We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnett Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Burnett Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Banchory
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with hubby for one overnight. Had a lovely stay and Jacquie could not have been more accommodating. She made us feel at home and that nothing would have been too much trouble. The hotel itself needs updating but was very comfortable. Would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MANNY399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    30
    15
    13
See reviews for
27
47
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain.
Date of stay 5-8th May 2014
My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows:

1) Arrival was straightforward using the Sat Nav (TOM TOM) instructions
2) On arrival at the hotel the check in staff (Jackie) was extremely pleasant and friendly. I believe on check in as a Platinum Best Western rewards member that my room was upgraded to one of the newer refurbished ones at the front of the hotel over the main dining room (See Photo). On check in I received access to the free onsite wifi.
3) All areas including the bedrooms were always well kept, tidy and clean. The general reception area and main bar are older in styling, but it was noted during my stay the hotel’s main communal areas were constantly being cleaned from the polishing of the brass door hinges to the cleaning of the glass panels. Care and attention was paid to all areas by passionate staff.
4) My room (number 11 possibly 13, I think was just above the main dining room facing on to the high street) was clean and well maintained and of the modern Best Western style (See the photos). From other visitors reviews other bedrooms my have a different appearance.
5) There is a free car park at the rear for about 10-15 spaces and about 5 spaces at the front, free on street car parking until 8am is also available.
6) Breakfast, now here is the standout moment for me, is there anything finer than the utterly fantastic pomp and ceremony that is the freshly cooked breakfast experience that is served at this hotel, each item every single item was brought loving to my table by a single serving attendant the inimitable Sheila. With grace and poise Sheila took my order morning after morning for fresh local delicacies such as smoked kippers & mackerel topped with freshly poached eggs. Nothing was too much trouble for Sheila and her dedication and attention to detail should be rewarded, I doff my cap to you.
7) I used the evening meal service on one occasion (See Photo) the food was good and much better than my other average hotel stays. On walking past the open kitchen door, It was noted how clean and well organized the kitchen seemed.
8) Location, The hotel is located in the center of the village which was ideally located for my visit. The Hotel was about 30-40 mins drive from Aberdeen. A very idyllic walk or run from the hotel, through the park and next to the River Dee can easily be enjoyed from the front door.
9) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free (I was served by kind grey bearded Gent)
In summary the hotel scores 7/10 for a good Best Western with an excellent Breakfast that just needs some renovations in the main Lobby / Bar to match others in the brand.

Room Tip: Choose a room over the main dining room facing onto the high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresaheadinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Good points:
Handy location on the High Street and near to Banchory Lodge Hotel which is a popular place for weddings.
Bus to and from Aberdeen stops right outside (journey takes about an hour).
The bedroom we stayed in was smarter than the rest of the hotel would suggest.
Bedroom was clean and tidy and they let us check in early.
Good shower.

Not so good:
Decor in the lobby and public areas of the hotel is a bit shabby, e.g. threadbare carpets.
Rather brusk woman on reception, didn't make us feel very welcome.
Noisy on a Saturday night due to pub next door and people on the High Street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have been staying at the Burnett Arms Hotel one the same weekend in May for a number of years and every year we get amazing service from the staff! Jackie is especially helpful, always remembers us from one year to the next and does whatever she can to accommodate our group.

The food in the restaurant is also very good and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank maeshowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for two nights for a family wedding, staff were very helpful and attentive. Many thanks to Robert and staff for the excellent customer service we received. Had a fantastic weekend! Food was fantastic and excellent quality.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

After staying in Banchory for a weekend we went into the bar area one evening, there was an older women behaving inappropriately with some young lads and one of the lads strip off. Not very nice, for a lovely area. The toilets were being checked on a regular basis for drugs by bar staff, a common problem in this bar.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is up there with one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I have to travel a lot with work and am a top tier member of best western rewards scheme.

I don't tend to complain and generally have good experiences in best western hotels but from the off this hotel let me down.

The hotel claims to have 22 parking spots but because nothing is marked there is only about 12. On arrival there was no one at reception and I had to wait for 10ish minutes for someone to arrive with no apology.

The room cost for the night was £111 DBB rate, however no one in the hotel seemed to know what my dinner 'allowance' was.

I was given a room on the first floor which looked tired and in need of refurbishment(as did most of the hotel).

And the worst part of the whole stay was getting put in a room above the what sounded like a rave; that was happening in the hotel pub. I rang down to reception at around half 10 to ask when the rave would be ending and they replied saying the pub was closing at half 11 and they would try turn it down. Nothing happened and I was unable to sleep while after half 11 which was brilliant when I had an early morning meeting.

Most Staff didn't have uniforms and eating their tea whilst serving.

The evening food was pretty average and not that cheap.

Breakfast was the only good point on the stay but even that wasn't brilliant.

I would say as a whole this hotel paints a very bad picture of the Best Western brand and it is ludicrous that they charge such high prices.

Avoid unless desperate.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1986TAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
0.1 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
15.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnett Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnett Arms Hotel

Property: Burnett Arms Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Banchory AB31 5TD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Burnett Arms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burnett Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Burnett Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banchory
Banchory Best Western
Burnett Arms Hotel Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing