We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banchory Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Tor-na-Coille(Banchory)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnett Arms Hotel(Banchory)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton By Hilton Aberdeen Westhill(Westhill)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huntly Arms(Aboyne)
$95
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel(Westhill)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Hotel Aberdeen(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ship Inn(Stonehaven)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
402
182
57
41
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
182
57
41
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanks of the riverfirst classlovely lunchbirthday lunchroast beefsconesthis lovely hotelfrench doorsbooked a tablehigh standardmain coursefour poster bedlarge roomcooked to perfectionafternoon teasuperior roomfish and chips
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 698 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Aberdeen can be a very busy city for hotel accommodation and Late Rooms for example will list places like this in Banchory, 18 miles away. There is a good bus service from Union Street taking typically 55 minutes, with a very long walk down the drive to the hotel on the banks of the Dee. Arriving late, having phoned Reception for advice, they did not mention that the drive was unlit! My mobile phone lit the way.
My room was in a recently refurbished lodge at the rear of the hotel, which involved a short walk outside. This was a large room, big enough to be a suite, with a chaise longue and large double bed and multiple wardrobe space. Straight-forward bathroom and quality toiletries and plenty of thick white towels and robes.
On a near freezing night the only annoyance was that the radiators in the room needed "bleeding" and there was a steady gurgling noise.
Breakfast was good, but lacked proper muesli on the buffet, and the poached egg and back bacon were excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly, and provided the details for that bus back to Aberdeen. Good place to stay and worth returning to, since Banchory is a nice town in a great location.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a view, given the location. Rooms in the separate lodge appeared to be larger.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear RogerTomlinson,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for making us aware of the gurgling radiators, this has now been addressed. We are also currently looking to install lights along the drive. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a nice wee weekend here while at a friends weeding - Gorgeous location on the banks of the Dee. Wedding was done very well with a lovely meal. Large and comfortable room. Drinks reasonably priced

Space was tight on the dance floor - probably not the hotel at fault - just too many people and a good band.

Quality of food at breakfast was first class but the one black mark was the service at these meals

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Robin W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. I am sorry that you did not find the service to be to our usual high standard on this occasion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I spent four nights here whilst working in Aberdeen, addding an addional fifth night for pleasure as I loved the place. This is not a modern, easy maintenance hotel with simple box rooms, this is a genuine old lodge with character, random ceiling heights and an ongoing renovation programme. Its location, down a choice of little single track roads, on the riverside and surrounded by trees, takes you by surprise but provides a sense of being miles from anywhere despite being within easy walking distance of all that Banchory has to offer.

My room was beautiful; huge with comfortable beds (a double + a single), sofa, tables, TV, and fabulous view to the river, it was still spacious and very clean. The bathroom had an irresitable huge bath, large shower and great lighting, no struggling to see whether the make up was ok! The toiletries were full size and high-quality; towels and bath robe thick and fluffy. The room has been very tastefully refurbished in keeping with the style of the lodge.

The food is delicious, beautifully presented and priced on a par with other good restaurants. Dining here is a pleasure, not a refeulling exercise carried out on a wipe clean table top. The young staff are willing, helpful and very hard working but they could do with a senior member of staff around.

The staff throughout the hotel were pleasant, friendly and professional. Kevin was particularly helpful, dealing with an issue in my room and ensuring that I had a lovely table in front of the log fire on the night that I forgot to book for dinner and they were full!
I'll be returning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gingersview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Gingersview,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and meal. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent four nights here last July and found the rooms beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. If I had one disappointment, it was that my teenage grandson was staying with me and since my large room had only one bed (which I don't really understand—there was room for two), an inadequate, small cot was brought in for him to sleep on. It squeaked and groaned with every movement and I worried it would collapse in a heap at some point. A purchase of a newer, larger rollaway bed or regular bed would be advisable. Wi-fi was sketchy, but I expect that someday that will improve. We ate in the dining room for breakfast and a couple dinners, and found the food quite delicious, even though there was not a large menu. No place has a better setting than this lodge. NO PLACE. I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the River Dee are enchanting. I've never seen a prettier view out a window. We were on the second floor, at one end, and the room couldn't have been more perfect—unless it had a second bed and smaller key fobs. Never saw such big key fobs!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Susan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that there were problems with the WI-FI, we have had our IT supplier check all connections. Thank you for making us aware of the squeaking cot, this has now been replaced. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our party (two rooms) stayed here for 4 nights. My room was spacious and very comfortable with a view of the River Dee. The bathroom was large but the shower small. The staff was polite and efficient but not overly friendly. The breakfast was wonderful.. lots of choices and delicious. We did eat dinner at the hotel twice and found the dinner was equally delicious although the menu was not extensive. WiFi was nearly non-existent. We had to sit in the hallway on the stairs to get any reception at all. All that said, we loved the place and would stay there again. After a long day of sightseeing, it was the perfect place to rest and rejuvenate. I would definitely stay there over and over again (some of the other guests that we met said they had done just that).

Room Tip: If you can get one on the river side of the hotel, it is well worth it for the view and the sounds of running water from the River Dee.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Lynn42013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that there were problems with the WI-FI, we have had our IT supplier check all connections. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews