We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cow Shed

Cow Shed
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cowshed is a family owned and managed business. Our philosophy is straightforward: "choose local seasonal ingredients carefully and cook them as simply as possible. Whenever possible we source local ingredients, thus supporting the Aberdeenshire community and providing a showcase for quality, fresh and seasonal Scottish produce. Since opening in 2010, the Cowshed has changed its style of food and service. We now offer a larger and simpler food menu which includes a mix of customer favourites, traditional Scottish dishes and daily specials, sandwiches, paninis, coffee/tea, cakes and bakes. Something for everyone to enjoy throughout the day. As a proud member of the Scotch Beef Club, we serve Scotch Beef PGI. With traceability and unique assurance which begins on the farm of birth, Scotch Beef is high on quality and high on taste.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went for lunch to this oddly named restaurant. In fact, it is very well appointed with excellent views. The staff are welcoming and the food, which is locally sourced, is freshly prepared.

We went there for lunch one day on one of their special offers. The portions are carefully controlled although the food is excellent. The dinner menu looked expensive - but it is up to the individual to decide what is affordable.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alasdair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    81
    39
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked here for my anniversary was very quiet as it was Wednesday but the restaurant is lovely modern and sleek!
Service was perfect and we opted for the the 5 course taster menu for £37 each I think. Had duck pâté to start which was divine the scallops and then partridge all superb, yes portions are small but 5 courses are quite filling. The only small niggle that I had was that the 4th and 5th dish were desserts and then coffee and petit fours although lovely would have preferred a cheese dish as it was a little bit of sugar overload, overall the food was fantastic and the staff very friendly and attentive would highly recommend a visit and we will definitely be back soon ! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JILL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food - just not enough of it!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Expensive for the amount of food on our plates. Don't let that put you off - I would go back there because its a lovely place with great views and very good service. Cooking classes can be done there too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RealMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
152 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ate here for a Sunday lunch, managed to get a table so would be best booking as not too big a place. Staff are very attentive and the food is fabulous. All food totally fresh and sourced from local providers.Would definately recommend this place no problem

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanded55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherryBerry99, Owner at Cow Shed, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we appreciate your understanding of the fresh food locally sourced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The cowshed is a bit of a drive but it's such a pretty one it passes quickly. The building is pedestrian externally but the food is anything but. I went mid-week with a friend and had one of the best meals I've eaten. The venison was so tender I could have cut it with a butter knife and the beetroot sponge it came with was absolutely inspired. At £98 for 2 with starters, mains and a shared dessert as well as coffee and a couple of drinks each I also thought it was fantastic value for money.

If you get the chance it's so worth the drive...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnie1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cow Shed also viewed

Banchory, Aberdeenshire
Banchory, Aberdeenshire
 
Banchory, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Cow Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing