We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banchory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Castlewood Lodges recently for a mid week break.
There were 4 families in our party for family celebration. 2 families shared the 3 bedroom lodge whilst we shared the 4 bedroom lodge.
The lodges surpassed all our expectations, they are modern, spacious and clean.
The main area has seating, television, iPod docking speakers, dining table/chairs, open plan kitchen.

The kitchen has everything you need to cook with plenty of crockery, pots, pans, bottle opening, tin opener etc.
The welcome pack includes bottle of wine, bread, milk, butter, jam, some bin bags and dishwasher tablets. However as it is self catering I would recommend taking along extra dishwasher tablets, bin bags, tin foil, washing powder.
It was great to have the option of a full kitchen with oven, grill and microwave.

Banchory is a 6 mile drive away so it is easy to go into the town centre if you have a car. It is worth bearing in mind that Strachan which is 1 1/2 miles away has no shops, so best to come with your supplies unless you are happy to do a Tesco run to Banchory.

The hot tub was a real bonus for us. We had a problem one morning with it not heating up and it was quickly fixed.
We even went in at night so even if it is a bit cooler the water still stays nice and warm. A nice touch is that plastic cups are provided in case you would like to have an evening drink while enjoying the hot tub.

There are no walks nearby. But a couple of mile drive takes you to some nice forest trails that even the 70+ grandparents managed no problem.

On site there is a restaurant and soft play area for young children. We did not try this out but it was definitely popular with other guests and locals.

The only critisism I can offer is that there was only one double room. We went as 2 families so 2 of the adults were stuck in single beds. It wasnt really a problem for us but would have been nice to have the option of another double bed. Perhaps an option to have them clipped together.

We really enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend Castlewood Lodges for a family stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyrano02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a group of 4 (2 couples) at lodge number 2.

We booked a four night break over the phone at a deal we saw online but it had gone by the time I went to book.

A Scolty lodge for £299 for 4 nights.

On arrival we were given a bigger lodge.

The lodges are perfectly clean and have everything that you would have in your normal house within the lodges including a large fridge and freezer.

Wifi is excellent and the welcome pack includes, wine, bread, milk etc. very good.

The TV has an HDMI connection if you are bringing an Xbox or PS3 with as we did.

The hot tub is okay(only ok as I own one at home and it could do with a clean) but perfectly safe to use.

No walks nearby, have to drive to them. But not a problem.

Previous reviews mention electric meters. Not required. It's all paid for.

All in all, I would go back.

Please remember, lodges can be used by groups who like to drink, sing and use the hot tub. If you want a quiet time with kids go somewhere else.

This goes for all lodges not just this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy9761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at one of the Castlewood Lodges recently for a weekend break. The lodges surpassed all our expectations, the are modern, spacious and clean...a real home from home. Would recommend without hesitation.

They are only a short drive from Banchory so it is easy to go into the town centre if you have a car. No one in our group drove so we were stuck at the lodge but we didnt mind at all, it has everything you need and we happily spent a few nights away from everything. The kitchen has everything you need to cook but remember it is self catering so I would advise taking along dishwasher tablets, extra bin bags, tin foil etc.

The hot tub was a real highlight for us, we were lucky enough to go during an unexpected heat wave so enjoyed a lot of time in the hot tub with cocktails. We even went in at night so even if it is a bit cooler the water still stays nice and warm.

The only critisism I can offer is that there was only one double room. We went as 2 couples so 2 of us were stuck in single beds. It wasnt really a problem for us but would have been nice to have the option of another double bed. Zip-lock beds which you often get in hotels which can be made either single or double would have been a good idea.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and we will return for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed for a week at a Castlewood Lodge and it was over all too soon. The lodge was far superior than we expected and the attention to detail by the owners was first class, there was a more than adequate Welcome Pack for us on arrival and the facilities inside the lodge were second to none . It really was like a home from home .
The lodge was warm , spacious and really well appointed , from the leather suite in the living area to the modern equipment in the kitchen , the bedrooms were also extremely comfortable , with the main bedroom being en-suite. The hot tub was just the icing on the cake , a really relaxing end to the day. Even if it is bitterly cold outside don`t hesitate, fantastic.
On site there is a restaurant and The Softbear Centre which would keep young kids busy for hours when the weather wasn`t too good.
The Holiday Park is just a few miles from Banchory , which is really convenient for any shopping you may need and it has many good local shops as well as the main supermarkets. The whole countryside surrounding Castlewood is stunning and Ballater and Balmoral are within easy driving distance , locally there are many good country walks and no shortage of Farm Shops as well as numerous visitor attractions to be found such as Distilleries , Fisheries and Nature Reserves.
All in all we will definitely return very soon. A terrific week at Castlewood.

Room Tip: Owner more than willing to upgrade to larger lodge depending on how busy the Park is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yossarian1256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Stayed for long weekend in one of the 3 bedroom lodges. The lodge was really good. Warm, comfortable, well equiped. Hot tub was marvellous, used every night, a great way to relax outdoors. We had a wheelchair user in the party and the staff provided all the assistance required, including a portable ramp so the lodge could be accessed easily. The cost of electricity was better than we expected and was more reasonable than at other similar properties we have stayed in. Owner and family on site to help, and staff very friendly and helpful. Good play area for younger kids. Will definitely use the site again.

Room Tip: Tell them what special needs you have before going
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cofidem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed for three nights for an excellent £225. There were four of us but we were given a lodge that sleeps eight. The hot tub was lovely and electricity was much cheaper than expected considering how much we were in it. The lodge was very nicely decorated and clean. They are in Strachan about three miles from Banchory.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hillarytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The lodges were absolutely lovely. Very modern and extremely clean. Nice welcome pack left for us - much appreciated. The hot tub was great even in the cold weather. Have no complaints re the accomodation it was stunning. We took 2 small dogs who were made more than welcome - would have been ideal to have a gate out on the decking to stop them running away! Staff were really friendly and helpful. Soft Play area provides lovely filled rolls and tea/coffee etc.
Would recommend and would definately go back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banchory hotels
3.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
641 reviews
1 mi away
Feughside Inn
Feughside Inn
#1 of 2 in Strachan
114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Raemoir House
Raemoir House
#1 of 1 in Raemoir
303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burnett Arms Hotel
Burnett Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banchory
198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inchmarlo Golf Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park

Address: Castlewood | Strachan, Banchory AB31 6NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Banchory
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Castlewood Leisure Club And Holiday Park
Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park Hotel Banchory
Castlewood Leisure Club & Holiday Park Banchory, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing