dark dining room. She seemed still half asleep and unhappy to be there at 8am in the morning!! My cooked breakfast was mostly cold and did not seem to be all cooked from fresh. Cold dried out and tough bacon was a massive turn off. Coffee seemed cold and very weak. If our waitress had asked for comments we would have given them but that didn't happen.
Evening mealtimes are great with enthusiastic, friendly and talkative staff. Perhaps there is a bigger emphasis on this service. The food and service were excellent and true fine dining .
The hotel's public areas and the suite we occupied (rm6) are excellently furnished and immaculately clean and very impressive. It seemed to us though that because it was such a quiet period (we did not see or meet any other residential guests) that this part of the hotel's service was not as big a priority as the dining service.
Building work taking place from 7.30am outside our bedroom was also an annoying and unwanted distraction from a restful monday morning 'lie in' No one warned us about the work or apologised for their presence. During breakfast there was an unwanted freezing cold draught into the dining room whilst the builders moved to and fro carrying their gear through wide open front doors. My wife got up to close the dining room doors to stop the draught but someone from the hotel reopened the doors and we had to complain.
This could be a great place but the service offered to us did not meet our expectation :(

Room Tip: Junior Suites are excellently furnished - rm6 is classically styled
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekntrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor-Na-Coille1, General Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear trekntrail,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel and recent stay with us. We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not all that it could have been.

We would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel and its team that your stay did not meet your expectation. We value guest feedback and response and look upon it as a tool to improve our standards and customer service even more.

Thank you for reporting the fault with your towel rail. As is standard procedure you were offered alternative rooms for the length of your stay which you declined. The fault was identified when you were out of your room so as least to disturb you. It was a thermostat that was required to be ordered a specialised part that had to come from town.

I am sorry to learn of your breakfast experience and can only apologise and put it down to further staff training & development. I have also relayed your comments on to Chef & the Kitchen Brigade. I can however assure you that all of our breakfasts are cooked to order.

We sincerely apologise of any disturbance from workmen. We are in the process of refurbishing our Kitchen which will enhance our guests dining experience even more. We have spoken to the contractors concerened and can confirm the work will be completed by the 11th February.

We are delighted you were comfortable in your Junior Suite and that you enjoyed your Dinner and the service provided at table during service.

We can assure you that every aspect of a guests stay is our priority especially comfort, welfare and genuine care of all guests that stay with us. This can be seen from our history and positive reviews on TA. However it is clear that we did not meet your expectation on this occassion and for that we are truly sorry.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you back to TNC once our refurbishment has been completed and for you to enjoy the stay you should of had, Please contact me personally where I will be happy to deal with any request that you may have.

Again apologies on our part and we thank you for your comments & feedback we shall strive forward to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loves2009
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What can i say about the Tor Na Coille....... The Hotel is a hidden gem in the Deeside area of Aberdeenshire. Myself and my Husband stayed in the hotel a few years ago and always said we would return..... So we did and got married there in between Christmas and New Year 2012.

The hotel is so lovely inside and the decor is brilliant, the atmosphere is relaxing and the food is brilliant. Not one of our guests had any complaints of the day and the staff are a credit to the hotel ensuring that all our needs were met.

I would and have recommend this hotel to anyone if its for a night/weekend away or even a wedding, it truely is a wonderful hotel and we will be returning in the future when we can.

I would like to add if you are considering this hotel for your wedding i would like advise you would be in complete safe hands with the Events Planner, he is such a pro at his job and ensured that everything was done down to the finest detail, also a big THANK YOU to all the staff that was working when we were at the hotel you all did an amazing job and i can't thank you enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tor-Na-Coille1, General Manager at Tor-na-Coille, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear loves2009,

Thank you so much for your postive TA review. It was a real pleasure to host your 'Special Day' and we are delighted that all of your guests enjoyed their time with us.

Thank you for your kind comments on our refurbishment. It has been important to us to create a comfortable and elegant refurbishment where the care and comfort of all of our guests is paramount while still retaining the victorian features of a bygone era.

We are delighted you enjoyed the service provided by Kristian and all the events team. It is important to us to deliver on such a special day and ensure that it is 'your day the way you want it'

We look forward to welcoming you back for the Anniversary! Thank you once more for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
14.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
14.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor-na-Coille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Property: Tor-na-Coille
Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor-na-Coille 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing