We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding trip”
Review of Banchory Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banchory Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a nice wee weekend here while at a friends weeding - Gorgeous location on the banks of the Dee. Wedding was done very well with a lovely meal. Large and comfortable room. Drinks reasonably priced

Space was tight on the dance floor - probably not the hotel at fault - just too many people and a good band.

Quality of food at breakfast was first class but the one black mark was the service at these meals

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Robin W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. I am sorry that you did not find the service to be to our usual high standard on this occasion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 652 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I spent four nights here whilst working in Aberdeen, addding an addional fifth night for pleasure as I loved the place. This is not a modern, easy maintenance hotel with simple box rooms, this is a genuine old lodge with character, random ceiling heights and an ongoing renovation programme. Its location, down a choice of little single track roads, on the riverside and surrounded by trees, takes you by surprise but provides a sense of being miles from anywhere despite being within easy walking distance of all that Banchory has to offer.

My room was beautiful; huge with comfortable beds (a double + a single), sofa, tables, TV, and fabulous view to the river, it was still spacious and very clean. The bathroom had an irresitable huge bath, large shower and great lighting, no struggling to see whether the make up was ok! The toiletries were full size and high-quality; towels and bath robe thick and fluffy. The room has been very tastefully refurbished in keeping with the style of the lodge.

The food is delicious, beautifully presented and priced on a par with other good restaurants. Dining here is a pleasure, not a refeulling exercise carried out on a wipe clean table top. The young staff are willing, helpful and very hard working but they could do with a senior member of staff around.

The staff throughout the hotel were pleasant, friendly and professional. Kevin was particularly helpful, dealing with an issue in my room and ensuring that I had a lovely table in front of the log fire on the night that I forgot to book for dinner and they were full!
I'll be returning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gingersview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Gingersview,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and meal. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent four nights here last July and found the rooms beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. If I had one disappointment, it was that my teenage grandson was staying with me and since my large room had only one bed (which I don't really understand—there was room for two), an inadequate, small cot was brought in for him to sleep on. It squeaked and groaned with every movement and I worried it would collapse in a heap at some point. A purchase of a newer, larger rollaway bed or regular bed would be advisable. Wi-fi was sketchy, but I expect that someday that will improve. We ate in the dining room for breakfast and a couple dinners, and found the food quite delicious, even though there was not a large menu. No place has a better setting than this lodge. NO PLACE. I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the River Dee are enchanting. I've never seen a prettier view out a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Susan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that there were problems with the WI-FI, we have had our IT supplier check all connections. Thank you for making us aware of the squeaking cot, this has now been replaced. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our party (two rooms) stayed here for 4 nights. My room was spacious and very comfortable with a view of the River Dee. The bathroom was large but the shower small. The staff was polite and efficient but not overly friendly. The breakfast was wonderful.. lots of choices and delicious. We did eat dinner at the hotel twice and found the dinner was equally delicious although the menu was not extensive. WiFi was nearly non-existent. We had to sit in the hallway on the stairs to get any reception at all. All that said, we loved the place and would stay there again. After a long day of sightseeing, it was the perfect place to rest and rejuvenate. I would definitely stay there over and over again (some of the other guests that we met said they had done just that).

Room Tip: If you can get one on the river side of the hotel, it is well worth it for the view and the sounds o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Lynn42013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that there were problems with the WI-FI, we have had our IT supplier check all connections. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This property is approximately 20 miles away from the city centre and very close to the village of Banchory. The approach to the hotel is quite picturesque, lined with many tall trees.

I believe there are about 28 rooms in total. Mine was spacious and the furniture was in tune with the general feel of the hotel, if that makes sense. The food was very tasty although the menu wasn't that extensive. Apart from a soup of the day, there is no rotation on the menu so any long term or regular stayers might get quickly bored with the choice of food. The same meals are served in both the bar and restaurant, although the bar has an extremely limited amount of seating.

The service was very good and nothing was too much trouble.

All in all, this is a very pleasant place to stay and one I would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Celtic_traveller165,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of creating a new menu. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked here for dinner, bed and breakfast as as surprise for my husband's birthday.
It was outstanding, the room and bathroom was stunning. It was the Oriental themed room, we had great views over the river and the stunning grounds of the hotel. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious and staff so friendly and helpful. I can't wait to return for my birthday.

Room Tip: I can't imagine any of the rooms being unsuitable as the setting so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear karensilver,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and meal. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully on your birthday!

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night and were upgraded to a river view room / suite (room 7). The hotel has a wonderful location beside the river. Being an old building it has its 'character' features, If you don't want these, head into Aberdeen and stay in a Premier Inn, which might even cost you £10 less. We ate in the hotel lounge and were very encouraged to see several local parties experiencing the great dining experience - surely a good sign on a Sunday evening. If anything, the service in the lounge was too formal and I'm glad we didn't attempt the full dining room service (with white tablecloths on which to spill one's red wine and coffee). Breakfast was also a hearty meal with slightly less pretentious service: even got a 'my dear' from the waitress, which was just great!
Only downsides were: slow Wi-Fi (absolutely no chance of watching BBC iPlayer) and bathroom could have been very slightly cleaner.

Room Tip: River view if possible, as long as you won't be disturbed by the inevitable sound of running wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Paul A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. The issues that you experienced within your room have been addressed by the housekeeping team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.9 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
406 reviews
15.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
15.3 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
376 reviews
17.7 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Address: Banchory Lodge Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range: $90 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banchory Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing