We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebration with friends”
Review of Banchory Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banchory Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Celebration with friends”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A two night stay between Christmas & the New Year to celebrate a Golden Wedding with old friends. The staff were friendly, well trained and couldn't do enough for us.
The food was excellent on both nights plus breakfast.

If I had one complaint it would be the heating needed to be turned down! When we asked them to turn it down they did and maybe it is because it is an old system but it certainly was a warm welcome in more ways than one!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bath specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankhillmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear tankhillmax

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel for the golden wedding celebrations.
Unfortunately the hotel can sometimes take a bit of time to reflect changes we have made to the thermostat, so during unusually mild weather we were experiencing in December the hotel was quite warm.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    162
    46
    31
    12
See reviews for
143
181
8
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was excellent and the breakfast was great. The hotel was really relaxing and very scenic. The room in the annex was recently refurbished and was lovely with amazing views of the River Dee. Only complaint would be the driveway entrance isn't lit and is a bit intimidating in the dark,

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Gail M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and meal. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. We are currently looking to install lights along the drive. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achiltibuie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I was here for 2 days of training which we had at the lodge and we also stayed here. It was an absolute delight to get to my room at the end of a great, but very long! The food was outstanding! As was the service! I am looking forward to coming back with family and friends. Thank you and weldone for providing such warm and welcoming haven!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Lucy G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to the hotel.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip for one night. Found the hotel quite old world style, lovely surroundings and a Victorian feel about it. The staff were very friendly and service good.
Room was very old fashioned but in a really good nostalgic way that made me want to stay for longer.
Food was excellent and the choice reasonably priced for the quality received.
Liked it so much I will be planning to come back with family.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Gary A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Aberdeen can be a very busy city for hotel accommodation and Late Rooms for example will list places like this in Banchory, 18 miles away. There is a good bus service from Union Street taking typically 55 minutes, with a very long walk down the drive to the hotel on the banks of the Dee. Arriving late, having phoned Reception for advice, they did not mention that the drive was unlit! My mobile phone lit the way.
My room was in a recently refurbished lodge at the rear of the hotel, which involved a short walk outside. This was a large room, big enough to be a suite, with a chaise longue and large double bed and multiple wardrobe space. Straight-forward bathroom and quality toiletries and plenty of thick white towels and robes.
On a near freezing night the only annoyance was that the radiators in the room needed "bleeding" and there was a steady gurgling noise.
Breakfast was good, but lacked proper muesli on the buffet, and the poached egg and back bacon were excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly, and provided the details for that bus back to Aberdeen. Good place to stay and worth returning to, since Banchory is a nice town in a great location.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a view, given the location. Rooms in the separate lodge appeared to be larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear RogerTomlinson,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for making us aware of the gurgling radiators, this has now been addressed. We are also currently looking to install lights along the drive. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a nice wee weekend here while at a friends weeding - Gorgeous location on the banks of the Dee. Wedding was done very well with a lovely meal. Large and comfortable room. Drinks reasonably priced

Space was tight on the dance floor - probably not the hotel at fault - just too many people and a good band.

Quality of food at breakfast was first class but the one black mark was the service at these meals

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Robin W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. I am sorry that you did not find the service to be to our usual high standard on this occasion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I spent four nights here whilst working in Aberdeen, addding an addional fifth night for pleasure as I loved the place. This is not a modern, easy maintenance hotel with simple box rooms, this is a genuine old lodge with character, random ceiling heights and an ongoing renovation programme. Its location, down a choice of little single track roads, on the riverside and surrounded by trees, takes you by surprise but provides a sense of being miles from anywhere despite being within easy walking distance of all that Banchory has to offer.

My room was beautiful; huge with comfortable beds (a double + a single), sofa, tables, TV, and fabulous view to the river, it was still spacious and very clean. The bathroom had an irresitable huge bath, large shower and great lighting, no struggling to see whether the make up was ok! The toiletries were full size and high-quality; towels and bath robe thick and fluffy. The room has been very tastefully refurbished in keeping with the style of the lodge.

The food is delicious, beautifully presented and priced on a par with other good restaurants. Dining here is a pleasure, not a refeulling exercise carried out on a wipe clean table top. The young staff are willing, helpful and very hard working but they could do with a senior member of staff around.

The staff throughout the hotel were pleasant, friendly and professional. Kevin was particularly helpful, dealing with an issue in my room and ensuring that I had a lovely table in front of the log fire on the night that I forgot to book for dinner and they were full!
I'll be returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingersview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Gingersview,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and meal. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
20.2 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
15.3 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Property: Banchory Lodge
Address: Banchory Lodge Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banchory Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing