We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Tor-na-Coille

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tor-na-Coille
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have known Phillip Fleming for many years and first called at Tor Na Coille in November 2010 when he had just taken over. Our first stay was early November 2011 and the transformation in the year is remarkable!

Phillip always makes his guests feel welcome and has made considerable progress in updating the hotel bedrooms and public areas although only about half the bedrooms had been completed at the time of our stay. More significantly from our point of view, he has brought the dining room back into use and improved the menus there and in the bar/bistro. We did think the restaurant menu would be limited for an extended stay but we were informed of the daily specials available and also the option of eating from the bar/bistro menu. Both our dinners were of a very high standard and satisfying without being excessive. The wine was reasonably priced for the quality.

Breakfast was excellent and taken in the dining room with fruit juices and cereals as well as porridge (with Drambuie and cream!) and the usual Scottish breakfast options.

Service was very good throughout with attentive and friendly young staff that were willing to enter into conversation but did prefer their choice of music at breakfast! We brought this to Phillip’s attention and, in future, he will choose the music played.

We had booked a master deluxe room but were upgraded to a junior suite. It measured about 6m by 5m with a separate large bathroom. This is a refurbished room and was decorated in Phillip’s taste, which may not suite everyone but it is appropriate for a Victorian country house. Phillip has concentrated on the rooms and the public areas so some of the corridors are tired.

Phillip has noted previous comments on the limited availability of WiFi and sought to improve performance. In our room, signal strength was only moderate but we were able to check emails and surf the internet. Downloading large files might be problematical as the thick stone walls in the hotel will severely attenuate radio signals.

The hotel website currently does not reflect the quality of the hotel but work is in hand to redesign it. We would certainly recommend this hotel and will be returning ourselves, as it is very conveniently located for Deeside and Aberdeen.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    98
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
90
162
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King George Island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I spent 2 days, one night here at a conference and was very impressed. The hotel is under new management and has apparently been completely refurbished to a high standard. My room was extremely comfortable and the service was excellent - such helpful friendly staff. I have special dietary needs and they were catered for very well and unobtrusively. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to come back for a longer stay.
The little town of Banchory is also an attraction in itself.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owdwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed one night in October, and really like the location just on the outskirts of Banchory. The lounge area was nice with an open fire, though did think they tend to squeeze too many seats into the space. The room itself was very spacious, with nice views towards the golf course.
Dinner was excellent, quality and service similar to an upmarket restaurant. Breakfast however was disappointing, fairly average - but overall it was a very pleasant visit and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My daughter and my self spent 3 nights here in early Sept. The room was good, the staff were proffessional and the food was first class. The choice on the breakfast was more like an international hotel than rural Scotland!! I can recommend this hotel toanybody and If I make it back to Banchory this will be my first port of call

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We are locals and had dinner in the bar , and we truly had an excepitonally lovely meal. Great choice and fabulous local food. The service was superb, the surroundings cosy and warm and the service was excellent. The hotel is looking really nice since its refurbishment. Beautiful building now looking beautiful inside also.

Room Tip: We did not stay but I believe the new rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Visited this hotel some years ago and it was awful ! Now, what a transformation under new
ownership and a great young General manager. Comfortable rooms , excellent chef, and
well trained and caring, friendly staff. Always warm and welcoming no matter how grumpy
we were after a blank day's fishing. Breakfasts were superb and the chef has imagination
and talent. We stupidly left some items in a drawer and it the matter was dealt with almost
as we walked in the door at home. We'll be back. There's not many places left like this in
Scotland

Room Tip: front refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueboyinvernessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights here in early June and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and had everything we could have asked for with a slightly funky old feeling. Breakfast was incredible and included in the cost of the room; dinner was equally good and served in an elegant but friendly dining room. The staff was very responsive and genuinely welcoming. The location was great, close enough to Aberdeen to be easily accessible, but very much part of Royal Deeside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
174 reviews
19.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
270 reviews
14.4 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
354 reviews
13.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor-na-Coille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Property: Tor-na-Coille
Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tor-na-Coille 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing